Customer Reviews for

Devil's Teeth: A True Story of Obsession and Survival Among America's Great White Sharks

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    The ocean and sharks have creeped me out ever since I saw the movie 'Jaws'. I like to read about them and enjoy shark week on TV but I can't imagine doing what Susan Casey did at the Farallon Islands. I would have high-tailed it out of there before I landed on shore! This book was amazing. I thought it would be more like a boring, scientific account of watching sharks but she made this book read like a novel. After reading this book I felt like I knew these biologists and could understand why they spent months on this isolated island every year waiting for shark attacks. The writing was great and I devoured this book in a few hours.I loved the history of the island as well. I would not pass up this book. It was awesome!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    From the minute I saw this book on the shelf, I couldn't let it down. I great book for shark lovers and everyone else! Its very informative and will open your eyes about the world of great white sharks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Devils teeth and 10pts for my project ms pitts

    The Devils Teeth is a documentary book about Susan Casey's accounts with Peter Pyle and Scott Anderson on their study of Great Whites at the Farallon Islands located 24 miles from San Francisco. When Susan was watching BBC and finds a segment on Great Whites in their natural environment at the Islands, she quickly packs her things and goes to the island. When Susan arrives she is welcomed by the stench of guano and screeching of the tens-of-thousands of gulls flying around and unpredictable weather. While on the water filming the sharks on a 10ft jetty Peter and Scott are dwarfed by the gigantic sharks and in awe by their natural strength and agility. Back on the island Susan is told of the Islands dark history and the constant fight for survival among the inhabitants. Although waters are scattered with sharks, there is a urchin diver named Ron that Susan meets and listens to all of his near death experiences all for some urchins. Peter and Scott have been studying these sharks for decades and even named some of them, a "happy-go-lucky" Half Fin who measures up to over 15ft long. When it came for Susan to leave, she left more curious then before she arrived. When Susan gets back at the office she has the urge to come back and learn more about the islands and of these mysterious creatures that call it home. On her second time back to the island she has a lot more appreciation for it and takes in all of the natural world around her and she has a lot more encounters with the sharks and the ghost that haunt the research base (a 200 year old scary house) . Peter and Scotts research is important even if you think it isn't. These creatures were constantly being hunted down and killed but now they have shown the world that there is more to these creatures then just attacking people and boats. Their research has brought a lot of much needed awareness of the sharks and how dangerous they really are. I really enjoyed this book and if you like adventure and nature then you should get this book and read it until you're satisfied with it. And it's also a little ironic that these researchers who know that these sharks are out there and what they are capable of and yet they still like to surf the waters that the sharks patrol. Peter also states that "he wants to ride the perfect wave" at the islands which everyone knows that it is an extremely dangerous idea. This is just a little preview of the book and to fully understand and appreciate it you need to get the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    What a great book!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. I did not know much about the Farallon Islands, so this book was extremely informational. Although it is nonfiction, I read it quickly because it was so fascinating. This is a definite must read if you live in the bay area!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Frustrated...

    I really enjoyed this book up until the end. I was so furiuos with the writer's selfishness, I wanted to write her a letter. It ended up costing people their jobs, and unfortunately, not her! The guy who lost his job because of her should get the royalties from this book, not the writer.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    It's better than 'Shark Week!'

    I was glad the moment I bought this book. Susan Casey is an excellent writer and really gives me more and more passion for my chosen field. The greatest part was the history behind the farralon islands. I can't imagine how much research she must've had to do to get this much information on such an obscure local.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    I couldn¿t agree more with John Steinbeck¿s words - ¿An Ocean wi

    I couldn’t agree more with John Steinbeck’s words - “An Ocean without its unnamed monsters would be like a completely dreamless
    sleep.”Not many of us have had the opportunity to smell a shark attack - and yes it does have it own odor just like the smell of death
    has its own odor.To be honestly frank with you - non-fiction books are my favorite to read. I really liked the realistic and descriptive way the author pulls us into her world - what she saw - what she experienced.
    Susan Casey gives us a worldliness into a real aquatic world that humans are still trying to learn about: T
    he alphas of the waters of the world. It is a world that cannot be tamed - but can be destroyed by humans.I don’t know it for a fact - I believe it is just human nature for us to be restless and curious - and I think those are good traits.
    Columbus was restless and curious too. I love the photos in this book ... it takes you on an adventure without getting out of your easy chair or leaving your private space.“The Devil’s Teeth” can open up a new world for readers. There are new universes and ancient buried worlds swirling around.
    I hope you become a de facto intern and take a boat ride into this engaging adventure that is well worth your time.Jeannie Walker (Award-Winning Author) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    This was a beautifully written story, from start to finish. You

    This was a beautifully written story, from start to finish. You meet people, and get to know them, that would otherwise be 'off the grid.' And the there are the sharks. A wonderful read for a person with an obsession, slight or otherwise, for these animals. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    This book is about the history and sharks of the Farallon Island

    This book is about the history and sharks of the Farallon Islands which are located off of San Francisco, and is written in a gonzo journalist style about Susan Casey’s time spent on the islands. She vividly describes the sharks in a way that shows their beauty and power. She also goes into great depths about the history of the islands and the research that was going on there. Casey mainly writes about the two biologists who lived and worked at the Farallons and studied the great whites. What I got from this book was a deep admiration for people who were willing to deal with these harsh living conditions to learn more about the animals they love. I enjoyed this book because it made me feel like I was on the island with them, and that I was getting up close and personal with the sharks. Susan Casey brings us along in this rare glimpse of the Farallons, an island that people seldom get to visit. After reading this book you will have a new insight into great white’s lives; it is a great story for anyone that loves science and sharks. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Don't bother reading this book, it was an absolute waste of time

    Don't bother reading this book, it was an absolute waste of time. Casey's writing style is similar to that of a 4th grader and her scattered way of describing incidents left me frustrated and wishing a better author had the experience she did on the Farallones. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great read about the white sharks of the Farallon Islands and th

    Great read about the white sharks of the Farallon Islands and the behaviorists who study them. Casey is an excellent writer and specifically took this project to challenge herself as she was new to science writing and life on the water. Those familiar with white sharks, marine biology/animals behavior, sailing and nautical science will sometimes feel impatient with her decisions or ignorance, but that is because the maritime world is new to her. It is still an enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    worth the read

    Interesting the first 90%, and of book became weak too much empathy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Interesting but not something I'd buy at full price

    This book was adequate but not compelling or particularly well written. I learned some new scientific facts about great white sharks and I appreciated that. However, I'd describe this book as more of a diary of the daily drudgery of scientific research. The account lacked the highs, lows, strengths, and weaknesses of interpersonal relationships. The conclusion lacked the sense that all of the sacrifices were worth the gain of a treasure trove of scientific knowledge. I was left feeling as though the writer wrote this book to assuage her conscience. I wanted more and this book failed to deliver for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Interesting

    I thoroughly enjoyed Susan Casey's 2011 book The Wave. Devil's Teeth, an earlier book, is not as interesting but I learned much about coastal California and the Farillon Islands. I hesitated a long time before buying this book because I'm not very interested in the Great White shark. Ultimately, I purchased the book because I enjoy Susan Casey's writing style. This author writes very well and doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    love hate relationship

    Hi, this book made me stop reading and shouting every now and then. The content is really interesting, maybe a bit more scientific input on the Great Whites would have been great, as it now has more autobiographic notions: about a woman who gets so interested in sharks that she doesn't hesitate to nearly ruin other people's properties, lives and a complete research project. Again: the book is a great read, but until now i am not so sure what to make of the authors motivation and her ability to take responsibility for her actions. Maybe I am a bit overly sensitive here, but since i also read The Wave (also a good read) where she uses the same way of squeezing herself into other people's lifes ... uhm, oh well.
    At least, this is my take on it! Maybe I am wrong, in which case I will humbly apologize.
    4 Stars for the great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    unbelievable! but not in a good way

    I read this book and though it was very interesting but as some others have said the author is selfish. Great writer but ethics are not great. The funds from this book should go to the research station that she destroyed while writing this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Great book especially for the shark fanatic!

    This book was wonderfully written and full of amazing facts. The ending is a little anti-climactic, but sometimes life really is that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    Extremely Informative!

    This book is one of the best I have ever read. Casey's portrayl of this amazing creatures is spot on, unlike so many stories written about the Great White Shark. In her book she shows how important these sharks are to the delicate balance of the marine environmnet. Her writing is so descriptive you can feel the spray of the waves pounding the rocks and hear the cries of the literally thousands of birds that call the Farallon Islands home. This is an extremely enjoyable book for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    Not Just for Shark Lovers

    This book was amazing to me because I love to read about sharks. But Susan Casey had a very easy-to-read, almost comical way about her writing. She reads like someone would be speaking, and that can be very helpful when you're reading about science. Great book, very enjoyable... but don't read it if you're afraid of sharks in the slightest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2