Customer Reviews for

Devotion

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Brava, Marianne!

    Wow. What a moving, emotional story, on so many levels. I was glad the author didn't write the same old "trouble at home, wife doesn't understand me" saga. Though I wanted to dislike the back-stabbing adulterer, Kellen Rossiter, Marianne made it impossible by allowing us to see his self-awareness of the temptations he was facing, and his struggle to overcome. The fact that he was deeply in love with his wife made his battle feel that much harder, and I had to like the guy, even though he made a really bad choice.
    I was moved by Juliet's pain and her own struggle to trust again, but especially by Kellen's sincerity and determination to put his marriage back together, despite not knowing how to do it. As is always the case with this author, it's well-written, poignant and populated with complex characters that could be members of your own community or your own family. Brava, Marianne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    The story was a little slow moving at first but once I started g

    The story was a little slow moving at first but once I started getting into the characters, it was very good. I loved the way Marianne Evans used people in the main characters lives to speak God's truth to them and not try to tear them apart. It spoke of using anger as a defense and how it continued to keep the couple from real forgiveness. Marianne tells a good clean story while capturing the realities of marriage. Overall, I would recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    Told with lyrical prose, Devotion goes beyond the stereotypes of

    Told with lyrical prose, Devotion goes beyond the stereotypes of infidelity to address how couples can stray even while being deeply in love. Ms. Evans avoids the typical victim, bad guy approach. We are all prone to failure and Ms. Evans paints a sympathetic picture of the main characters involved. It is the presence of God that enables each of us to resist temptation. When we stray from his presence, it becomes much easier to fall prey to our human frailties and ultimately disappoint ourselves and the ones we love. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. This novel was beyond entertaining. It made me think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Devotion by Marianne Evans This is the first book of Marianne E

    Devotion by Marianne Evans
    This is the first book of Marianne Evans I have read but it will not be the last. Devotion is a Christian fiction, so well written that my emotions were on a rollercoaster. I cried and grieved, then rejoiced with the characters. Kellen and Juliet have the perfect marriage. They share the same faith and are deeply in love. Then temptations steps in and rears his ugly head. Will Kellen be tempted by his beautiful talented client Chloe or will Juliet give in to temptation with Tim her prayer partner and fellow volunteer. How will their marriage survive when trust is broken, when hearts are shatter? Will their faith and love bring them back together? Read this book to get a glimpse at what happens to a marriage given 2nd chances and forgiveness. I promise you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    "Devotion" was such a powerful book! It truly tells th

    "Devotion" was such a powerful book! It truly tells the real life story of a couple going through infidelity: the pain, the hurt, and the healing.

    I was blown away at how accurately and descriptively Marianne wrote this novel. I have not been through infidelity, but I did read the real life story of Mona and Gary Shriver in their novel "Unfaithful: Hope and Healing After Infidelity" (I strongly recommend that book).

    This book spoke volumes to me in how easy it is to find yourself potentially walk down the path of infidelity even though we tell ourselves "I would never do that" or "That would never happen to me because I'm bigger than that." However as we can see with Kellen, when we don't guard our heats and let our marriage fall into a routine of complacency then we can very easily walk down that same path he did.

    One of the things that really stood out to me throughout the novel as the Rossiters are going through their journey is not to take your spouse for granted and the things they do for you. I realized that my husband does so many things for me and makes little comments that I don't truly show appreciation for. I couldn't imagine having those things taken away from me and I want to show gratitude now because no way do I want our marriage to go through what the Rossiters did! I also realized how important accountability is between spouses. Juliet realized changes in her husband that were unlike him, but didn't say anything or keep him accountable. I do not want to be like that.

    Overall, Devotion was such a hard book to read only because the journey was so painful, but once you complete the novel you can see the joy of healing (well really after halfway through the book)! I would recommend for every couple just simply to remind us that we need to guard our hearts and not let complacency define our marriage! God created marriage for so such more!

    I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I really enjoyed the book and the message it shared.

    I really enjoyed the book and the message it shared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Devotion by Marianne Evans is a Christian Romance. This book re

    Devotion by Marianne Evans is a Christian Romance. This book reveals the deep thoughts of the characters and their devotion to each other and to God. It is very well written. I read well into the wee hours on this one although I usually prefer something with more twists and turns in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    This is the first book I have read by Marianne Evans and it was

    This is the first book I have read by Marianne Evans and it was AWESOME! I love that she took us on the journey to healing and restoration the way God of would have us to do it. I could feel all the emotions of both of the main characters and that it made me feel so connected to them; therefore I was rooting for them to make. Infidelity is a devastating sin, but I believe couples can heal from it and have a stronger, better and happier God centered marriage.


    I received a courtesy copy of this book from TBCN for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    The married couple portrayed in this story have been too busy to

    The married couple portrayed in this story have been too busy to sustain the intensity of love and passion they once felt. An affair, in the making, threatens to completely demolish hopes for a continuing good marriage.

    The author's authentic internal dialogue between the main characters' thinking selfishly on the one side of the brain while on the other side remembering the wisdom of God's instruction from the Bible is an awesome revealing of what a difference it makes to be a Christian. As dilemmas present true-to-life drama, God's word comes into their minds to remind them of the right thing to do. They do not always respond favorably to His prompts. Of course, those wrong choices add more conflict and a bit of mystery as to where will this mistake take the character. The struggle to follow the human emotions of the moment---anger, unforgiveness, lust, self-condemnation, self-pity, etc. rather than paying attention to the truth of God's word is brilliantly on display.

    Kellen and Juliet are characters you want to spend time with. Not only do you enjoy time with them, but you also feel yourself spending time with God in the reading of Devotion. The book shows how God's word circles around a believer who is in trouble and needs God's immediate intervention to rescue and deliver. The power of His living word is highlighted in an engaging way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    This is the first book I have read by Marianne Evans. I really

    This is the first book I have read by Marianne Evans. I really like the book well written. Devotion to me is giving my all to someone I love. Once trust is broken in a marriage it is very hard to rebuild it. The main characters in the story found this out by looking upon someone and one out of line kissed cost there marriage. Both the wife Juliet and Husband are Christians. Which no one is safe from this, but if your eyes are where they are suppose to be this should not happen. We need to keep our focus on God and our vessels pure. The story was sad to me though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Marianne Evan¿s book, Devotion, is about a couple married almost

    Marianne Evan’s book, Devotion, is about a couple married almost nine years, very much in love, trying to get pregnant, and spending far too much time apart. This book shows how we need to stay focused on our marriage, no matter how much in love we are. Devotion is a book that draws you in from the start. Anyone reading this book will be pulled into Kellen and Juliet Rossiter’s lives…to see how if a couple doesn’t stay on track with their marriage, outside forces can blindside them, and things may happen that they really have no intention of doing. Things can happen so quickly that could harm a marriage permanently. The less time you spend with God, the easier it is to ignore the little voice inside that keeps giving you warning to flee temptation. Devotion shows, though, that no matter what may happen, God can overcome situations that the devil would love to have ruin a marriage. Trust can be won back. Romance can be brought back. It will take time, but it can happen.Kellen is an agent in the music business. He has both Christian and non-Christian artists he has helped become famous. Working in this business keeps him busy. He gets more and more busy, to the point that he stops going to church, stops reading his Bible, and quite simply just doesn’t give God any time.Juliet is very involved at church and in ministry. “ ‘The Rushton Free Clinic was Juliet’s brainchild, and not only did she pour a substantial amount of funding into the project, but she also backed up monetary assistance with effort—solid sweat and muscle...God has worked through you and your team to turn Rushton from a dream into a reality.’ ” Doing this work, although rewarding, and very giving, takes a lot of time—away from her husband and their life together.Devotion shows how much we need to seek God in every aspect of our lives, to not give in to little things, because they can add up to big things. We marry for better or for worse, till death do us part. Not just for the better, not just if things are going well. Every couple needs to remember the vows they made on their wedding day. All too often, something happens, and it is “easier” to just give up, give up on the marriage, on each other, on everything. Till death do us part has become almost meaningless in weddings nowadays. Divorce has been made so simple; couples don’t have to fight for their marriage anymore. This is entirely too sad an outcome in our society. Devotion will give any couple struggling with their marriage several reasons why they should fight for their marriage, to not give up so easily.This is an amazing book that shows the importance of these things in a marriage, including, but not limited to: keeping God at the center of your relationship, time spent in the Word, fellowship with other believers, time spent together, communication with each other.Devotion helped show me that no matter how strong you think your marriage may be, we can all take measures to safeguard our marriages against circumstances that would undermine it. Please read this book--you won't regret it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Emotionally charged! Music agent Kellen Lassiter has been dedica

    Emotionally charged!
    Music agent Kellen Lassiter has been dedicated to his career, and has achieved success and the advantages that accompany it. His wife Juliet is vigorously involved in Christian volunteer work through their church. They represent a perfect couple, full of love and devotion to one another, and committed to Christ-centered lives. Only their dream of a home filled with children hasn't come to fruition. Both Kellen and Juliet have become more involved in their outside commitments which has imposed some constraints in their personal lives. Kellen is intensely involved in the music agency, but less involved in church activities. Juliet fills her days with a concentrated drive to accomplish her goals of reaching out to the needy through her church efforts. In an unsuspecting moment Kellen succombs to temptation by a beautiful and flirtatious new client. Juliet's entire world is rocked by the discovery that Kellen has disgraced their relationship through an incident that drives a painful wedge in their otherwise flawless marriage. Juliet's knowledge of the incident is so painful that she can see no way to overcome and forgive Kellen's deceit. The road to forgiveness and healing becomes encumbered by countless incidents that invade Juliet's broken heart. This story of a beautiful marriage that meets with a painful stumbling block could be an event that any married couple could encounter. It's a lesson in heeding God's warnings and keeping the sanctity of marriage holy.




    Marianne Evans creates a distinct realism in her fictional characterizations, so descriptively and agonizingly painful that the reader aches from the events that evolve from a moment of inappropriate passion. Devotion is written with limitless Christian passion and poignancy. Ms. Evans pulls out all the stops when it comes to revealing the pain and heartache that are the result of bad judgment in her characters. The road to forgiveness, acceptance and unrestrained love is written in painfully descriptive moments in time between Kellen and Juliet. Marianne Evans is a very gifted author whose writing flows like streams of water, over the boulders of life, and along fragrant pastures filled with life and growth. I highly recommend this work of art to all who enjoy Christian fiction, and for those who seek improved relationships in their marriage. This is a rare revelation into the workings of acceptance, forgiveness and total devotion.




    Disclaimer: A PDF copy of "Devotion" was given to me as a gift from the author in return for my honest and unbiased review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Devotion is a book that shows you just how much satan plays a ha

    Devotion is a book that shows you just how much satan plays a hand in trying to destroy marriages. Even though this book is fiction it could very well be a true story and I have no doubt in my mind that a few readers can relate. I know it hit home for me.

    I have never cried so much while reading a book. My emotions went through it all. Laughter, joy, happiness, disbelief, anger, sorrow, and hopelessness. When a Christian couple has a marriage devoted to each other that is when satan attacks; and attack he did.

    The main characters in this book Kellen and Juliet Rossiter both possessed strong Christian values and seemed to have it all. They had a strong marriage, they were active in their church and they both loved God.

    I related quite well to Juliet as I have walked in her shoes. Raw emotions took over while I was reading this book. It was an emotional ride for me.

    This book will show you that God allows us to make choices, right or wrong. It is about learning to let go and let God. It is about earning trust again. Most importantly, it is about forgiveness.

    Please pick up a copy of this book. It could change your marriage! Thank you Marianne Evans for writing Devotion.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    How can I review this book in words that aren¿t stale, over-used

    How can I review this book in words that aren’t stale, over-used “standard fare”? I desperately want to do that, because DEVOTION  is NOT standard fare. It reaches deep, deep into the reader’s emotions and touches the most sensitive places in the soul. Perhaps because I had read the author’s Woodland series, I already felt a bond with Kellen and Juliet—and loved their obvious devotion to one another. When the back cover text made it obvious that beautiful relationship would be shadowed by infidelity, my heart broke…my spirit rebelled. I wasn’t sure I even wanted to read the book.
    I’m glad I did.
    Because the truth is, even the strongest of relationships endure temptation and whether through infidelity or some other “bump in the road,” all go through difficult times and must find a way to forgiveness and triumph if they are to succeed. Evans portrayed Kellen and Juliet’s trial by fire in vivid brushstrokes that leave a lasting imprint on the reader’s mind. Their path to recovery becomes difficult to endure at times because the characters are so real that the reader’s heart beats in perfect synch…she suffers through each wrench of the emotions and feels the dampness of every tear on her own face.
    DEVOTION is a deeply emotional experience…a shining example of stellar writing, and of God’s unparalleled finesse in mending a damaged masterpiece to make it even better, even more beautiful than before. Bravo, Ms. Evans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I absolutely love reading stories that reach the core of my hear

    I absolutely love reading stories that reach the core of my heart and soul…and I love sharing when one has truly made an indelible impression! DEVOTION, the latest book from Faith-Affirming Fiction author Marianne Evans, has so beautifully left its mark! Having read all of Marianne’s titles, I anticipated developing a love relationship with her newest novel…I didn’t anticipate, however, that my heart and spirit would resonate so completely.

    With such artistic skill, Marianne’s writing style promises to engage your every sense, transporting you with descriptive words that magically flow from page to page as she paints a realistic story. DEVOTION will take you on an emotionally-and-spiritually-gripping roller coaster ride as you journey with one couple, Kellen and Juliet, through the twists and turns of a marriage experiencing complacency, ultimately leading to temptation and resulting in infidelity. Similar to realities experienced by so many couples today, their story honestly portrays what can happen when the marriage relationship is taken for granted and allowed to become stagnant. When trust is trampled on and marital vows have been violated, how does a couple manage to recover or repair the damage…is it even possible? In a culture where divorce alarmingly permeates even the strongest and successful-appearing Christian marriages, DEVOTION offers a refreshing perspective on keeping the marriage bond intact in spite of threatening offenses. Through the supportive character of Pastor Gene, wise counsel and guidance is given on how to preserve the sanctity of a marriage covenant, navigate through heart-wrenching and soul-searching circumstances, and breathe fresh life into a broken relationship.

    Filled with themes of hope, redemption, second chances, and new beginnings, DEVOTION delivers a captivating story about the power of God’s love, healing and forgiveness…and all the potential blessings awaiting those who have committed their lives in devotion to God and to each other. It’s a definite MUST-READ for every married or engaged couple, or singles waiting for their lifetime love, and is particularly ESSENTIAL for every marriage that has experienced the pain of infidelity. I found this book endearing, completely engaging from its opening lines, and deeply emotionally and spiritually compelling throughout. I’d give it more than five stars if I could…yes, it’s THAT good! Tremendous blessings await you throughout the pages of DEVOTION, so please check it out…you’ll see what I mean!

    Bravo, Marianne, on penning a heart-and-soul-stirring story that beautifully addresses such a challenging topic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2012

    Absolutely beautiful!!!

    This story is phenomenal! I couldn't put it down - and when I did have to, I couldn't wait to pick it back up. All of it felt so real - the unwanted chemistry, the fears, the loss of trust. This story had me crying, hoping, and begging for them to make it.

    This is so realistic to the dangers every marriage faces - even the most devoted of couples can let things slide, put things off, make excuses for the distance that can creep in. And ultimately, only God can make any marriage work. What a wonderful, heartbreaking testament to true faith this story is. I can't imagine how many tears Ms. Evans shed as she penned this work of art. Wonderful job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1