Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Teardrop: A Novel of the Last Night of the Century

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    Last Night of the Century

    From the first word to the last, Jeffery Deaver ignites the reader not to put the book down. Set in New York on New Year¿s Eve on December 31, 1999. The Devil¿s Teardrop is not just a novel. This story helps the reader understand and realize that a lot more goes on than just the big picture we see. The Devil¿s Teardrop has many conflicts .One including Man vs. Man. This conflict is between the special agent and ¿The Digger¿ who is the antagonist in this story. ¿The Digger¿ is a crazed man who threatens the entire city of New York that he will bomb a specific location every four hours until midnight unless he gets paid everything he wants. New York City never knew about the terrorist threats. So everyone kept partying. They are all partying because the theme of this story happens to be on New Year¿s Eve. This story is told from the mind of a special agent that got put on this case because he is the best at what he does. Mr. Jeffery Deaver is the best at creating twisters in his stories. For example at the end of the book when the terrorist was on his way to pick up the ransom he was holding the city¿s safety to and was in a car crash and instantly killed. This to me was not expected under any circumstances. He made the characters so realistic that at one time during this book, I found myself jumping to every sound I heard around me thinking it was a bomb going off. I would have to say that this book had one of the best endings I had ever read. The suspense level was off the charts in every chapter. I recommend everyone to read this book, and to go through this roller coaster book so you can realize and understand that there is always something other then the ¿big picture¿ that some people get caught up in. It wont be a disappointment. This page-turner reeled me in from the first paragraph.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    SUPERB READ!!!!!!!!

    This is one you could never put down. This book does not stop till the last word.This is, by far, the BEST book that I have ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    BEST THRILLER OF THE YEAR!

    After reading The Bone Collector I knew I had to read The Devil's Teardrop. From the robot-like killer to the devious plan put in motion by 'the man who tells him things', this book will tie you up with its intricate plot, characters that you really care about, and a narative drive that doesn't let up till the final page. Set aside some time for this one. It's well worth the roller coaster ride. This will go on your shelf as one of your favorites, but keep it handy--You may want to read it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Great read

    This thriller was a little different than his others and I found it refreshing. Still lots of twists and unexpected turns, keeps you on your toes and I especially liked the title,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Excellent mystery

    excellent mystery, many twists and turns, fascinating tech details about document examination field; only minor down-side: author has an annoying writing habit of using WAY too many contractions, beyond normal writing and speech patterns, esp. double contractions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good story.

    The Devil's Teardrop was a good story. It had decent character development, but was slow in parts. Overall, I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    The Digger is buried by Jeffery Deaver

    Jeffery Deaver is a master at suspense and complicated plots. One must read the book very carefully to pick out all the clues. It should be read in one setting, if possible to keep the flow of the action in his writings. Suspensful to the end and it will leave you, at the end, wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    You tricked me again, Mr. Deaver!

    Although, not my favorite so far, still a very good read. Alittle far-fetched with the time frame but hey, I've never worked for DCPD or the FBI so I don't know how accurate the pace of action is. This time I actually tried to figure out what twist Deaver had in store for me this time. I came real close but he still had another trick up his sleeve, I couldn't predict. This is why it's so important to read a Deaver book from cover to cover, because he'll always sneak up on you at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2002

    Wonderful Twist In the Plot

    THE DEVIL¿S TEARDROP AUTHOR: JEFFERY DEAVER PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster REVIEWED BY: Barbara Rhoades BOOK REVIEW: Once again, Jeffery Deaver writes a great book with an unexpected twist for an ending. It is the Christmas Season and Parker Kincaid only wants to celebrate in peace with his son and daughter. But his ex-wife plans to contest custody of their children and the City of Washington, D.C. is going to need his forensic expertise. As the country¿s top forensic document examiner, Parker will be pulled from retirement against his will to assist in capturing the Digger before he kills again. Unfortunately, the Digger¿s accomplice is killed in an accident before he can pick up the ransom money he demanded to stop the Digger¿s killing. Working with Special Agent Margaret Lukas, with a secret of her own, Parker studies the documents available and begins the task of finding the killer. Deaver writes with great detail regarding the forensic tasks and has the intriguing twists in the plot for which he is known. It is a book that is hard to put down until you know the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2001

    GREAT suspense book !

    This book left me on the edge of my seat for the entire duration of time while reading it! It kept me in a state of mind trying to solve the 'puzzles' as the book went along. Kept getting better and better with every turn of the page! Its a MUST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    Thrilling, Nail biting thriller

    You need a glass of water just to read this book, as the dialog makes your throat dry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    Clever Storyline

    The first Deaver book I've read, and I'll be sure to read more. A little ridiculous at some points and took too much literary license at times, but a very captivating and twisting plot. He also stuck in some good human elements, which help accept the book as being potentially realistic. You're not wasting any time with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    What A Book

    I enjoyed this book so much. I just started to read again and this was my second book. I could not put the book down. Deaver kept me in suspense from beginning to end. And at the same time he educated me on the world of the FBI. Great work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2000

    A great read

    Deaver kept you biting your nails throughout the entire book. Fast paced, suspenseful, and well written. Strong, interesting characters and a super plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    Fascinating right from the start !

    This novel has no slow chapters to be found . Right from the start , the author creates a fascinating and compelling story. Makes the reader want to stay up all night to read on ----- if that were possible. Realistic characters and thrilling plot twists too. Something for everyone . :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    gripping pageturner

    fascinting, gripping. the story grabs you and won't let you put the book down. suspensful and with the touch of heart-warming. great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    One of the top ten of the year

    This is one of the best books of the year. I always learn fascinating information when I read Deaver's books and he keeps me on the edge of my seat. It's definitly the best E-book edition I have downloaded this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    Great Exciting Book!

    A great page turner...makes you want to stay home and watch TV on New Year's Eve with the doors locked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2