Customer Reviews for

The Dharma Bums: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    A Great Book On Zen & Adventure.

    I read Kerouac¿s novel The Dharma Bums & I must say I liked it very much! The story is about two young men as they set out in search of truth. They are Ray Smith and Japhy Ryder (Jack Kerouac & Gary Snyder). These two meet up in San Francisco, California at Berkeley. They attend a bohemia party and poetry jamming (The Gallery Six Reading). This was the beat generation of the 50s & 60s. Japhy Ryder liked reading Zen books such as Diamond Sutra and also works by D.T.Suzuki. He was seeking his Bodhisattvas in everyone he met. Japhy would often quote Buddha: (¿All life is suffering'.) Their goal was to climb Desolation Peak. The solitude was their Satori. Dharma Bums is a great story of adventurer. I also recommend On The Road by Jack Kerouac as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Yes.

    "The taste of rain, why kneel?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Wonderful

    A totally enchanting book! My favorite of all the Kerouac books that I have read. A great story, beautifully written. A must read for anyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    His best

    I liked this book so much better than ON THE ROAD, which I did like, but thought it rambled a bit. DHARMA BUMS is by far the best thing Kerouac has written and it should be receiving a wider audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    blown away, a life changer

    This book changed my life. Im in highschool and i finished 'on the road' half satisfied. I decided to give his writing another shot, so I picked thi one up, because it looked overall interesting. let me tell you that it was, like the title says a life changer. I started to drink tea and go by other eastern religious things because of this book, and it gave me a new perspective on life, and nature. great one kerouac, God Bless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Lana Renwick

    This book is Kerouac's best. Finer than On the Road, finer than Mexico City Blues, and certainly finer than Desolation Angels, which is godawful. This book is a culmination of all things Kerouac, endowed with that vibrant insatiable energy for absorbing all life's inscrutable heights and abysses, conflated with the oft naive but galvanizing Buddhist strivings of his 20s. The prose is also more precise and richer than On the Road, without losing any of its rambling spontaneity. The conclusion is bittersweet and bouyant and awe-inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Were we ever really this innocent?

    When I reread this book after so many years I found myself wondering if we were ever really like this. The innocence, the lack of pretention, the sincerity - it is so totally alien from what this society has become. Sure Jack Kerouac had his problems with booze and relationships, but at his core there was somehow this absolutely blinding glare of innocent purity. Here was a man whose primary concerns were always the meaning of life, the nature of god, the suffering of innocents, whether he was boozing it up in a bar, hopping a freight, or hold up in a look-out cabin on top of a mountain. Jack Kerouac was a true poet in a world were poetry was in abysmal decline both before and after. Jack Kerouac's life was a spontaneous living poem- the dionysian poem of the living holy fool. This is my favorite of all Kerouac's novels. I've had people comment about how I must have patterned a huge part of my early life on this book. I remember thinking so too, except all my wandering and wondering took place before I even heard of Jack or his books....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Beautiful, bluntly

    This is my favorite book. Absolutely amazing. Every time I've read this it has changed my life for the better, has given me a clearer perspective on everything and reaffirmed my faith in existence. Read it, love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    A Book I will re-read many times

    Just halfway through my first read ever and I know I will be living with this book like a soul tattoo. Kerouac's prose burns so beautifully, leaving impressions that return in my dreams. Sad funny mystical dark brightness shimmer looking searching aching... I do not want this book to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2001

    'The Dharma Bums' sheds optimistic light on idealism

    When I read 'The Dharma Bums' for the first time I became less ashamed of my idealistic view of the world and how things should be. Jack Karouac as an almost middle-aged man sought out to find the true meaning, showing that not everyone becomes bitter and reluctant toward change as they age. His account of the events and experiences he had on the way to finding true peace makes you feel restless to find the same. I found myself being almost too restless to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2001

    DHARMA BUMS rivals ON THE ROAD for Kerouac's best

    The Dharma Bums is yet another classic Kerouac novel. It takes the reader into the mountains and through the buddist side of Kerouac's complex brain. In no way is he preaching Buddism he is just narrating one of the craziest chapters of his amazing life. Personally I thought it was more captivating and fun than On The Road his most famous novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2001

    JOIN THE REVOLUTION

    The most inspirational book i have ever read. I want to quit school, buy a pack...and go to the mountains. i am fascinated with his writing style..runnons and whatnot..but makes for a great pondering session. i wanna go do everything he did...now. JOIN THE RUCKSACK REVOLUTION DOWN WITH BOURJIOUS AMERICA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2001

    almost as inspiring as on the road

    there isn't much i can say about the book, like _on the road_ you almost have to read it yourself. but it is inspiring--it moves you, opens you. it leaves me speechless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    Delve into the Beat Generation

    I had read On the Road years ealier and raved about the inner workings of Kerouac. Unfortunately, I rave upon deaf ears; people have largely forgotten one of America's greatest poets, authors. At the onset, I found the read a bit difficult, because of Kerouac's free structure. Sentences run on and combine several ideas that I wanted to soak in fully. I read at a snail's pace, continually referencing the net to gain background information on the important characters. In fact, I had never heard of Gary Snyder prior to learning of Japhy Ryder. Now I am off on another journey to study his life and work. On a deeper note, this is a work that makes you want to abandon the life you life to take part in the rucksack revolution. I want nothing more than to abandon my Army enlistment to board a the Midnight Ghost; to find myself the way Kerouac tried to. I won't become a drunk that died in self-induced obscurity and repose, though. Read the Dharma bums, and understand the ideas, the concepts conveyed with each page. This is a novel chock full of information, and shouldn't be quickly perused, but savored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    inspirational

    made me want to go out and do something. anything at all.... everything...... and then do nothing...... find myself......... be myself.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    Kerouac

    I sat down and read the book in the course of a single day. It was powerful and interesting. Speaking both the the heart and common sensibilities. Endowed with humor and transcendental wisdom. Read and enjoy. Dan Reed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3