BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dharma Punx: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read for the Religously Ignorant

I am skeptical when it comes to religous books, and religion for that matter. However Mr. Levine shows the reader his transition from where many of the youth lie today to the ideal person he is trying to be in society. I love how he goes back and forth from his bad punk...
I am skeptical when it comes to religous books, and religion for that matter. However Mr. Levine shows the reader his transition from where many of the youth lie today to the ideal person he is trying to be in society. I love how he goes back and forth from his bad punk rock ways to the path of buddhism. His emotional tug of war is an intresting perspective to consider. It shows the reader that he is just as human and skeptical as we all are. And that there is hope for those who are all 'dead'. I would definatly recomend it to anyone who is skeptical about religion or likes punk rock

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Zen and the Art of Moped Repair

If awakening is a path, Noah is hacking his way through a dense jungle. He crosses the path a few times, but never actually follows it. His machete of an ego and sense of self is sharp and hard, it cuts deep into all that get into his path. It may not be wise to follow ...
If awakening is a path, Noah is hacking his way through a dense jungle. He crosses the path a few times, but never actually follows it. His machete of an ego and sense of self is sharp and hard, it cuts deep into all that get into his path. It may not be wise to follow the trail he blazes, as it seems to go in circles. This book is a struggle to read and almost impossible to motivate yourself to finish. I wouldn't say it's a waste of time. Even though, Noah never seems to learn anything himself during his adventures. You can learn a great deal, from his vast collections of wrong turns, which make up this book from beginning to end. The author may miss the point over and over, the reader doesn't have to. Do I recommend reading this? Not really. If you do read it, just realize it is a 'memoir'. It says so right on the cover. Don't expect from the use of 'Dharma' in the title that it will impart any knowledge of reaching awakening. Be somewhat like expecting 'Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance' to instruct you in fixing a motorcycle (that however is a book I do recommend).

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Zen and the Art of Moped Repair

    If awakening is a path, Noah is hacking his way through a dense jungle. He crosses the path a few times, but never actually follows it. His machete of an ego and sense of self is sharp and hard, it cuts deep into all that get into his path. It may not be wise to follow the trail he blazes, as it seems to go in circles. This book is a struggle to read and almost impossible to motivate yourself to finish. I wouldn't say it's a waste of time. Even though, Noah never seems to learn anything himself during his adventures. You can learn a great deal, from his vast collections of wrong turns, which make up this book from beginning to end. The author may miss the point over and over, the reader doesn't have to. Do I recommend reading this? Not really. If you do read it, just realize it is a 'memoir'. It says so right on the cover. Don't expect from the use of 'Dharma' in the title that it will impart any knowledge of reaching awakening. Be somewhat like expecting 'Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance' to instruct you in fixing a motorcycle (that however is a book I do recommend).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    A Great Read for the Religously Ignorant

    I am skeptical when it comes to religous books, and religion for that matter. However Mr. Levine shows the reader his transition from where many of the youth lie today to the ideal person he is trying to be in society. I love how he goes back and forth from his bad punk rock ways to the path of buddhism. His emotional tug of war is an intresting perspective to consider. It shows the reader that he is just as human and skeptical as we all are. And that there is hope for those who are all 'dead'. I would definatly recomend it to anyone who is skeptical about religion or likes punk rock

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    O:

    .. my name is dharma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A very good read...

    I also grew up in the 80's punk rock scene and can relate to many of the situations the author went through. It can take a lifetime to really know who you are and I am very happt that Noah has found himself. I really enjoyed reading this book and also The Heart Of The Revolution, which inspired to buy this book. I have not read Against the Stream yet but have it on my shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    An amazingly told story

    This book in so many ways mirrored my young life. Now, as an adult and beginning my spiritual walk, this book spoke loudly to me about compassion, forgiveness, mistakes and simply trying. I would highly recommend this book to anyone taking those first, tentative steps into spiritual awakening. Thank you, Noah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    I read this quickly, it could have done with a bit of editing but overall i really enjoyed it. Its nice to see a tattooed punker in a role of spiritual leadership

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    On the path

    This was an awesome book to read... It was recommended to me by my brother who works at a bookstore. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a spiritual path. Or anyone who is just having a hard time with drugs and alcohol. Any young kid or adult could relate to this book, espescially if you are in the punk rock scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    powerful memoir

    I experienced many of the emotions that Noah described involving Punk Rock. And though I did not travel the same path involving drugs and alcohol, I gained insight through his twelve step journey. I recommend this to anyone starting a spiritual journey, anyone looking for a way to help themselves out of the dark pit of drugs and alcohol, and anyone who enjoys learning of and from someone else's life story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Great starting point

    This book is a great story of remarkable change. I would recommend it to anyone who is struggling with where they want to go in life or for anyone who is in a rough spot that they want to get out of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Wonderful book!

    I've have been searching for enlightenment in my life since high school. This book has started me on my path. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2