Customer Reviews for

Dexter in the Dark (Dexter Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found t

I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found this book fairly entertaining but with flaws here and there and a few that may understandably have cost a reader their liking. The overall plot of the sacrificial killings and whatnot is entertaining but the...
I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found this book fairly entertaining but with flaws here and there and a few that may understandably have cost a reader their liking. The overall plot of the sacrificial killings and whatnot is entertaining but the sidestories that stick out horrendously like the whole thing with Cody and Astor's seemingly extreme need to kill. I mean seriously Jeff? They're like what, 6 years old..? They got smacked around by their junkie father when they were really young and now they need to kill because of it?? Okay, lets say for a moment that a drunken guy popped his wife and kids a couple times, which I am fully aware happens in reality. But what are the odds that those two children would BOTH become psychopathic and somehow understand their desperate blood lust? Let me again remind you that these kids are practically toddlers more or less. They even somehow snatch the neighbors cat and tie it down in an attempted dissembowlement before Rita catches them. I found that whole thing totally rediculous and was glad too see that Jeff Lindsay toned that nonsense down in the following three books. Having ranted enough about the Darkly Demented Duo, I'd also like to comment on the whole 'Dexter's DP is a son of Moloch' thing. With this one it was hard to tell exactly what Jeff Lindsay wanted us to believe was going on. I, as did many others, got the impression that he was trying to convince us that Dexter's Dark Passenger is some spiritual descendant of an ancient god which seems totally rediculous. I mean really, he had a great story about how Dexter's DP came to be so why mess it up with this True Blood nonsense? The whole thing where Dexter becomes hypnotized every time he hears the trumpet onsamble is just plain corny. In fact the whole book is written as though it was meant to be a comic book (which would be pretty cool).
Although I ranted quite a bit about the shortcomings and plotholes of the book, I would also like to point out the strong points and interesting bits. This is after all, a Dexter book, therefore it still has its usual elements of humor, violence, and, well, Dexter. The story involving Dexter's engagement is amusing as well as the sidestory with Masuoka and the Mtv guy plus you get the obligatory 300 pages of witty dialogue from Dex that you miss out on by not reading this book.
So overall I'd say that if you are a Dexter fan you'll enjoy reading Dexter in the Dark despite its rather corny sideplots and implications. Also by not reading you miss out on a chunk of Dexter that you won't get anywhere else. Buy it or rent it for yourself and formulate your own opinion, don't just go by what the reviews say.

posted by 15466839 on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dreary Disappointed Dexter

Ok I LOVED the first Dexter book, read it in 2 days and ran out for the second one immediately. Loving that one as well I just couldn't wait for the third to come out in paperback so I bought it in hardcover just to get as much of a Dexter fix as I can, and it felt lik...
Ok I LOVED the first Dexter book, read it in 2 days and ran out for the second one immediately. Loving that one as well I just couldn't wait for the third to come out in paperback so I bought it in hardcover just to get as much of a Dexter fix as I can, and it felt like I was reading Dexter written by another author. The usual sharp wit and humor that made me laugh out loud in the first two was practically non existent in this one, not to mention the plot was just so far fetched to me that I was forcing myself to even finish the book. I sat there saying to myself 'I can't believe I care so little for reading this story when the first ones were so amazing and different from anything else I've been reading'. If I were you, I'd not spoil the greatness of Dexter by reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    Dreary Disappointed Dexter

    Ok I LOVED the first Dexter book, read it in 2 days and ran out for the second one immediately. Loving that one as well I just couldn't wait for the third to come out in paperback so I bought it in hardcover just to get as much of a Dexter fix as I can, and it felt like I was reading Dexter written by another author. The usual sharp wit and humor that made me laugh out loud in the first two was practically non existent in this one, not to mention the plot was just so far fetched to me that I was forcing myself to even finish the book. I sat there saying to myself 'I can't believe I care so little for reading this story when the first ones were so amazing and different from anything else I've been reading'. If I were you, I'd not spoil the greatness of Dexter by reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found t

    I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found this book fairly entertaining but with flaws here and there and a few that may understandably have cost a reader their liking. The overall plot of the sacrificial killings and whatnot is entertaining but the sidestories that stick out horrendously like the whole thing with Cody and Astor's seemingly extreme need to kill. I mean seriously Jeff? They're like what, 6 years old..? They got smacked around by their junkie father when they were really young and now they need to kill because of it?? Okay, lets say for a moment that a drunken guy popped his wife and kids a couple times, which I am fully aware happens in reality. But what are the odds that those two children would BOTH become psychopathic and somehow understand their desperate blood lust? Let me again remind you that these kids are practically toddlers more or less. They even somehow snatch the neighbors cat and tie it down in an attempted dissembowlement before Rita catches them. I found that whole thing totally rediculous and was glad too see that Jeff Lindsay toned that nonsense down in the following three books. Having ranted enough about the Darkly Demented Duo, I'd also like to comment on the whole 'Dexter's DP is a son of Moloch' thing. With this one it was hard to tell exactly what Jeff Lindsay wanted us to believe was going on. I, as did many others, got the impression that he was trying to convince us that Dexter's Dark Passenger is some spiritual descendant of an ancient god which seems totally rediculous. I mean really, he had a great story about how Dexter's DP came to be so why mess it up with this True Blood nonsense? The whole thing where Dexter becomes hypnotized every time he hears the trumpet onsamble is just plain corny. In fact the whole book is written as though it was meant to be a comic book (which would be pretty cool).
    Although I ranted quite a bit about the shortcomings and plotholes of the book, I would also like to point out the strong points and interesting bits. This is after all, a Dexter book, therefore it still has its usual elements of humor, violence, and, well, Dexter. The story involving Dexter's engagement is amusing as well as the sidestory with Masuoka and the Mtv guy plus you get the obligatory 300 pages of witty dialogue from Dex that you miss out on by not reading this book.
    So overall I'd say that if you are a Dexter fan you'll enjoy reading Dexter in the Dark despite its rather corny sideplots and implications. Also by not reading you miss out on a chunk of Dexter that you won't get anywhere else. Buy it or rent it for yourself and formulate your own opinion, don't just go by what the reviews say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Not my favorite book

    This third book in the Dexter series did not fit in well with the first two novels. As a result, I did not like this book as much as the previous two volumes.

    This storyline was more about Dexter going about his daily life, (forensics, helping his sister, mentoring the kids, and planning his wedding to Rita) all while he is lost among his "genuine" human feelings without his dark passenger to guide him. Not to mention that someone wants to dispose of Dexter. A change in the pecking order can be fun. But, it was too long. It just did not work well in this format.

    The entire volume lacked the customary dark humor combined with disturbing scenes that made the other books so enjoyable and quick to read. This third book should have been an on-the-side novella or short story to explain how his life would be without a dark passenger, and where It came from.

    Additionally, the constant point of view (i.e. pov) changes were seemingly random. The strange placement of the alternate povs served only to disrupt the continuity of a book that was not great to begin with.

    I liked that this book started out the way that they all do. An introduction by way of murder seems to work for these books. I also appreciated that he is teaching Astor and Cody about the "Harry Code". The kids need to get "squared away" before something terrible happens to them due to their own inexperience. The ending was good. It tied up some loose ends which is always appreciated by readers.

    A reader could skip this book, and not miss out on much. It would be better if all of the mismatched subplots were contained in a bonus volume, or in an anthology setting.

    For example, Dexter's wedding planning and subsequent ceremony would have been a good side story. Another extra story could explain how the first dark passenger originated and multiplied. It could even have been combined with the cult's history in a crossover episode.

    Book three was too disjointed to enjoy thoroughly. I felt like I was reading multiple short stories that were jumbled together and then published, rather than the quality full length Dexter novel that I have grown to love. The recurring pov changes were totally frustrating. There were several interesting plotlines in this third Dexter book, but they just did not mesh well together.

    -AvidReader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definately Different Dexter

    This is the 3rd book in the Dexter series. I went into the book with an open mind after reading some reviews. I actually liked the book. It's different. Yes it seems that Dexter may have lost some of his wit and charisma in this book, but I chalk that up to the part of Dexter that's absent through out most of the book. This isn't your regular Dexter book, it's more of a supernatural murder mystery, and that's not a bad thing. Go into this book knowing that it's different and there are changes that happen to his personality and you'll enjoy it. If you're looking for more of how Dexter was in Books 1 & 2, stay away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Love it

    They just keep getting better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    If you love the TV Series, you will LOVE the books.

    The TV series is loosely based on these books, but there is soooo much more here. And very different!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Guess wat my name is

    Hello guess who i am :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    good...

    ... but not as good as the second one. it gets a bit confusing a few times though, but the deeper i get into the book series the more i think showtime should of taken more from the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Let down

    This novel is designed to give the reader more insight into Dexter's Dark Passenger but in doing so wanders away from the thriller genre and land somewhere near fantasy/sci-fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Awesome!

    Definitely a must read! Highly recommend, especially if you like the previous books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Good third book in the series.

    I really enjoyed this one. I really like how the tv series and the book series are different. One thing i really find enjoyable is that Aster and Cody are much much more interesting in the books than the tv show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Just ok o Just ok for this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    it was a fantastic book i have been reading the series for a little over a month now, and i would highly recommend to any avid reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    What?

    I think you people with your bad reviews watched the tv show first and are judging the books harshly as it does not follow with the series word for word! I have wathced the tv series, but I can appreciate where Dexter came from! The book is a whole different world than that of which showtime has painted. I read all these bad reviews (not just on this series, but other books as well) and sometimes I wonder what people read...if they read the book at all! Maybe just part time readers...although they claim to be avid readers. I throw the penalty flag at you!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly Recommended

    This is THE scariest Dexter I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the 2nd book.

    Without me telling the story I just didn't agree with certain aspects of it. The whole situation with Cody and Astor, it went to fast.. I mean darn, the kids already know what Dexter is. Dexter is still dreamy and very poetic.. and still very, very dark but seems to be missing his passenger this time around. That was awesome. I was able to see Dexter in his not so confident air..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Lindsay explores Dexter's dark passenger like never before. You get to learn more about his mysterious passenger as Dexter tries to find out about it for himself. Truly fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining, but VERY slow paced

    This was probably the most boring of the first three books in this series. The plot is very slow paced and most of it consists of Dex's rambling internal monolgue. I have heard others say that Dex can be whiney at times and in this book he is more than a little annoying. Took effort for me to get through this one, but did enjoy the murder mystery and getting to see how Dex himself handles fear that he so willingly instills in his own victims...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Quick and fun read

    The whole spiritual element did not bother me as it did some others, I read some reviews that made it sound like this book went off the deep end. I really didnt feel this was the case

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Read this book

    This is a great story of the Dark Dexter, a dark hero. It may have some content that some readers don't like but i didn't find it a problem. The Molek theme is a good as any for a story about killers doing their terrible work of murder. I like the story, Lindsay is great at writing the story of Dexter and how he survives in the world under the code taught his by his foster father, Harry Morgan. I like the how the story in told in Dexter's voice and in his unique view of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16