Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Star (Harry Hole Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    This is a great cop/mystery series but I suggest that you read the first book in the series to know the characters.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling mystery at it's best!

    Jo Nesbo is a author that grows better with each novel. I purchased this novel online, because it has not been released in the U.S. and publishers have missed the boat with this author. I don't normally pay $25.00 for a paperback, but this one is worth every penny.
    The Devil's Star starts off fast and moves into an intricate plot that's seldom seen in the mystery genre. A novel worth ordering from the U.K., if you have to, and will leave you feeling exhausted from the ride.
    Publishers have to be crazy to have stopped printing Nesbo's novels after only two, when the ones that follow are some of the best ever written in any country. Jo Nesbo is simply the best in the business.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The third Hole Norwegian police procedural is a great whodunit

    Oslo police detective Harry Hole drowns his greatest professional and personal failures with alcohol. He tried to persuade his superiors that Detective Tom Waaler killed Harry's police partner Ellen Gjelten (see The Redbreast), but no one believed him; Harry also believes the dirty cop sells weapons on the streets. On the personal front, he has been inept in connecting with his girlfriend and her son.

    Ironically, Chief Inspector Bjarne Moller teams up Hole and Waaler on the murder investigation of Camilla Loen whose finger was removed and a devil's star shaped diamond jammed under her eyelid. Harry is assigned a missing person's case that soon ties back to the Loen murder. Those corpses are followed by similar bodies as Hole realizes a serial killer is on theloose.

    The third Hole Norwegian police procedural is a great whodunit as the hero struggles to sober up in order to work the case ALONG side his Nemesis. The story line is fast-paced from the onset and never slows down as Harry struggles in all aspects of his life except investigating a homicide. Sub-genre fans will relish his latest caseload on and off the job.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Love these moody Scandanavian detective stories

    I'm a fairly cheerful person myself, so I'm not sure why I like these quirky and unhappy characters, but to me Harry Hole is somebody I just want to root for. His personal demons are worthy adversaries and Harry keeps up the good fight. The plot of this book is sufficiently intricate to keep me guessing, the villains are truly villainous and matters are tied up but not so neatly as to be incredible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Brilliant

    Once you start on Jo Nesbo you better have time to finish, you won't want to do anything else! ADDICTIVE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Twist

    I'm always on the look out for a new Scandanavian writer and I was happy to have found Jo Nesbo. Great character in Harry Hole and wonderful story telling. I'm looking forward to reading Mr.Nesbo's other books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    Another Nesbo winner.

    Pretty creepy and very interesting. You won't be putting this one aside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Hi

    Cggxhkhcttdtxgjvuvydt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Better than Stieg Larsson

    A book I couldn't put down. reommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    good good book

    I just can't get enough of Jo Nesbo.i think i have read all of his books.I still have Head Hunters and Phantom to read but I am reading them inbetween other books to make them last longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Brilliant

    What a complex sttory!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    The Devil's Star Jo Nesbo

    When will this be available on the Nook?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another breathtaking mystery from Nesbo!

    When a young woman is found murdered in Oslo with a tiny red star shaped diamond under her eyelid and a finger missing, Harry Hole is assigned to the case. When the finger of a woman reported missing is found with a ring embellished with the same type of red diamond, the team realizes they're dealing with a serial killer.

    Unfortunately, Harry is partnered with Tom Waaler, someone Harry doesn't like or trust. Harry has long believed that Tom murdered his friend and former partner, which makes working together nearly impossible. But Harry has no choice because he is barely holding on to his job. His drinking is still a problem and his one champion at work insists that they have to handle the case together because of scheduled vacations which leave the police force short-handed.

    Working with Waaler and the investigation into the murders brings Harry to the brink, putting himself and everyone he loves at risk in this breathtaking mystery by Nesbo.

    As I plow through all of the available books by Jo Nesbo, my only regret is that I didn't read them in order; in fact it seems that I've read them in totally reverse order. As the characters change along the way, it would have been nice to be able to follow Harry Hole's relationships with his friends and co-workers. Each of Nesbo's books is terrific by itself, but I'd recommend that you do it the right way to better understand all of the references to past events and characters. Lynn Kimmerle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Edge of Your Seat Thriller You Need The Lights On To Read!

    Detective Harry Hole used to have it all. Great job, reputation and respect of his colleagues and his girlfriend Rakel, and then in a short span of time, he begins to unravel like a ball of yarn, held at one end while being tossed in the air.

    The loss of things in his life has taken it's toll and his only solace is the bottle of a Jim Beam bottle. Anything to try to keep the nightmares at bay.

    When a mysterious murder happens in a flat in Oslo, Harry is called in to work after a long holiday as a last resort. Unfortunately for him, his partner in this case is Tom Waaler, who Harry personally holds responsible for the death of his last partner Ellen. However when every witness and lead in that case turns up empty handed, Harry wonders if his nightmares are becoming reality.

    Tom Waaler is Oslo's next up and coming chief of police. Well admired and loved by those that work with him, he is good at what he does, solving crimes. However when a red star diamond begins to show up in all the murders in Oslo and fingers are being systematically removed, will Tom be able to work with Harry long enough to solve the case and put this latest serial killer behind bars or does he have other motives?

    I received the novel The Devil's Star by Jo Nesbo, compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review. Being a huge fan of authors like James Patterson, this one will completely satisfy any mystery crime fan in huge ways. Not only does Jo have you hanging on the edge of your seat with every page turn but this one you will want to read with the light on to keep the nightmares at bay. A perfect 5 out of 5 star rating! Available in hardcover and paperback formats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2