Customer Reviews for

Devoured

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Devoured!

    I was first attracted to this by the cover, but from the first pages of the book i was impressed. I wasnt really sure how much i was going to like this book, but i ended up loving it. It wasnt what i expected, the summary does not do it justice; it actually leaves out one of the main aspects of the story. It is based sort of around Snow White. Now, I never really liked the story of Snow White, but the addition of it into this story was fantastic. It was very intense, darker than i expected, and kept me guessing until the very end. This makes me want to read more of Marrone's books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    This book was GREAT!

    I don't usually write reviews but I really rely on them when I am looking for my next book. I read 2-3 books a week so I am always looking. I am an adult who reads a lot of different genres but my favorite is young adult fiction. I thought this book was fantastic. It was clever, fast paced, and exciting. I also found parts of it to be scary and thrilling. The characters are great and there were so many turns I had no idea how it would turn out. The Snow White tie in was excellent. I really really reccomend this book to any fans of this genre. Its an easy read but its a very good read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Modern Day Snow White

    This book totally had me drawn into its story within a few pages. The setting of The Land of Enchantment theme park makes your mind think of Disneyland or someplace like that. The main character Megan Sones has been having visions of her dead sister for years, but lately the visions have been much more frequent and more bizzare. But Megan meets Luke, who can actually see her just like Megan can, and tries to help her.
    Along the way, the plot goes thru alot of crazy turns, but the romance between Megan and Luke is sweet to watch blossom. I will not give away the ending, but it certainly wasnt what I was expecting. This is a great book to keep you on the edge of your seat.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Devoured

    This was a great take on Snow White. Although the book is not completely like the Grimm version, it does incorporate Snow White in modern time perfectly. My only complaint about this book is that it ended. Besides that, it wasx amazing and even though I finished reading it about 3 days ago, I'm still thinking about it. The ending does come as a slight surprise, though, because usually there is a 'wicked' stepmother. Patty did admittedly have her downs, though. Anyway, I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Really Enjoyed..

    Ghosts..Love Triangles.. Land of Enchantment.. Oh My.. A retelling of Snow White with a Modern Twist.. I was a little unsure going into this book after some of the reviews I read but I'm glad I did.. The book kept my attention it kept me wanting more.. ?'ed it.. recommend..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    A must read.

    I rarely write reviews but I must say this book is worth the time! Great story line with a twist. I could not put this book down! I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Ahhhh!!!

    This was soo good... its a really twisted verison of snow white and they did it beautifully;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Fucking awesome.

    This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Itchy

    My foot itches

    Really bad

    Its itcny

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing fast read!

    I loved this book. Like it was soo good. I enjoyed how the author used the backdrop of snow white. It was very original and I was hooked. I read it in about one sitting. It had everything action, emotion, romance and wow I'm super impressed. Read this book you wont be sorry. And I don't understand the negative views it really was not disturbing or wierd.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Devoured!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Smitten from the first bite, I mean page...

    Devoured proved to be quite a delectable little morsel, tangy and crispy like a freshly bitten apple, it was a bit different than standard YA fare, it had a bit of magic to it but it was realistic enough to be believable. The story is supposed to be a spin on the Snow White fairy tale but with modern twists and I have to say I was very curious how that was going to work, especially since the title is so raw and bold, you sort of aren't sure what to expect, but the story is fun, scary, spicy and interesting at the same time.

    Megan has lost her twin sister Remy in a car accident, the same accident that has left her father in a comma. That one moment has flipping her life upside down, mostly because her sister's ghost seems to follow her everywhere, but things take on a bizarre turn when her new summer job at the Land of Enchantment stirs the ghost crazy and makes Megan unsure if it's as safe as it seems. Her reasons to work there are simple, her mother doesn't seem to have time for her and Megan's boyfriend works there too, with his best female friend who gives Megan an upset stomach from worrying about their unnatural closeness. Her relationship being threatened forces her to take the job to keep an eye on them, but when fore warnings of pain and death seem too bizarre to accept she lets go and joins the park, taking a step in a very dark direction. Pretty soon she makes some new friends, and a few enemies and awakens something that as crazy as it sounds, hungers for flesh, her flesh.

    The author did a great job of making this fun and modern and something that I got so engrossed in that I read it in a very few sittings, this book was a breeze and hard to put down at the same time, I can't wait to read more from Amanda Marrone. I liked the teen voice she uses, it was perfect, just what I would want from YA fiction.

    - Kasia S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Bad Mirror

    Ever since a horrific car accident nine years ago, Megan has been haunted by the ghost of her dead twin sister, Remy. Megan, in an attempt to keep an eye of her boyfriend and his perky best friend, takes up a summer job at the amusement park, Land of Enchantment. On her first day there, Remy comes and gives Megan a horrifying vision. Megan isn't the only one who saw Remy this time, however. Luke, a cute guy who works at the park, is determined to help Megan and get her twin sister to move on. But Remy is becoming more and more insistent and much more terrifying, bringing violent visions of whats to come.

    I would not call this book a retelling of Snow White. It's more of a continuation of "what-if". After the prologue, the only references to Snow White come much later in the novel. So I don't really recommend this book if you are looking for a good fairytale.

    I didn't enjoy this book too much, but it was different. For me it fluctuated between original, weird, and just plain stupid. The writing is nothing to give a hoot about. Plot-wise, things were uneven. I think the book jumped into the story too fast, took a break, and then finished in a rush.

    The characters were thinly developed, but some did manage to surprise me at the end. I didn't like Megan though. She devoted more time to fussing about relationships than in mourning when something horrific happened. She just wasn't very smart. Luke was of the typical love interest fare. He was cute, yet understanding. And terribly, terribly cliched.

    I would have to say the tone was overall light, even though there were some pretty gruesome scenes. Not that the reader was given any time to make an emotional connection to the event.

    The book wasn't good, but wasn't horrible. I know some people will like it. I wouldn't discourage anyone from picking this up, especially if they were looking for a book to go in between heavier reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Kinda creepy and very bizarre

    Definitely not one of my favorites but I guess it kept my intruged do to the ove relationships in it. Very creepy and I think whoever could write it might need some help, but if your into wierd murdrr mysteries this is for you. I'm probably not a very good judge because this is not the style of reading I enjoy. Have fun!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3