Customer Reviews for

The Diabetes Diet: Dr. Bernstein's Low-Carbohydrate Solution

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I'm a Pharmacist and everyday, I fill hundreds of prescriptions for diabetics. I feel most of those prescriptions are unnecessary. I'm saddened by the recommendations of the American Diabetic Association 'ADA'. I myself have some type II blood sugar issues, my physici...
I'm a Pharmacist and everyday, I fill hundreds of prescriptions for diabetics. I feel most of those prescriptions are unnecessary. I'm saddened by the recommendations of the American Diabetic Association 'ADA'. I myself have some type II blood sugar issues, my physician said not to worry I was fine. However, I knew better than that and followed Dr. Bernstein's program for 8 months, and lost 30 pounds and now my blood sugars are normal, even if I eat more carbohydrates than recommended. Thank you for your book and returning my life and my families life to normal. I'm horrified by the ADA, and the medical community's inability to recognize the importance of this diet and solution to a devastating disease.

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nook version needs proofreading to fix errors!

Good overall info about low carb eating, but recipes need fixing because fractions are replaced by H, g, J and other meaningless characters. I wish humans would check stuff like this before releasing book books for sale.

posted by BulletinBroad on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I'm a Pharmacist and everyday, I fill hundreds of prescriptions for diabetics. I feel most of those prescriptions are unnecessary. I'm saddened by the recommendations of the American Diabetic Association 'ADA'. I myself have some type II blood sugar issues, my physician said not to worry I was fine. However, I knew better than that and followed Dr. Bernstein's program for 8 months, and lost 30 pounds and now my blood sugars are normal, even if I eat more carbohydrates than recommended. Thank you for your book and returning my life and my families life to normal. I'm horrified by the ADA, and the medical community's inability to recognize the importance of this diet and solution to a devastating disease.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    What a relief! I've had great results.

    Dr. Bernstein has incredible insight into the dynamics of diabetes and the diabetic diet. He's a walking, talking, educated testimonial to his research and the results available. It made so much sense - you end up thinking 'oh, yeah! that's exactly how it is' as you read. He's very practical and neither talks down to nor over you, so it's easy to understand. He pulls no punches and very matter of factly tells you that a short term diet is never the answer for a diabetic. After being told I was a diabetic, I was given lots of conflicting advice. That, along with my research online and the general diabetes education I received wasn't cutting it. It seemed that I had a lot of information without any clear cut results. However, employing this diet nearly immediately brought my blood sugar into line. I've dropped weight. I feel great. Now I am able to directly correlate what I eat and how it effects my health. I feel like I have a real working tool for life. What a difference the right book can make.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    This book will SAVE YOUR LIFE!!!

    This book will save your life!!! Yes it is possible to 'normalize' your blood sugars! I follow this plan and it has worked! My gestational diabetes converted to the real thing in 2002. I was put on the conventional ADA diet (220 carb a day!) and quickly found I could not keep my blood sugars in range on this diet. In frustration I read everything I could to research this disease. I had worked as therapist in a rehab hospital long enough to see hundreds of diabetic patients suffer strokes, heart attacks, kidney disease, amputations etc. I had a healthy fear of this disease!!! In short, it kills. This book explains how Dr Bernstein suffered as a Type I diabetic for years until he -through trial and error- figured out what foods to eat to normalize blood sugar. I now eat low carb as Dr Bernstein recommends and have never felt better! The website for the book is www.diabetes-book.com. The forum on this site is exceptional for recipes and support for following this program. I have so much admiration and respect for Dr. Richard Bernstein. He's not out to make a buck...no low carb products/gimmicks. He became an MD to teach other diabetics how to 'normalize' their blood sugars and works only with diabetic patients. I recommend this book to every diabetic person I meet!!! To Dr. Bernstein I say thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    One man's way of dealing with diabetes.

    This book is about how the author, a type 1 diabetic himself, has dealt successfully with his diabetes. Diagnosed with diabetes at age 12, the author tells in the first part of the book how he came up with the diabetic diet that has enable him to manage his condition so well. The first part of the book also tells all about the diet plan in detail. As the book goes on to say, 'Low carb is what will change lives.' The second part follows with no less than 112 recipes that should appeal to many readers. In fact, about half this book is recipes. An interesting treatment for diabetics that seems to make good sense, I suggest readers with diabetes check it out, as well as check with their doctor before trying it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must for everyone, not just diabetics

    I myself am a Type 1 diabetic, diagnosed at 19, so I had some pretty bad habits. Now at age 29, I've tried doing everything the doctors have told me, including my dietian and they honestly are failing me. With blood sugars in the 100-120 but Im starting to see the complications creeping! So I gave this diet a try, really what could it hurt! And I am amazed! Instantly my blood sugars are better (73-85 average and he explains why blood sugars need to be on the low end of what doctors are saying is normal) , I feel better, I don't get the random blurry vision, Im losing weight, and I have energy!! My insulin requirement has gone WAY down. The book really explains why certain foods are bad, and I did my research after reading it, just to make sure this wasnt a hype book. I've tried the recipes and alot are great. I've started to play with recipes to my taste and Im really begining to enjoy eating again, it doesn't feel like a chore. This is a must book, especially for diabetics or anyone who is just sick and tired of being, "sick and tired".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Re:: proofreading errors.

    Thank you for the reviews. It helped me make the decsion not to buy this book. Being the reviews were god on his other book I will check that out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Nook version needs proofreading to fix errors!

    Good overall info about low carb eating, but recipes need fixing because fractions are replaced by H, g, J and other meaningless characters. I wish humans would check stuff like this before releasing book books for sale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Do Not buy for the recipes.

    I would not recommend if you plan to use the recipes. They are not correct. Who ever heard of a H cup of spinach or a G teaspoon of paprika or even H lbs. ham?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    'When I Was Thirtyseven'

    Hello, You may be wondering why such a titile. Well, when I was thirtyseven, I found out that I was a diabete. How terrible! But, I soon learn to deal with the problem. I sometimes still feel tired and over the edge, so to speak, but I have gotten better with time and the help of some good books such as this one. Please keep up the good work. It means so much if one can keep in touch with good health through self taught insight. Thanks again. R. Taulbee//////////God Bless

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2