Customer Reviews for

Devoured

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    This is a fantastic book. A few weeks ago when Jason Brant anno

    This is a fantastic book.

    A few weeks ago when Jason Brant announced that his new book – Devoured, would soon be released, I was thrilled.

    All the other PA books I have read recently have ex-army/special forces, highly trained terminator types as the main characters – which is cool, we like these strong silent types. The main character in Devoured, on the other hand, is the ordinary guy in the street. A bit of a loser according to his ‘charming’ soon-to-be-ex-wife, and even to an extent, himself, but when the world starting crumbling, he became the person we will all want on our side when the odds are stacked against us.

    The zombies/creatures in this book are not zombies as we know them. These zombies are different in a few very important ways – they are absolutely terrifying.

    Devoured is the first book in the series - ‘The Hunger’ – no cliffhanger, thank goodness, just a very good book with lots of action, surprises, terrifying moments, and as we have come to expect from Jason Brant – humor. I realy enjoyed this book and look forward (impatiently) to the next book in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Fun read !

    Good read - good series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this book so much that I almost feel guilty having got

    I enjoyed this book so much that I almost feel guilty having gotten the e-book version for free! I had a hard time putting it down to do other things I needed to do. The story is exciting, the characters believable, and the monsters truly frightening. I finished the last page just a few minutes ago and immediately bought Consumed, the second book in the series. I hope someone turns this into a movie or TV show. If you like action and horror and seeing "real" people find courage they didn't know they possessed, then give this book a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    It could happen!

    One of the reasons I enjoy this book (and all of Jason's really) is because it is right on the edge of "wow, I can see this happening!". The characters are us, normal people thrown into bizarre situations. How would you cope, which character are you? Pick and choose because they are all there. So much fun to read, enough humor to lift the tension ever so slightly right before you are tossed back into the fray. Can't wait for the rest of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    Awesome book

    I really enjoyed reading this book it was a fresh take on an over done genre .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2015

    I was pleasantly surprised

    When I began reading, I wasn't really sure where the story was going but it moved along quickly and I really enjoyed it. I liked it so much that I purchased the next two books, as well! I eagerly wait the next one! If you're on the fence, do it! I think it's a good read and the next 2 tie in well to the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Jason Byant is a genius! Best series I have read in a long time.I would love to see this series as a graphic novel.

    Jason Byant is a genius! Best series I have read in a long time.I would love to see this series as a graphic novel.

    After reading the 1st book in this series, which I got free, I am hooked. Not the average end of the world plot, this is original, fast paced, at times very scary, nail biting, on the edge of your seat fun.

    Cass and Lance are smart and funny, the way they interact is hilarious. Their role reversal makes Lance all the more adorable. Cass is his savior, his white knight who protects Lance from the horrors of the post world collapse and he takes it in stride.

    No grandstanding with these two, they are brutally honest with each other and embrace each others faults without judgement.

    The only problem with this series is Brant's left wing view that anyone who is a veteran, active duty military, pro 2nd. amendment, pro constitution, a hunter, goes to gun shows, and a prepper is evil and crazy. His derogatory, insulting and offensive use of the historical names for our hero ancestors who freed our country during the American Revolution, such as the minutemen and militia, and his hinting that our military and veterans are crazy blood thirsty killers is typical of left wingnuts and is all too pervasive in books today. Being a veteran of the Gulf War myself, I am offended by this attitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Very good book

    I was very pleasantly surprised. I did not expect to enjoy this book as much as I did. Can not wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Wow. This was so well written and thought out, I said to myself

    Wow. This was so well written and thought out, I said to myself several times, why isn't this a movie? I can't wait to get my hands on the second one to find out what happens to Lance, Cass, and the rest. I don't know how many are going to be in this series but I will be following as closely as I can. Jason Brant has become my new favorite male author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1