BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Devoured by Darkness (Guardians of Eternity Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 391 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

a strong Gardens of Eternity romantic urban fantasy

For two days inside Missouri tunnels, half breed Jinn Laylah flees from vampire Tane the Charon executioner who knows she leads him away from the Caine estate where he first saw her. He assumes she protects a child. However as a half Jinn she must appear before the Co...
For two days inside Missouri tunnels, half breed Jinn Laylah flees from vampire Tane the Charon executioner who knows she leads him away from the Caine estate where he first saw her. He assumes she protects a child. However as a half Jinn she must appear before the Commission as her species is outlawed. Tane lusts for the tired Laylah who stops running when vampires arrive. Tane fights the vampires as Levet the gargoyle arrives. Laylah races back to Caine's lair to grab the baby concealed in a stasis spell she found in the mists fifty years ago. Tane and Levet follow her. The gargoyle mentions a jinn broke his wing two centuries ago in London. Laylah goes to London using her Jinn skill to vanish in the shadows, but Tane and Levet grab her and end up with her in the mist.

In London, Marika the vampire complains to her mage Sergei she hears her twin Kata whisper Laylah although Kata is in a deep magical sleep but made sure her half-breed daughter was safe from her aunt. Laylah informs Tane she is going to leave him behind in the mists unless he gives a wish debt that spell binds him to the half-Jinn. He agrees and in London she orders him to take her to a safe place. He takes her to the lair of Victor the vampire while Marika knows her quest to use her niece and the baby has finally accelerated.

The lead couple is a fascinating pairing of two seemingly opposites while the fast-paced story line makes vampires, gargoyles, jinns, and mages seem real. A nice late twist adds depth. Although the villainous is considered extremely dangerous and nasty by others, she seems somewhat feeble in person. Still this is a strong Gardens of Eternity romantic urban fantasy that cleverly sets up a future "Darkness" sequel.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was okay..but!

This is book #7 in the Guardians of Eternity series. Because I love this series and couldn't wait to read this new book. I have to say that I was disappointed. The characters Tane and Laylah didn't feel fully developed and their story line was anticlimatic and rushed. I...
This is book #7 in the Guardians of Eternity series. Because I love this series and couldn't wait to read this new book. I have to say that I was disappointed. The characters Tane and Laylah didn't feel fully developed and their story line was anticlimatic and rushed. I wondered after reading the book "is that all there is". This book was not up to previous standards. As I said earlier I love this series I hope the next installment is better.

posted by luvtoread5 on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a strong Gardens of Eternity romantic urban fantasy

    For two days inside Missouri tunnels, half breed Jinn Laylah flees from vampire Tane the Charon executioner who knows she leads him away from the Caine estate where he first saw her. He assumes she protects a child. However as a half Jinn she must appear before the Commission as her species is outlawed. Tane lusts for the tired Laylah who stops running when vampires arrive. Tane fights the vampires as Levet the gargoyle arrives. Laylah races back to Caine's lair to grab the baby concealed in a stasis spell she found in the mists fifty years ago. Tane and Levet follow her. The gargoyle mentions a jinn broke his wing two centuries ago in London. Laylah goes to London using her Jinn skill to vanish in the shadows, but Tane and Levet grab her and end up with her in the mist.

    In London, Marika the vampire complains to her mage Sergei she hears her twin Kata whisper Laylah although Kata is in a deep magical sleep but made sure her half-breed daughter was safe from her aunt. Laylah informs Tane she is going to leave him behind in the mists unless he gives a wish debt that spell binds him to the half-Jinn. He agrees and in London she orders him to take her to a safe place. He takes her to the lair of Victor the vampire while Marika knows her quest to use her niece and the baby has finally accelerated.

    The lead couple is a fascinating pairing of two seemingly opposites while the fast-paced story line makes vampires, gargoyles, jinns, and mages seem real. A nice late twist adds depth. Although the villainous is considered extremely dangerous and nasty by others, she seems somewhat feeble in person. Still this is a strong Gardens of Eternity romantic urban fantasy that cleverly sets up a future "Darkness" sequel.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay..but!

    This is book #7 in the Guardians of Eternity series. Because I love this series and couldn't wait to read this new book. I have to say that I was disappointed. The characters Tane and Laylah didn't feel fully developed and their story line was anticlimatic and rushed. I wondered after reading the book "is that all there is". This book was not up to previous standards. As I said earlier I love this series I hope the next installment is better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~ 3.5 Devoured Stars ~ An ok read in the series! Devoured by Da

    ~ 3.5 Devoured Stars ~ An ok read in the series!

    Devoured by Darkness starts where Beyond the Darkness ends in that Tane is chasing a half breed Jinn mongrel. This one was not as engaging as others in the series. I started off being pulled in, but then it turned into a book I needed to finish to move on to the next in the series. 

    Tane is a Charon, a vampire charged with killing vampires who have gone rogue. Dame he is one sexy vampire; wearing khaki shorts, a massive sword and nothing else. 

    Layla is a half breed mongrel Jinn, who has been chased her entire life and all she wants is to live a life that is her own. 

    Ms. Ivy does a great job with references to modern things and witty comments. Levet always brings a certain entertaining factor to the books with his character in that every women loves him, but every man just wants to kill him. The main story arc in the series is that something bad is coming. No one is quite sure what, but it’s going to be deadly and soon. Not much is revealed in the area of the big bad, because most of the book is spent on Tane and Laylah. We also get a little information on what became of Cassandra and Caine. Cassandra is turning out to be an interesting character and I hope she gets a book. As for the relationship between Laylah and Tane they even each other out. She brings a softness to Tane and in turn he gives her someone she can actually trust for the first time. A lot of the book ends up being a cat and mouse between the two, which was entreating at the begin, but got old. Something else that got to me was Laylah wants to get away from Tane, but then she is falling into bed a little to fast for my liking with him. There relationship wasn’t as strong as some of the others in the series, because it was more physical then an emotional connection. 

    Devoured by Darkness was an ok read in the series. We get appearances from characters from past books and a big bad that is coming. I’m curious to find out what happens next. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    This is definitely a series to read!!!! GREAT GREAT GREAT

    I have read all the books in the series and I can't wait for the next book. I love vampire series and I have read quite a number of them. Midnight Breed, The Black Dagger Brotherhood, The Darkhunters. This series is a nice twist from the other series I have read. Love the vampire lairs and how they are all intertwined. If you like diffferent points of views on how a vampire is made this is definitely another really good twist to the vampire world. The author gets you from the moment you read the first page and keeps you interested until the last page. Each book bridges you to the next book beautifully. I LOVE LEVET!!!!

    Definitely a great read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Love It!!!!!

    Have them all. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Fun read.

    It was good and fun series to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    Once again a great story from Alexandra Ivy. Each book gets better and better. I just love reading about what Levet is up to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Ivyheart

    The shecat sat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Vampire fantasy

    I am in love with anything vampire but especially this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Editing errors but still love

    Nuff said. Love it. I want an update on harley!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Surprised

    I have read all the books of this series that are out. This book was difficult to read. The format on the pages were so messed up that yes you almost had to read the book so many times. The errors were so bad that I had to force myself to read it....headaches galore. The story was good but I have to give it 3 stars because of the indifference of the author and editor. I preorder the next book and I pray that I did not pay good money for a repeat of this book.

    Please note that I said the story eas good and so is the series. A new Christene Feehan or Sherrilyn Kenyon in the msking?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Good

    Picked one upand ended ups reading the entire series. I love finding new authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Love her book!

    I have read all of her books, cannot wait until the next on comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    DON'T MISS OUT

    I just started reading this author, all of her books are GREAT..... DON'T MISS OUT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved it................simply amazing

    This book was great. it had me at the edge of my seat, i seriously could not put the book down, i read the book so many times i lost count, this book is breathtaking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great read in the series...

    Another great story for the Guardians. Of course, we're left hanging again and anxiously waiting for the next one to find out where this will go next. If you haven't read these from the beginning, make sure you start with the first book. They won't be near as good if you pick up in the middle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    HIGHLY recommended!@

    Tane is a Charon, sworn to hunt and kill vampires. He is not thrilled with his newest assignment. He thinks that it is a waste of his talents, that is until he meets up with a dangerous Jinn. Laylah is half demon, half human and completely captivating. She uses her powers to bind them together so he cannot bring her to the Commission. He should be furious with her, but he finds himself falling for the vulnerable woman within.

    Laylah has a secret of her own. She is in charge of protecting a child that will be in the middle of the war between good and evil. Enemies are drawing nearer and she must trust Tane to help protect her and the child before the evil wins and kills them all.

    Alexandra Ivy's Devoured by Darkness the seventh installment to the Guardians of Eternity series, brings a gritty new world of demons and vampires to life in such a way that I hope to read many more books in this series to find out more about this wonderful new world and the people living in it. I plan to go back and read them all. This new-to-me author has me completely in love with the Guardian's and those they protect.

    Tane is a sexy hunter/warrior with enough bad boy in him to make him even hotter. He is completely alpha and one badass fighter. Being half human and half demon, Layla straddles the line between good and evil. Her two sides battle for control every day. She has a inner strength and beauty that easily draws you in and wins you over.

    After reading Devoured by Darkness, Ms. Ivy has become a must read author for me. I loved this book so much I am going to search out the rest of the Guardian of Eternity series to read about all the Guardians' lives, loves and battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    GREAT STORY

    THE STORE WAS GREAT LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT ONE...THIS IS SILLY BUT, I LIKE HOW SHE HAS THE PICTURE OF TANE.. HOWEVER THROUGHOUT THE BOOK THEY KEEP TALKING ABOUT HIS HONEY COLORED EYES... THE GUY ON THE COVER HAS ICE BLUE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Loved it!!!!

    This has been a really great series. I hope that she has more story lines. Hard to say which is the best book of her's. If you are looking for a new paranormal author she is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    A Great Paranormal

    I enjoyed Devoured by Darkness very much. It's a first time read for me by Alexandra Ivy, and I am in search of her backlist titles. This book had a mixture of everything- adventure, suspense, sexy love scenes and a plot that was well written, and strong character development. Laylah made for a great heroine Though it's a typical good vs. evil story, I found that it still stands out from the many others out there. Ivy's worldbuilding is very creative. Ms. Ivy has a new fan in me, and will surely be reading more titles from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20