Customer Reviews for

Dewey's Nine Lives: The Legacy of the Small-Town Library Cat Who Inspired Millions

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I LOVED THE BOOK ABOUT DEWEY

Ever since i read the book about dewey ,i think about how my grandpa resuced lucky girl . He found her on his birthday and how he was going to put her down but the vet gave her food and water from a eyedropper. That saved her life now she is att the shop in his office ...
Ever since i read the book about dewey ,i think about how my grandpa resuced lucky girl . He found her on his birthday and how he was going to put her down but the vet gave her food and water from a eyedropper. That saved her life now she is att the shop in his office and is loved by everyone ( including me.)

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Continuation of the Inspiration of Dewey the Cat

Just so you know...I cry a lot through books about how an animal can make you feel, their inspiration, and their complete and total unconditional love to us, but it's such a good cry. I just love to be reminded of how incredibly important animals can be in our lives and...
Just so you know...I cry a lot through books about how an animal can make you feel, their inspiration, and their complete and total unconditional love to us, but it's such a good cry. I just love to be reminded of how incredibly important animals can be in our lives and how they deserve our mutual love, respect, and protection. An animal can't speak for themselves and tell you what's right and what's wrong, or what hurts. We have to do that for them, to help them, and care for them, to stand up for them when something is wrong or inhumane. But sometimes it's forgotten what an animal's love can do for them, the inspiration that they can provide.

Dewey's Nine Lives reminds you that the magic of an animal's love and devotion can be found everywhere, not just in one library in Spencer, Iowa -- but one little cat named Dewey had such an amazing story that it brought out the personal stories of people with their own cats, in such an incredible outpouring of love, inspiration, and most especially, the amazing bond one can have with their precious pets.

Dewey's Nine Lives is such a feel good book that reminds us of the importance of animals in our lives, perfect for the holidays!

posted by NatalieTahoe on October 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Dewey's story

    I thouht this book was very touching in quite a few ways. From the beginning to the end, it can entertain, inspire, and it can give you the chance to relate to characters. If you are in love with cats, libraries, and reading you will love this story, and Dewey Readmore Books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Why does dewey have to die :(

    Dewey is a small town cat who was found and kept by a library owner named vicky. She kept him and let him stay at the library. She loved that cat almost more than anything. But will dewey soon loose his 9 lives?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspirational and funny too!

    After the first book about Dewey, Dewey's mom, Vicki Myron started to hear from all over abuot some other Amazing Cats! In this book she narrates just nine of the incredible stories she was told and also includes some more details about Dewey that didn't make the first book. Vicki took time to interview everyone involved with these cats to find out just how special these cats were and that like Dewey had a strong perseverance and capacity for love. The stories range from a cat found drowning on Christmas Eve to a Ninja kitty and more. This is an enjoyable book especially for cat enthusiasts who understand that cats are the bosses and mere humans are their pets. Each of these stories will touch your hearts or tickle your funny bone, sometimes both. Each chapter is an entirely new story with Dewey's compassion interwoven seamlessly throughout. The stories are truly inspirational and remarkably different. Any pet lover knows the unconditional love affair between a pet and their human and included in this book of just 9 stories when there could have been hundreds. I don't think this will be the last we will here from these authors or Dewey. Oh, and if you think you are not a cat lover, stop by any humane society and cuddle with one or two, it could change your life. Be sure to check out Dewey's webpage and check out the children's books too. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Dutton, a division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Moving stories of cats and their people

    Dewey's Nine Lives by Vicki Myron & Bret Witter is a collection of stories perfect for fans of Dewey or any animal lover. Dewey Readmore Books, the library cat from Spencer, Iowa gained international fame even before his death, but with the release of a book about his life in 2008, the author heard from cat lovers all over the world with stories of how Dewey touched their life or how their cat was special like Dewey. She read through all of these letters and chose a few to contribute to this collection of true stories of amazing cats, and there are a few more stories of Dewey for fans. I am a sucker for stories about animals, though I never read the original book about Dewey. Myron fills in new readers with enough back story to make them comfortable and want to read the first book as well! The stories of people whose lives were changed or even in some cases saved by cats are poignant, humorous, shocking, and inspiring. From Spooky who was nearly killed by an owl as a kitten then bitten by coyotes and swatted by a bear to Christmas Cat who almost drowned in a toilet on Christmas Eve and was hand fed and cared for by his non-cat-loving new owner. These are stories about real people, the ones who live on your street or in your building, and they aren't the kind stereotyped as "cat" people, but their stories are amazing. This is a feel-good read for animal lovers, and those who fell in love with Dewey's owner Vicki Myron will be glad to read about her own happy ending as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nice stories...

    This story is a continuation in part of the life of Dewey, the small town library cat. It is also stories of other cats and how they impacted the lives of their people. I won't say owner because we all know that no one ever really owns a cat.

    These wonderful stories are heart warming stories sent to the author after they read the story of Dewey, and they then usually shared how Dewey touched their lives, and how their own cats touched their lives. I enjoyed each and every story, but one story was particularly special to me and that was the story of the Church Cat. (Chapter eight) Imagine my surprise as I started reading the story and recognized that the town and the church mentioned is a church where a dear friend's husband pastors. While they were not at this church during the time of the Church Cat, they too recognized the names of the people in the story. It truly made the story special to me. I also enjoyed the very last story of how the author met her husband and the cats in their lives.

    A wonderful book, with lots of giggles at the antics of the cats. You will truly enjoy this compilation of kitty stories. 300 pages U.S. $19.95 hardback, 4 stars.

    To learn more about Dewey the library cat check out the website deweyreadmorebooks dot com

    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1