Customer Reviews for

Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great tribute to a wonderful and lucky cat.

    I love this cat. I read Vicki Myron's full-length tribute to her cat, so I know that he really met the library patrons at the door, and so it was nice to see this story. I enjoyed it because it focused the reader's attention entirely on this cute thing that the cat did. That was great because the biography of Dewey went through the entire life...and death...of the cat. After that, I was ready to go back and focus on this wondeful aspect of a wonderful cat, and just enjoy that. She did a really good job with it - and with her pet cat.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    :)

    I love this book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    love it

    it is a great book the kids are always begging me to let them read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Charming "Tail"

    Quick! Look! There's a cat in the library and he wants to play with you! Whether your child loves going to the library, or you have a reluctant reader, Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library! is a great way to encourage trips to the local library.

    Dewey is the sweet story of a kitten who was "deposited" into the library's book return box on a frigid winter night. Found half frozen the next morning by Vicki Myron, one of the library's employee, Dewey the kitten was cared for, and soon adopted by the library. This book takes a lighthearted look at a library cat and the joy that he brought to so many of the library's patrons.

    The first book written about Dewey, Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, was an adult memoir. But it suffered from too little information about Dewey to fill an almost 300 page book. In an attempt to pad the book, the author included far too much extraneous information on her life as well as the history of the town. Dewey's antics were lost amongst all the irrelevant information. Fortunately, that's not the case with the children's' version of the story. There is just enough here - and it's all about the cat - to make a perfect tale.

    The narrative jumps around, showing the various activities that Dewey is involved with, as well as his silly antics. The soft, lifelike drawings showing the sweet cat and young children interacting are inviting as is the idea of a cat at the local library.

    Quill says: A charming "tail" about a cat living at the library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Dewey!

    This is a wonderful book for kids - and a great companion to the adult Dewey book! Great to get kids interested in the Library - especially if they like cats.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    Sweet, funny, true story

    Steve James' artwork and Vicki Myron's story make this a precious read and read again picture book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Vicks myron

    Vicky myron is my favorite author ever. I have read all if the dewey books and i got to say they are the best books ever. Such touching stories

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Ok but sad

    Ok

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    ok

    ok

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    sad

    i just hate it when they mistreat their pets

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    Great Story

    My daughter and I loved the story and illustrations. This is a wonderful story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    November 30

    Even though i have not read the kid version book i think it is awsome because the chapter book about Dewey i really goo it even made me cry. So you should get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I like this book

    I read this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    My Girls and I love this book!

    This book is so sweet. It is a cute story about a sweet cat in a library. The cat, Dewey, is a sweet thoughtful kitty who makes everyone feel good. We read it at least 5 times a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Dewey is precious

    Gave 'Dewey' to my three year old niece for her birthday, she grabs this book every night for her Mom and Dad to read to her. She is totally captivative by Dewey.

    This book is a winner in my family, of course, I read it before I purchased it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very special book

    This is a very special book about a kitten left in a library book drop. It is an engaging story and the illustrations are beautiful. I gave it to each of my grandsons and have already read it to them several times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    Love it!

    My son who is 3 1/2 loves this book. He took it to preschool one day and the rest of the class enjoyed it also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2