Customer Reviews for

Dexter in the Dark (Dexter Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found t

I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found this book fairly entertaining but with flaws here and there and a few that may understandably have cost a reader their liking. The overall plot of the sacrificial killings and whatnot is entertaining but the...
I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found this book fairly entertaining but with flaws here and there and a few that may understandably have cost a reader their liking. The overall plot of the sacrificial killings and whatnot is entertaining but the sidestories that stick out horrendously like the whole thing with Cody and Astor's seemingly extreme need to kill. I mean seriously Jeff? They're like what, 6 years old..? They got smacked around by their junkie father when they were really young and now they need to kill because of it?? Okay, lets say for a moment that a drunken guy popped his wife and kids a couple times, which I am fully aware happens in reality. But what are the odds that those two children would BOTH become psychopathic and somehow understand their desperate blood lust? Let me again remind you that these kids are practically toddlers more or less. They even somehow snatch the neighbors cat and tie it down in an attempted dissembowlement before Rita catches them. I found that whole thing totally rediculous and was glad too see that Jeff Lindsay toned that nonsense down in the following three books. Having ranted enough about the Darkly Demented Duo, I'd also like to comment on the whole 'Dexter's DP is a son of Moloch' thing. With this one it was hard to tell exactly what Jeff Lindsay wanted us to believe was going on. I, as did many others, got the impression that he was trying to convince us that Dexter's Dark Passenger is some spiritual descendant of an ancient god which seems totally rediculous. I mean really, he had a great story about how Dexter's DP came to be so why mess it up with this True Blood nonsense? The whole thing where Dexter becomes hypnotized every time he hears the trumpet onsamble is just plain corny. In fact the whole book is written as though it was meant to be a comic book (which would be pretty cool).
Although I ranted quite a bit about the shortcomings and plotholes of the book, I would also like to point out the strong points and interesting bits. This is after all, a Dexter book, therefore it still has its usual elements of humor, violence, and, well, Dexter. The story involving Dexter's engagement is amusing as well as the sidestory with Masuoka and the Mtv guy plus you get the obligatory 300 pages of witty dialogue from Dex that you miss out on by not reading this book.
So overall I'd say that if you are a Dexter fan you'll enjoy reading Dexter in the Dark despite its rather corny sideplots and implications. Also by not reading you miss out on a chunk of Dexter that you won't get anywhere else. Buy it or rent it for yourself and formulate your own opinion, don't just go by what the reviews say.

posted by 15466839 on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dreary Disappointed Dexter

Ok I LOVED the first Dexter book, read it in 2 days and ran out for the second one immediately. Loving that one as well I just couldn't wait for the third to come out in paperback so I bought it in hardcover just to get as much of a Dexter fix as I can, and it felt lik...
Ok I LOVED the first Dexter book, read it in 2 days and ran out for the second one immediately. Loving that one as well I just couldn't wait for the third to come out in paperback so I bought it in hardcover just to get as much of a Dexter fix as I can, and it felt like I was reading Dexter written by another author. The usual sharp wit and humor that made me laugh out loud in the first two was practically non existent in this one, not to mention the plot was just so far fetched to me that I was forcing myself to even finish the book. I sat there saying to myself 'I can't believe I care so little for reading this story when the first ones were so amazing and different from anything else I've been reading'. If I were you, I'd not spoil the greatness of Dexter by reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    Dreary Disappointed Dexter

    Ok I LOVED the first Dexter book, read it in 2 days and ran out for the second one immediately. Loving that one as well I just couldn't wait for the third to come out in paperback so I bought it in hardcover just to get as much of a Dexter fix as I can, and it felt like I was reading Dexter written by another author. The usual sharp wit and humor that made me laugh out loud in the first two was practically non existent in this one, not to mention the plot was just so far fetched to me that I was forcing myself to even finish the book. I sat there saying to myself 'I can't believe I care so little for reading this story when the first ones were so amazing and different from anything else I've been reading'. If I were you, I'd not spoil the greatness of Dexter by reading this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Let down

    This novel is designed to give the reader more insight into Dexter's Dark Passenger but in doing so wanders away from the thriller genre and land somewhere near fantasy/sci-fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Just ok o Just ok for this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    Pass On This One...

    This book is nothing like the others. Supernatural and other wordly makes the dark passenger aspect / person seem weak. Basically says that w/out this spirit Dexter is normal, nothing different. The only thing from this book that seems to have an importance for the fture is (***spoiler alert***)Cody killing a person for the first time.
    I hope the author does not go this route in the future, it was distracting from the series. Did not enjoy this book at all. If you just have to read it, it's a quick read. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Where Dexter should have stayed in the dark

    Reviews of this book have been highly critical for a good reason. It completely departs from the style of the other books, and goes supernatural. We are also given a perspective of the thoughts of the dark god (parent of Dexter's Dark Passenger, essentially), eventually identified as Molok/Moloch (a Phoenecian deity, commonly referred to as Ba'al, although Ba'al is actually a titled held by multiple deities). Dexter worked well being set in the real world, and going off in this direction left a bad taste in my mouth. Ignoring that aspect of it, I still found it enjoyable enough. As a huge fan of the tv show that is based on the first book, the supernatural aspect is almost unforgivable. Thankfully, by the fourth book Lindsay is back on track (only obliquely mentioning the supernatural aspects of the third book). Although I did really like the aspect of him becoming a target due to whom he kills, not knowing his dark connections.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Stick to the Showtime series

    It's rare for me to feel this way, but this is a case of the TV show being better, in fact MUCH better, than the book. While the first season of "Dexter" stayed pretty close to the the first book, "Darkly Dreaming Dexter", the subsequent two seasons have gone further and further away from the novels...to their credit.

    The second book "Dearly Devoted Dexter" is OK, and for "Dexterphiles" is certainly worth the price of admission. But this third book "Dexter in the Dark" is really pretty bad. It has Dexter being chased by the spirit of an ancient god, Moloch, who shows up by possessing people who already have "dark" inclinations. I thought it was really rather ludicrous, and it was a big disappointment, as I love all things "Dexter". Or at least I thought I did. Save your money and put it toward purchasing Season 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Don't Waste your Time

    This book is the worse book of the series. If you enjoy the show or the other books, you will be disappointed in this one. Dexter is not Dexter in this book, it is almost as if this does not belong in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Dexter caused Insomnia

    ok, so I love Dexter. I mean I love the tv series, I read the two books and I was dying to read the third so I bought it in hard cover, thinking it would be worth the buy. Let me just say I woke up this morning finding myself feeling deeply disturbed by the ending, I spent half the night tossing and turning, that's how bad it was. I heard myself think, what happened? This book is too spiritual. I mean I thought it was a great direction, where did the dark passenger come from but....Never would I have taken the religious avenue as being the last conclusion. I think you should give the first two a read and leave it at that. I was sadden by this. sniffle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Dexter dies Early

    By far the worst of the three books...If anyone has seen FALLEN, then you can guess where this book is headed...Interesting beginning, which discusses the origin of 'THE DARK PASSENGER.' However, the book is repetive and the ending is a let down....Very disappointed with this novel. Loved the first one, enjoyed the second, and hated the third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    Third time is not the charm

    I was disappointed in this third book, it was not nearly as enjoyable a read as his first two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    The first two books in the Dexter series are FABULOUS. They are very fun and easy to read, in fact, hard to put down - but the third? Hard to pick up, in fact half way thru I decided it wasn't worth my time, way too boring and into excruciating detail about where the Dark Passenger came from. Who cares? Don't ruin it for us with these painful details! We don't need them! Yikes! I was sooooo disappointed in this book! DEFINATELY enjoy the first two, but skip this one. It was like it had been written by a different author or something! Mr. Lindsay - please, back to your original writings!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2