BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dew Breaker

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Outstanding!

    This is by far one of Danticat's best. A haunting tale about Haiti and a man's destructive past that follows him to New York. This novel helps put present day Haiti in perspective. Danticat is a wonderful Griot who can pull anyone into her narratives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    A beautiful, painful and ultimately rewarding book

    Much like Tim O'Brien's THE THINGS THEY CARRIED, this book lingers in that nebulous hinterland between short story and novel where few writers have the gumption or the ability to tread. Each chapter is a self-contained story, with divergent and seemingly random settings--Haiti in the dictatorial 1960s, Manhattan in the 1970s, Brooklyn and Queens in the 21st century. And yet slowly, irrevocably, the reader is drawn into the shared love, the shared remorse, the shared history, the shared hope, the shared rebellions--both personal and political--that circle round this unassuming man...this husband...this father...this friend...this torturer...this dew breaker. About three-quarters of the way into THE DEW BREAKER I couldn't see myself giving it anything more than 3-1/2 or 4 stars. This is a book that rewards patience, one whose ultimate purity is not realized until the very last sentence, when that 'pendulum between regret and forgiveness' swings one last time. Given what's going on even as we speak in the island nation of Haiti, THE DEW BREAKER's timeliness is nearly as haunting as Ms. Danticat's prose. Maybe this isn't a book for everyone...but it should be. Postscript: I bought the audio edition of THE DEW BREAKER after I read the print book. For those of you who find yourself tripping over some of the Creole dialect in print, try the audio. The narrator, Robin Miles, is an extraordinary talent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Homie

    ...welxome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    TO ALL for story

    RES SIX SRRY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    OutCast's Biography

    Good job! Now you have to actualy have to know me. Not my friends.
    <p>
    How many litters has she had? Not including her adopted ones! Spell the number out completely. Like five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Frost

    Dewstreek next res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Hey Little Star

    I will take you in. My name is Cheetahclaw. I am a mother of one other kit who hasnt talked to me in awhile. I love kits and want to be a mom of a really active one. Reply back to Cheetahclaw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    DewStreak

    Okay?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Ok RD

    u can

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    I'm a judge.

    I'm judging the MLP ones. ~RD

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Dewdrop's Dream - Part Four

    "No. Just... No." Bramblefur stared at her unbelievingly. Dewdrop didn't want to believe it, but she new she was right. There would be a battle, and she and Bramblefur would die.
    "We have to avoid it. I will not die yet. I'm too young," he meowed. He began pacing back and forth across the cool pine needles.
    Dewdrop felt numb. She was a new warrior. How could she die so soon? She had worked so hard to get - and keep - her position as a respected warrior. She always fought on the winning side, and she never came close to dying. Never.
    A screech interrupted her thoughts. Cats were fighting! She listened for a second. The noise was coming from the ThunderClan border.
    "Come on!" She dashed through the forest, Bramblefur quick on her paws. They raced toward the sound of the battle, trees flashing by as the quickend their pace. Soon they arrived to see bloodstained grass and corpses, with the few remaining cats fighting on a hill. "Call reinforcements!" she called to Bramblefur. He nodded and streaked away.
    Dewdrop plunged down the hill, running as fast as she could toward the battle. She leapt onto an orange tabby - ThunderClan's deputy, Flamefrost - and began tearing at her sides with unsheathed claws. Flamefrost yowled and turned on her, swiping for her throat. Dewdrop ducked and sank her teeth into Flamefrost's back. Warm, salty liquid filled her mouth, and she swallowed against the blood. Her muzzle was stained red.
    The cats fought until a silvery moon rose in a sky of black velvet. Bramblefur had returned, bringing most of ShadowClan with him. They had sprung into the battle, unsheathed claws glinting as the sun's last bleeding rays disappeared under the horizen.
    Dewdrop was exhausted, but kept fighting. She had a belly wound that seeped blood and sapped her strength, but she kept going.
    She fixed her gaze on a huge black tomcat with glinting yellow eyes. She ran toward him as fast as she could go, leaving a glitteribg red trail of blood in her wake. She avoided stepping on corpses as she pounded towards her target.
    The tom turned just as she reached him, claws glinting with blood as he slashed his paw toward her throat. The last thing she saw before she closed her eyes and Bramblefur's eyes as his neck was ripped out, begging her to save him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    EXCELLENT!!!!

    A well written insight into the life and times of ordinary Haitians, residing in Haiti and those exiled in the USA, during the brutal Duvalier dictatorship. A collection of interelated short stories with well developed interesting characters and poetic imagery that brings the near truth story to life. A great read. Once started I could not put in down until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    briseur de rosee

    enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1