Customer Reviews for

Dexter by Design (Dexter Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is an amusing satirical Dexter thriller

Miami Police department forensic technician Dexter Morgan has just returned from his honeymoon with his wife Rita in Paris. However, he has no time to ease back into his role of studying blood splatter patterns. Two corpses brutalized in a way that only Dexter would a...
Miami Police department forensic technician Dexter Morgan has just returned from his honeymoon with his wife Rita in Paris. However, he has no time to ease back into his role of studying blood splatter patterns. Two corpses brutalized in a way that only Dexter would appreciate (especially the fruit "basket" designer body) have been found on the beach; a sacred part of Miami unlike the streets.

Dexter's sister Sergeant Deborah is investigating the homicides when a suspect Alex Doncevic stabs her before fleeing the scene. Dexter assumes Alex is the serial killer and murders him; not out of sibling love or loyalty but because he is an avenging angel murdering murderers. However, to his shock his homicide of Doncevic appears on You Tube while Dexter also realizes the serial killer remains free to keep playing with him.

This is an amusing satirical Dexter thriller as his latest caper is a bit more personal than usual. Although the plot is thin and the climax feels forced, Dexter and his straight foil Doakes make for a delightfully droll dark dueling duet as the serial killing technician balances a wife with his homicidal activities.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not his best

Jeff Lindsay has started to dwell a little deeper into the mind of Dexter and it gets a little tiresome at times. While his inner dialog can be amusing, sometimes it comes off as filler and detracts from the storyline.

posted by 8358025 on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Very good

    Finally, in the 4th book, we have returned to the Dexter that we grew to love in books 1&2. Book three was an anomaly. But, the fourth was full of dastardly dark Dexter delights. I do so enjoy the alliteration that Dexter uses to describe himself.

    Dexter demonstrates for (all of us) that balancing home, work and a hobby can be difficult. And, sometimes it results in a crazed serial killer artist stalking you. Dexter the hunted was a fun turn about from the usual hierarchy in these stories.

    The beginning was disturbing. I thought that the ending brought the story around full circle. The end did seem a bit rushed. It was still good, though.

    You need to have a strong stomach, and a dark sense of humor to enjoy this installment in the Dexter series. I recommend it.

    -AvidReader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Really good

    I really enjoyed this one. Jennifers leg was weird, but interesting beginning to the novel. Good job Mr. Lindsay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Quick and fun read.

    Dexter is not for the feint of heart, but Jeff LIndsay still manages to make Dexter likable. The book is definitely darker than the series, but there are also some elements that are funny (not laugh out loud funny, more smirk funny). Dexter's relationship with his sister in the book is more interesting than in the TV series. More complex. This is definitely a worthwhile series to check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Different from the others

    Dexter wasn't comfortable in his skin in this book but it was very good. Read it in a day. I had to know what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    Dexter by Design

    Dexter by Design is one of Jeff Lindsay's masterpieces that left me wondering what will happen next. Through out the book, it explains the different aspects of Dexter's personality.
    After coming from a honeymoon in Paris, Dexter Morgan is welcomed back to Miami by a series of grotesque murders and a sister who recently found out what he truly is.
    One major thing the book contained was a series of plot twists that kept the reader guessing, which is one element of all authors should have in their arsenal when writing. Also it stuck to the aspect in which, Dexter is figuring out how to live in society. Although it had a good story line and plot, it dragged on at some parts.
    Over all Dexter By Design was a good read and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoies murder mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love Dexter!

    The fourth entry in the Dexter series finds Dexter juggling his job, his family, and his "hobby" in hs quest to have it all. The characters are entertaining and offbeat. The plot, although somewhat predictable, ends with a surprise that will add another layer to the family dynamics. Dexter is a charmer, it's always a treat to see into his twisted world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Not quite the same as the original

    I absolutely LOVE Dexter. He is quirky and funny and makes me laugh. Jeff Lindsay has created a serial killer that is easy to root for. I couldn't wait for this fourth installment to come out but, I was a little disappointed in the end. I struggled a bit to get through the last half. It just didn't seem to hold my attention at that anticipatory high like the first two did. Over all I did enjoy it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dexter is always entertaining.

    I have read all these books but this one is a bit slow. And it's disappointing to read newly released books that are behind the tv series. But the Dexter books are always good and worth the read. Especially if you like dark humor and darker context!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A welcome return of Dear Dark Dexter

    Jeff Lindsay returns to form with this well written foray into the depths of Miami with out favorite serial killer, Dexter. After a somewhat disappointing third installment, Dexter is back to true form with an engaging story, dark humor and plenty of blood to go around. The dialogue between Dexter and the world around him is just as sharp as ever. His inner monologue is the real draw because you get to see his mask and dark persona at the same time and the contrasts are doubly humorous and stimulating. The story moves along at a decent pace by divulging certain points while not giving away too much as to where the path will lead. Recurring characters (Vince, Deb, Doakes, Cody + Astor) add nice touches and familiar nuances to the overall dynamic with some new friends/threats? introduced. The violence/gore is well visualized and eye opening with details that produce some grisly images. Story doesn't linger and keeps the reader hungry for more as to Dexter's fate in the scheme of things. A drawback was that Dexter didn't have too many "playmates" this go around but makes up for it in other areas. Overall; a very solid enjoyable entry in the Dexter cannon with the usual humor, intensity, cunning and intelligence expected from disturbingly demented but endearing Dexter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dexter's Back and Better Than Ever!!

    I'm a fan of Jeff Lindsay's Dexter books, but I've only seen a couple of the episodes on TV, at the beginning of the series. I don't know why I never watched them again, the few I saw were pretty good, I just never got around to it. So I can't say how the series compares to the show. I had a lot of misgivings about this particular book before I read it. I thought that there was a good chance the author, having found success in Hollywood would have begun to write screenplays instead of books. And when that happens, it seems like the books really suffer. No worries here though, this book is probably the best in the series.

    I really enjoy how Dexter seems more real in his "human disguise" than ever before, and we are often left to wonder, "Is Dexter still the complete monster he thinks he is?" Feelings of loyalty and even affection seem to pop up, which bemuses Dexter often as emotions he doesn't recognize. His humor is as intact as ever and although some readers might find the frequent self-directed witticisms a bit much, I thought they added to the book. Although I did get some odd glances while sitting in a waiting room, reading a book with blood splattered cover art, and snickering out loud.

    Dexter by Design is a funny, black-humored book, with some gruesome stuff thrown in. But, it's Dexter for heaven's sake, of course there has to be some "ewwww" in there somewhere. Once you get past the whole "serial killer as the hero of the story" part, the whole series is a lot of fun to read. But Dexter by Design stands out, I think, as the best so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4