Customer Reviews for

Diabetes For Dummies

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Read this When you Find out you have Diabetes

I hve learned more about my Diabetes, how to treat it, what to watch for, exercises to use, etc. etc. than from any medical professionals I have talked to. This is a MUST READ for anyone who gets/has Diabetes.

posted by RAAJr on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

BEWARE

This is NOT the full book. It is a very condensed version. The chapters listed under features, are NOT what you get with this 3.99 version. This version only has 89 pages. So I'm very disappointed, that I did not get what was advertised here.

posted by 4394568 on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Read this When you Find out you have Diabetes

    I hve learned more about my Diabetes, how to treat it, what to watch for, exercises to use, etc. etc. than from any medical professionals I have talked to. This is a MUST READ for anyone who gets/has Diabetes.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't be a diabetes dummy!

    I skimmed several books about diabetes before purchasing this. The book is an easy read for non-medical (professionals) people, contains a wealth of useful Tips and Explanations, and definitely provides valuable information about living with diabetes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    "Don't be a diabetic without it." I've had diabetes

    "Don't be a diabetic without it." I've had diabetes since 2005 and have learned more from Dr. Rubin's various "Dummies" books than from all my medical professionals combined (and I have a full team of specialists, as advised). Extremely well-written but very reader-friendly, Dr. Rubin explains complicated medical concepts in easy-to-comprehend fashion. Although I have accumulated a thorough mini-library of books & magazines on diabetes, I still refer to this series of books when I need information. Now that it's available for the Nook, I'm going to add the ebook for portability.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Good, basic primer for someone with newly diagnosed diabetes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Diabetes for Dummies - Not so Dumb"

    Your best friend told you everything you had to know about Diabetes. Not! "Diabetes for Dummies" presents the reader with the very necessary essentials that will help every day to handle this condition. Alan Rubin, MD provides the reader with plain, no nonesense support in every aspect of living with diabetes.
    The very serious concepts of "Diabetes" 1 and "Diabetes 2" are explained in clear, concise terms that cover practical matters. The author focuses on how you can lead your life in a planned, organized manner, without too much conflict. You can lead a very normal life even if you have diabetes and the many chapters lead you into that understanding. The self helps are outstanding. Rubin provides some very funny cartoons that reflect the frustrations of people who do not understand this condition.
    If you are a very technical person then the book provides you with the numbers, baselines, highs and lows of your body chemistry. In a delightful manner you read about numbers that are necessary to discuss with your doctor or with your health professional.
    The book provides a delighful array of menus, everyday helps and guidance to live a full happy life with diabetes. After reading it you realize that your condition is can be handled with grace, ease and humor.
    I would recommend this book not only to people who have diabetes, but to their family members as well. It gets an A+ as a self help book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Learned Tons from "Diabetes for Dummies"

    As a new diabetic I found the information in this book informative and interesting. It's a great book for diabetics and their families.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    Simply Put; This is the Best!

    Very simply put this is the most informative and enjoyable book I have read on the subject of Diabetes. The cartoons and recipes are icing on the cake.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    One word- thorough.

    I have given several books to my dad who suffers from diabetes before I had a chance to really take a good look at this book. This book is very comprehensive and complete- I can't really find anything that has been left out that is relevant to the person with diabetes. Continuing in true "dummies" fashion, it is clearly written and teaches concepts in layman's terms. Consider this a top choice if you know someone just diagnosed with diabetes that needs info about their disease.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2002

    A must have for those diagnosed

    This book is great for those diagnosed with diabetes or writing a report on the subject. Quick, informative and basic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    diabetes

    the book is good for everybody and it helps alot to know about diabetes and what it does to your body.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Many Diabetes questions answered.

    I was recently diagnosed with Diabetes. This book answered and explained many of my questions. I will refer to this 382 page paperback whenever I need to refresh my memory. Written simply for ease in comprehension.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Great and informative

    Really enjoyed what I learned from this Ebook, even though I don't have diabetes I aleays want to about and why so many people have it ..this book explained EVERYTHING ..easy to understand ..a must read for everyone. A keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1