Customer Reviews for

Dewey's Nine Lives: The Legacy of the Small-Town Library Cat Who Inspired Millions

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I LOVED THE BOOK ABOUT DEWEY

Ever since i read the book about dewey ,i think about how my grandpa resuced lucky girl . He found her on his birthday and how he was going to put her down but the vet gave her food and water from a eyedropper. That saved her life now she is att the shop in his office ...
Ever since i read the book about dewey ,i think about how my grandpa resuced lucky girl . He found her on his birthday and how he was going to put her down but the vet gave her food and water from a eyedropper. That saved her life now she is att the shop in his office and is loved by everyone ( including me.)

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Continuation of the Inspiration of Dewey the Cat

Just so you know...I cry a lot through books about how an animal can make you feel, their inspiration, and their complete and total unconditional love to us, but it's such a good cry. I just love to be reminded of how incredibly important animals can be in our lives and...
Just so you know...I cry a lot through books about how an animal can make you feel, their inspiration, and their complete and total unconditional love to us, but it's such a good cry. I just love to be reminded of how incredibly important animals can be in our lives and how they deserve our mutual love, respect, and protection. An animal can't speak for themselves and tell you what's right and what's wrong, or what hurts. We have to do that for them, to help them, and care for them, to stand up for them when something is wrong or inhumane. But sometimes it's forgotten what an animal's love can do for them, the inspiration that they can provide.

Dewey's Nine Lives reminds you that the magic of an animal's love and devotion can be found everywhere, not just in one library in Spencer, Iowa -- but one little cat named Dewey had such an amazing story that it brought out the personal stories of people with their own cats, in such an incredible outpouring of love, inspiration, and most especially, the amazing bond one can have with their precious pets.

Dewey's Nine Lives is such a feel good book that reminds us of the importance of animals in our lives, perfect for the holidays!

posted by NatalieTahoe on October 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    I LOVED THE BOOK ABOUT DEWEY

    Ever since i read the book about dewey ,i think about how my grandpa resuced lucky girl . He found her on his birthday and how he was going to put her down but the vet gave her food and water from a eyedropper. That saved her life now she is att the shop in his office and is loved by everyone ( including me.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Touching

    Touching, heartfelt, and warm hardly do this book justice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Thank you Vicki Myron this is my absolutaley favorite book in the world.

    I hope Vicki Myron is reading this because I want hear to hear what I want to say to her. This is my favorite book in the world. I was so surprised that Dewey was a little kitten that was in a metal drop box in the coldest day of the year and was in metal. I wish that I could see Dewey but I know he walks in every one's heart. I love Dewey and I love his mother Vicki Myron. I LOVE DEWEY!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    A darling book!!

    A darling book!! And I am NOT a cat lover!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love cats check this out!

    Dewey was a cat that lived in the library in Spencer, Iowa and he loved everyone and everyone loved him. He had lived nineteen years when he died and people over over the world heard about him and mourned his lost. He was always there to welcome everyone, big, small, rich or poor, he didn't care. He just had a way with him that drew people to Dewey. There have been other books written about him and so this one will be for sale Oct. 12, 2010 and I am sure that anyone that loves cats will want a copy.

    Dewey could make a homeless person feel as though he had a home for a little while, he would follow some people around the library in search of that one book, they needed or he would just sit with someone and that just wants to read a newspaper.

    Dewey Captured America's heart as they read the stories about him and also form the people themselves that he helped just by being there.

    The Advance Reading Copy of the book was sent to me for review by Anne Staszalek, Marketing Associate, The Book Report Network,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Butter cat19

    It is great buy for any animal lover!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Dewy

    I LOVE DEWY!!!!!!!!! and thats all. Oh, the book was really good. I even had a few sniffles! I loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Best book i've ever read

    Dewey is so cute i wish he was my cat

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Cats r awesome

    I mean it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Cats

    Cats r awesome cuz they learn it from me lol jk its @ good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Hi

    I think people should wright it short and seit

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it!!!!!!!

    An amazing book! It was truely touchng and inspirational. While it was not as good as Dewey it was an extremely good book. This book is great for everyone of all ages. From young adults to their grandparents this is an amazing book! Buy it. Read it. Love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    This is truly a Wonderful book to read!

    I enjoyed reading this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    This is a YES...

    I loved "Dewey" and although he is mentioned in this one, it is more about other cats and how they have touched their owners lives in some amazing ways. They do have their unique personalities and quirks. Pick it up and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2