Customer Reviews for

Dexter in the Dark (Dexter Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found t

I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found this book fairly entertaining but with flaws here and there and a few that may understandably have cost a reader their liking. The overall plot of the sacrificial killings and whatnot is entertaining but the...
I'm gonna start off this review by saying that I overall found this book fairly entertaining but with flaws here and there and a few that may understandably have cost a reader their liking. The overall plot of the sacrificial killings and whatnot is entertaining but the sidestories that stick out horrendously like the whole thing with Cody and Astor's seemingly extreme need to kill. I mean seriously Jeff? They're like what, 6 years old..? They got smacked around by their junkie father when they were really young and now they need to kill because of it?? Okay, lets say for a moment that a drunken guy popped his wife and kids a couple times, which I am fully aware happens in reality. But what are the odds that those two children would BOTH become psychopathic and somehow understand their desperate blood lust? Let me again remind you that these kids are practically toddlers more or less. They even somehow snatch the neighbors cat and tie it down in an attempted dissembowlement before Rita catches them. I found that whole thing totally rediculous and was glad too see that Jeff Lindsay toned that nonsense down in the following three books. Having ranted enough about the Darkly Demented Duo, I'd also like to comment on the whole 'Dexter's DP is a son of Moloch' thing. With this one it was hard to tell exactly what Jeff Lindsay wanted us to believe was going on. I, as did many others, got the impression that he was trying to convince us that Dexter's Dark Passenger is some spiritual descendant of an ancient god which seems totally rediculous. I mean really, he had a great story about how Dexter's DP came to be so why mess it up with this True Blood nonsense? The whole thing where Dexter becomes hypnotized every time he hears the trumpet onsamble is just plain corny. In fact the whole book is written as though it was meant to be a comic book (which would be pretty cool).
Although I ranted quite a bit about the shortcomings and plotholes of the book, I would also like to point out the strong points and interesting bits. This is after all, a Dexter book, therefore it still has its usual elements of humor, violence, and, well, Dexter. The story involving Dexter's engagement is amusing as well as the sidestory with Masuoka and the Mtv guy plus you get the obligatory 300 pages of witty dialogue from Dex that you miss out on by not reading this book.
So overall I'd say that if you are a Dexter fan you'll enjoy reading Dexter in the Dark despite its rather corny sideplots and implications. Also by not reading you miss out on a chunk of Dexter that you won't get anywhere else. Buy it or rent it for yourself and formulate your own opinion, don't just go by what the reviews say.

posted by 15466839 on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dreary Disappointed Dexter

Ok I LOVED the first Dexter book, read it in 2 days and ran out for the second one immediately. Loving that one as well I just couldn't wait for the third to come out in paperback so I bought it in hardcover just to get as much of a Dexter fix as I can, and it felt lik...
Ok I LOVED the first Dexter book, read it in 2 days and ran out for the second one immediately. Loving that one as well I just couldn't wait for the third to come out in paperback so I bought it in hardcover just to get as much of a Dexter fix as I can, and it felt like I was reading Dexter written by another author. The usual sharp wit and humor that made me laugh out loud in the first two was practically non existent in this one, not to mention the plot was just so far fetched to me that I was forcing myself to even finish the book. I sat there saying to myself 'I can't believe I care so little for reading this story when the first ones were so amazing and different from anything else I've been reading'. If I were you, I'd not spoil the greatness of Dexter by reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Love it

    They just keep getting better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    If you love the TV Series, you will LOVE the books.

    The TV series is loosely based on these books, but there is soooo much more here. And very different!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Guess wat my name is

    Hello guess who i am :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    it was a fantastic book i have been reading the series for a little over a month now, and i would highly recommend to any avid reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    What?

    I think you people with your bad reviews watched the tv show first and are judging the books harshly as it does not follow with the series word for word! I have wathced the tv series, but I can appreciate where Dexter came from! The book is a whole different world than that of which showtime has painted. I read all these bad reviews (not just on this series, but other books as well) and sometimes I wonder what people read...if they read the book at all! Maybe just part time readers...although they claim to be avid readers. I throw the penalty flag at you!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly Recommended

    This is THE scariest Dexter I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Quick and fun read

    The whole spiritual element did not bother me as it did some others, I read some reviews that made it sound like this book went off the deep end. I really didnt feel this was the case

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Read this book

    This is a great story of the Dark Dexter, a dark hero. It may have some content that some readers don't like but i didn't find it a problem. The Molek theme is a good as any for a story about killers doing their terrible work of murder. I like the story, Lindsay is great at writing the story of Dexter and how he survives in the world under the code taught his by his foster father, Harry Morgan. I like the how the story in told in Dexter's voice and in his unique view of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Keeps you reading until you finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Dexter series

    If you like smart, funny writing...these are the books for you. Fast reads....leaves you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    Dexter In The Dark is hard to put down!

    I really enjoyed this book, as Jeff Lindsay keeps you guessing! The T.V. show plots are based on his writing, but so different, which is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    MY FAVORITE SERIAL KILLER!

    I have been watching the Showtime series of "Dexter" from the first airing and was enthralled by his character. I decided to read the original book the series is based upon; and low and behold I found there was more than one- with the latest one being released in a few weeks. Well, I snapped up the existing ones and Pre-ordered the newest and had a field day reading straight through them from beginning to end. These books are monstrously good reading and even made me laugh out loud a few times (I have a perverse sense of humor sometimes). The story line is great throughout but, if you are expecting these books to follow the show, you're in for a big surprise. The books and television series are just different enough to keep you wanting both. If you aren't adverse to some descriptive murder scenes or if you aren't a fan of Dexter to begin with, then stay away from the books. They aren't exactly gory but do get somewhat into detail. Above all else, these books are actually easy reading. If you are a fast reader, you can wiz through one in an afternoon or evening. Personally, I can't wait to see if another book will be coming out. I hope you enjoy these books as much as I do...they are so worth the time you spend reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    A roller coaster of laughter and demonology!

    Lindsay is definitely one of my favorite authors. His writing style is intellectual, and extremely creative. He has a sadistic and playful way to describe the psychopath, and he'll keep you laughing out loud on every page.

    This book will keep you thinking about it all day and night, which is what you want when you're reading a book! Lindsay takes you on a ride in the drivers seat of a psychopath. For the first time (unless you're psycho) you get a playful look from a killers perspective, that will transform your sense of humor.

    I'd recommend this to any adult with an open mind and a sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite of the Dexter Series

    This was definately my favorite of the Dexter series. At times it was confusing, but overall the best plot out of all three. I recommend reading this series to anyone who likes the Showtime series, but the tv show does not stay true to all the events of the book series, not at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    So Good I Took It To Work To Finish Reading!

    This Dexter was awesome! I couldn't put it down! Although I think that the end was a bit of a disappointment after the huge build up I have to say that it didn't take away from the whole. The other two were great but watching Dexter come unglued was a treat. I hate that I love this character. I just know it's wrong! I laughed so hard at some of Dexter's comments that I had tears in my eyes. The entire time I was reading I couldn't wait to get to the end but I hated getting there. This is one great read! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent police procedural fantasy

    Miami crime scene investigative cop Dexter Morgan uses his policing skills to solve cases and to hide the evidence of his being a serial killer who heeds his Dark Passenger voice inside him to kill someone although he limits his victims to those he deems evil. His current official assignment is to investigate the gruesome crime scene of a double homicide at the University of Miami. The two female students were burned and beheaded in what seems like a ritual killing. However, Dexter, who is the best CSI in MPD, seems to fumble the inquiry. He knows why he struggles his Dark Passenger recognized something in the vicious murders that sent the creature into some hiding hell hole from even Dexter. The Dark Passenger is actually the brains behind Dexter¿s incredible rate of solving cases. With only donut power to sustain him, Dexter must solve the ritual coed murders and try to figure out just what is the Dark Passenger as Dexter feels in the dark on the case and a bit alone without his mental companion. --- The third Dexter Morgan entry is much different in tone than his previous appearances in DARKLY DEVOTED DEXTER and DARKLY DREAMING DEXTER as the serial killing CSI is more pensive since he is alone. His fascinating thought processes are his own as he reflects on the murders, his own self worth, and his vanished ¿partner¿ as opposed to the witty schizoid-like dialogue with his ¿partner¿. This switch, still graveyard humorous, keeps the Dexter tales fresh as the hero works a case while feeling alone without his Dark Passenger providing him with ghoulish insights into life and death. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7