Customer Reviews for

Dexter by Design (Dexter Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an amusing satirical Dexter thriller

    Miami Police department forensic technician Dexter Morgan has just returned from his honeymoon with his wife Rita in Paris. However, he has no time to ease back into his role of studying blood splatter patterns. Two corpses brutalized in a way that only Dexter would appreciate (especially the fruit "basket" designer body) have been found on the beach; a sacred part of Miami unlike the streets.

    Dexter's sister Sergeant Deborah is investigating the homicides when a suspect Alex Doncevic stabs her before fleeing the scene. Dexter assumes Alex is the serial killer and murders him; not out of sibling love or loyalty but because he is an avenging angel murdering murderers. However, to his shock his homicide of Doncevic appears on You Tube while Dexter also realizes the serial killer remains free to keep playing with him.

    This is an amusing satirical Dexter thriller as his latest caper is a bit more personal than usual. Although the plot is thin and the climax feels forced, Dexter and his straight foil Doakes make for a delightfully droll dark dueling duet as the serial killing technician balances a wife with his homicidal activities.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Funny..enjoyable

    As always..very funny. A.quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Ghostly Rex

    Anyone play FusionFall Heroes? I haven't played the first FusionFall game, cuz unity player crashes whenever I try to load it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Reading dexter novals 6 books

    Starting now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Not his best

    Jeff Lindsay has started to dwell a little deeper into the mind of Dexter and it gets a little tiresome at times. While his inner dialog can be amusing, sometimes it comes off as filler and detracts from the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    The Dexter series is a hoot!!!!

    After reading #1 through #5 of the series, I highly recommend these novels to anyone who enjoyed the works of Charles Addams. The repartee, sardonic thoughts of the main character, let alone outright 'occasional' sarcasm are sources of constant humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Designed well.

    All I can say about this 'Dexter' book is that I enjoyed the story and although it had its weak points here and there, it was overall a good peice of work from JL. Any Dexter fan should enjoy it. 4.5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    GREAT Book

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Really good

    I really enjoyed this one. Jennifers leg was weird, but interesting beginning to the novel. Good job Mr. Lindsay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Very good

    Finally, in the 4th book, we have returned to the Dexter that we grew to love in books 1&2. Book three was an anomaly. But, the fourth was full of dastardly dark Dexter delights. I do so enjoy the alliteration that Dexter uses to describe himself.

    Dexter demonstrates for (all of us) that balancing home, work and a hobby can be difficult. And, sometimes it results in a crazed serial killer artist stalking you. Dexter the hunted was a fun turn about from the usual hierarchy in these stories.

    The beginning was disturbing. I thought that the ending brought the story around full circle. The end did seem a bit rushed. It was still good, though.

    You need to have a strong stomach, and a dark sense of humor to enjoy this installment in the Dexter series. I recommend it.

    -AvidReader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Read this book! The stories are fascinating!

    I have read this book a few times and the story is great with each read. The books are almost better than the Showtime program, DEXTER. Slightly different story lines between the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Dexter

    Snorebpervy blossom oh dont touch me tjere ih

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Not as good as expected...

    I am a huge Dexter fan and did enjoy reading the first three books in this series. As Dexter is not on Showtime right now I thought I might be ae to get my fix by reading this. For some reason this book could not hold my interest and I had to push my way through it. It did not seem as original or well thought out as the Dexter I'm used to and I was able to predict much of the plot. I don't think that I'll be buying the other books of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    His Story Continues

    What can I say? It's Dexter. Strong plot and well written as always. You either love Dexter or you hate him. As for me, I'm in for the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Quick and fun read.

    Dexter is not for the feint of heart, but Jeff LIndsay still manages to make Dexter likable. The book is definitely darker than the series, but there are also some elements that are funny (not laugh out loud funny, more smirk funny). Dexter's relationship with his sister in the book is more interesting than in the TV series. More complex. This is definitely a worthwhile series to check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    not one of the best imo

    A bit predictable and drawn out. Once things got interesting Lindsay goes and cleans it up quickly with a bow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    NOT Recommended - Not your usual Story line

    The isn't like the other books in the Jeff Lindsay "Dexter" series. I skimmed thru the wordy parts. I like and recommend the other books in the series that I have read,so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Can't read

    Purchased book, but it won't download. Would really like to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Eh, stick with the Showtime series

    The book really felt pointless with his anticlamatic finale.

    After two great book to start the series I think Lindsay has run out of gas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    First One In Series I Read. It Made Made Want To Read Them All!

    Excellent Book. If you have been watching the series then you will be familiar with most of the characters, that and the premise though is the only thing they have in common. The book is funny, lough out loud funny at times, which is very different from the show. The characters are not as crude as on the television series, although the character of Deb is still as vulgar. The children (Cody and Astor) are interesting with their Dark Passengers in training. This is an easy read, perfect for a rainy day. I didn't want to put it down and finished the book within the day. After reading you just crave more Dexter. I can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13