Customer Reviews for

Dexter Is Delicious (Dexter Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gelati's Scoop

To say I am a fan of these novels is an understatement. I just love the writing style of Jeff Lindsay and am just amazed at the characters he has created with this story. The entire experience for me, from front cover to the back of the novel, just flat out rocks. The c...
To say I am a fan of these novels is an understatement. I just love the writing style of Jeff Lindsay and am just amazed at the characters he has created with this story. The entire experience for me, from front cover to the back of the novel, just flat out rocks. The cover is eye catching and very colorful, for someone as simple minded as me this is a plus. I can watch a fire or an aquarium for hours; this is almost as good.
Let me just ask this question, have you read any of the Dexter series? I offer no spoilers but below the post you will find all the covers from the novels in the series; each one is as good as the other. I don't hesitate to suggest trying one or all of them if you haven't. Just click on the cover tab and enjoy. But I digress. Here is a little bit about Dexter is Delicious:
"Dexter Morgan has always lived a happy homicidal life. He keeps his dark urges in check by adhering to one steadĀ­fast rule . . . he only kills very bad people. But now Dexter is experiencing some major life changes-don't we all?-and they're mostly wrapped up in the eight-pound curiosity that is his newborn daughter. Family bliss is cut short, however, when Dexter is summoned to investigate the disappearance of a seventeen-year-old girl who has been running with a bizarre group of goths who fancy themselves to be vampires. As Dexter gets closer to the truth of what happened to the missing girl, he realizes they are not really vampires so much as cannibals. And, most disturbing . . . these people have decided they would really like to eat Dexter."
Humor, action, endearing characters, and too much fun are all between the covers of this novel. I am consistently amazed at how Jeff Lindsay can get me to become emotionally connected to a serial killer and laugh the entire way. His narrative is unique, engaging and additive. Can one call what Dexter is going through duplicity, bipolar disorder or just flat out fun, who cares? I for one certainly do not. I find that the wait between novels is far too long, but hey, I feel that way about most of my favorite authors anyway. The wait was worth it; the ride was fun and all too quick, and by novels end I was wanting oh so much more. That is what next year is all about. Give Dexter and company a try, you wouldn't be disappointed by the way you killed the time; it is all good time, ha-ha .Please pass the duct tape, rope and the fillet knife if you would.
What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook & Linkedin. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; We will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

posted by GiovanniG on September 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disingenuously Dumb Dexter

We find Dexter contemplating daddyhood with the birth of his daughter, Lily Anne. As he calls up bright, happy visions of himself reading his Dear Daughter fairytales and driving her to ballet lessons, Dexter decides to exile his Dark Passenger to permanent oblivion and...
We find Dexter contemplating daddyhood with the birth of his daughter, Lily Anne. As he calls up bright, happy visions of himself reading his Dear Daughter fairytales and driving her to ballet lessons, Dexter decides to exile his Dark Passenger to permanent oblivion and embrace his budding human soul. But, the eternal struggle between the moon and the sun is fraught with peril. And condiments. The kind favored by cannibals with vampire fangs. Throw in the announced visit of an unwelcome character from his past and Desperately Dim-witted Dexter finds himself facing a similar fate as those who he himself has so gleefully dispatched to the riptides off Miami's glittering shores.

And that's what makes this book so maddening. It's hard to swallow that a serial killer with the kind of razor sharp self-preservation skills that have allowed him to kill with relative impunity for most of his life would find himself three steps behind others of his own kind. In this and in the last book, Dexter by Design, Dexter ignores every warning, every clue every "don't-go-in-there" moment flashing before him in neon glow. And for that reason, there a few surprises in the story. Even the ending is predictable. And, oh, how he does go on. And on. And on. His constant prattering starts to grate and one almost begins to hope someone will put him out of his indecisiveness soon.

I loved the first two books in this series. I can but hope that in the next book, the old Dexter will be back and he'll once again be worthy of his adversaries.

posted by nellibly on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    To say I am a fan of these novels is an understatement. I just love the writing style of Jeff Lindsay and am just amazed at the characters he has created with this story. The entire experience for me, from front cover to the back of the novel, just flat out rocks. The cover is eye catching and very colorful, for someone as simple minded as me this is a plus. I can watch a fire or an aquarium for hours; this is almost as good.
    Let me just ask this question, have you read any of the Dexter series? I offer no spoilers but below the post you will find all the covers from the novels in the series; each one is as good as the other. I don't hesitate to suggest trying one or all of them if you haven't. Just click on the cover tab and enjoy. But I digress. Here is a little bit about Dexter is Delicious:
    "Dexter Morgan has always lived a happy homicidal life. He keeps his dark urges in check by adhering to one stead­fast rule . . . he only kills very bad people. But now Dexter is experiencing some major life changes-don't we all?-and they're mostly wrapped up in the eight-pound curiosity that is his newborn daughter. Family bliss is cut short, however, when Dexter is summoned to investigate the disappearance of a seventeen-year-old girl who has been running with a bizarre group of goths who fancy themselves to be vampires. As Dexter gets closer to the truth of what happened to the missing girl, he realizes they are not really vampires so much as cannibals. And, most disturbing . . . these people have decided they would really like to eat Dexter."
    Humor, action, endearing characters, and too much fun are all between the covers of this novel. I am consistently amazed at how Jeff Lindsay can get me to become emotionally connected to a serial killer and laugh the entire way. His narrative is unique, engaging and additive. Can one call what Dexter is going through duplicity, bipolar disorder or just flat out fun, who cares? I for one certainly do not. I find that the wait between novels is far too long, but hey, I feel that way about most of my favorite authors anyway. The wait was worth it; the ride was fun and all too quick, and by novels end I was wanting oh so much more. That is what next year is all about. Give Dexter and company a try, you wouldn't be disappointed by the way you killed the time; it is all good time, ha-ha .Please pass the duct tape, rope and the fillet knife if you would.
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook & Linkedin. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; We will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
    http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Very interesting

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    A must read series!

    I had gotten behind on the series, so when I got my Nook, I caught up on them all. Such a fabulous series. I just can't put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    ...and out come the vampires.

    Dexter is Delicious is by far the best novel in the 'Dexter' series since book #2. Better than book #6 as well. I found this installment to be highly entertaining and I reccomend it to anyone who is a fan of Dexter. The plot was exciting and did not feel rushed or crunched for time like 'Dexter by Design' and 'Double Dexter' did (although I enjoyed both very much). I grant thy novel five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great

    I loved this book! I have not read any other Dexter books or the show (I do not have premium cable channels), but I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Even without any prior knowledge of the series, I was not confused by the plot. If you pay attention, then everything is explained, even if only briefly. This book is obviously part if a series, but the books are, relatively, self contained.

    The best part of this book was Dexter's dark sense of humor and the way he uses alliteration to describe himself and his emotions (i.e. Dark Dexter, Dex-Daddy, etc.). The humor in contrast to the darkness made this book fun to read, and quick to finish. And, come on, who does not want to read about teen vampire cannibals? It just goes to show that we live in a mad mad mad world.

    I will need to go back and read the rest of the Dexter book series now. Many people that know me have suggested that I read or watch Dexter. I am glad that I read this book! I pass on the recommendation if you are into: police procedurals, dark humor, and serial killers that work as a blood spatter analysts during their "day-job," then this book is for you.

    -AvidReader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Gere

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Devieshly Demented

    Definatly a must read for Dexter fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    You Gotta Love Him

    Continues to be a strong series with the most unlikely protagonist around. Can you root for a serial killer as he does his best to make sense of the "normal" world and mesh (mostly) with its social demands? I can. The more Dexter the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    BRAVO!!

    After I finished this book...I calmly closed it and placed it on my desk...I raised my hands and starting clapping! This was my favorite, so far, of all 5 books. Don't get me wrong, I have thoroughly enjoyed each book, but this one turned me into a fidgety maniac! I could not wait to see what happens. So there was a lot of slamming the book closed, squealing, then reopening to continue reading! lol I loved it! I can not believe I have to wait 21 days to get my next Dexter fix!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Love Dexter

    I am a BIG fan of Dexter on Showtime and I love the books even more! You will not be disappointed! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    DEVOTED to DEXTER! Great series.

    These book put a new and funny twist to our beloved DEXTER! Worth every penny. Love them. 5 books so far and a new one coming out later this year. Start with the first book and I promise you'll love them too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    i loved it

    i thought it was a great book. i was really excited when one character returns. ive been waiting for it to happen. and to the person who only read this book, thats like picking up the last Harry Potter book and reading only that one. start from the beginning. you will enjoy the fifth book much more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    its dexter its gotta be good

    but can someone tell me the difference between this version and the twenty five dollar hardcover other than obviously cover art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8