BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dial L for Loser (Clique Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(353)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Watch out Hollywood...Here Come the Clique Girls!!!

Dial L for Loser was one of my favorite books in the Clique. Here's what happens: Dylan scored five tickets for her mother's TV show, and now the Clique gets to spend an exclusive day on the set of The Daily Grind. They meet spunky Abby and nice Hadley, the stars of the...
Dial L for Loser was one of my favorite books in the Clique. Here's what happens: Dylan scored five tickets for her mother's TV show, and now the Clique gets to spend an exclusive day on the set of The Daily Grind. They meet spunky Abby and nice Hadley, the stars of the new movie Dial L for Loser. But when Hadley finds out Abby's been secretly going out with HER boyfriend, things get a little messy...on set!! Hadley has had enough of Hadley and decides to quit the movie and Daily Grind interview at once. Rupert, the director, meets Massie, Claire, Alicia, Kristen, and Dylan, and wants them to addition for Hadley's role. Massie knows the role is all hers...right? Wrong. What will Massie do when KUH-LAIRE is the star of Dial L for Loser?? I thought that this book was one of the best ones in the series. I recommend this to anyone interested in the Clique books, because it's great! Go Lisi!!

posted by xobookwormxo on April 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Completely inconceivable...

All right. I am not going to deny that I enjoyed the first few books in this series - they had this odd way of being entertaining, yet superficial. This is why I cannot give this book a completely rubbish score, because the first books were all right. But once I hit thi...
All right. I am not going to deny that I enjoyed the first few books in this series - they had this odd way of being entertaining, yet superficial. This is why I cannot give this book a completely rubbish score, because the first books were all right. But once I hit this book in the series, my disgust hit its peak. This book is completely unreasonable. Really now, who can become an actress in such a short period of time, almost entirely out of the blue? Haha. Funny, I don't see that happening very often, especially for young people. 'Some, but not many...' Every time a public school was criticized within the story, I found myself grinding my teeth in frustration. What in heaven's name is wrong with public schools? Not all of us can afford such extravagance. I suppose these books are reasonable novels when you are bored out of your wits or enjoy this sort of shallow form of ignorance, but in my opinion, ANY book that flaunts topics of Hollywood, parents who could care less if their children are expelled, and haughty girls who have enough money to buy a new cell phone every day is one to be avoided. I will stick with novels that enrich the mind, not poision it with the notions teenage girls are receiving from these books.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 552 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Watch out Hollywood...Here Come the Clique Girls!!!

    Dial L for Loser was one of my favorite books in the Clique. Here's what happens: Dylan scored five tickets for her mother's TV show, and now the Clique gets to spend an exclusive day on the set of The Daily Grind. They meet spunky Abby and nice Hadley, the stars of the new movie Dial L for Loser. But when Hadley finds out Abby's been secretly going out with HER boyfriend, things get a little messy...on set!! Hadley has had enough of Hadley and decides to quit the movie and Daily Grind interview at once. Rupert, the director, meets Massie, Claire, Alicia, Kristen, and Dylan, and wants them to addition for Hadley's role. Massie knows the role is all hers...right? Wrong. What will Massie do when KUH-LAIRE is the star of Dial L for Loser?? I thought that this book was one of the best ones in the series. I recommend this to anyone interested in the Clique books, because it's great! Go Lisi!!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    Best of the Clique

    Was my favorite of the series!! Claire finally was number one and Massie came in second. I thought the book was written great! But of course, you should read them in order. Overall a really great read!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Lights, Camera, Action!!

    The girls are cosen to star in a movie called "Dial L for Loser." When Massie realizes that she didn't get the main role and Claire did things get out of hand. The series is definitely excellent!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Clique

    I am on this book in the series and let me say they are amazingly well written books!!!!Good job Lisi!! I would love to see and read soo many more movies and books in this series. Can't put these books down. I am a true Clique girls lover!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Irritating (not the book the people writing the reciews)

    All these peolpe who aare writing reviews seriously need to learn to spell.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    GREAT GOSSIP

    I love this book! I would recomend this seris to anyone!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this series

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Don't buy this book for your daughter!

    Though the Clique series is wildly popular, I do NOT recommend it. I read these books as a sixth grader, and was not challenged in the least bit. The books have no worth either intellectually or emotionally. They are from the perspective of a nasty clique that treats other girls like trash and puts too much emphasis on appearance and social standards. The author makes no endeavor to show the reader that these actions are wrong, but actually makes them seem justified. These books set bad examples for treatment of others and make girls feel bad about themselves. When I read these books, I felt inferior because I was not as pretty, well dressed, or popular as the characters in the novels were. These books make young girls think that they have to look and act perfect. Take the advice of a fourteen-year-old avid reader: Do not buy these books. The characters are immature and shallow and the plots are poor. These books will not help the self-esteem or reading skills of pre-teen girls, and probably will be of no benefit whatsoever. The only purpose this series is good for is easy, trashy reading to improve knowlege of expensive botiuqes and nasty put-downs. Would you really want your daughter reading something like this? I suggest something with more depth such as a book by Lois Lowry.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    Completely inconceivable...

    All right. I am not going to deny that I enjoyed the first few books in this series - they had this odd way of being entertaining, yet superficial. This is why I cannot give this book a completely rubbish score, because the first books were all right. But once I hit this book in the series, my disgust hit its peak. This book is completely unreasonable. Really now, who can become an actress in such a short period of time, almost entirely out of the blue? Haha. Funny, I don't see that happening very often, especially for young people. 'Some, but not many...' Every time a public school was criticized within the story, I found myself grinding my teeth in frustration. What in heaven's name is wrong with public schools? Not all of us can afford such extravagance. I suppose these books are reasonable novels when you are bored out of your wits or enjoy this sort of shallow form of ignorance, but in my opinion, ANY book that flaunts topics of Hollywood, parents who could care less if their children are expelled, and haughty girls who have enough money to buy a new cell phone every day is one to be avoided. I will stick with novels that enrich the mind, not poision it with the notions teenage girls are receiving from these books.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Only got to read the sample but amazing!

    Okay,I only got to read the sample but I love it so far! My favorite character has to be Claire because I'm just like her;I'm unique and simple mixed together.I wish Massie,Alicia,Dylan,and Kristen would just give her a freaking chance.They act as if she's been there forever.But,I love Claire and I also love Layne for being a truthful and loyal friend to Claire.
    Keep up the great work,Lisi!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was amazing boo to mssie

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Massie

    Okay so we know that Claire gets the part but that dosent mater to us true clique fans. We just wanna see how Massie gets revenge on her sorry butt. Thats what keeps us fans intrigued Massie and her revenge so this is.not a spoiler this is what any good fan would think after reading this review!
    Love always, Cliquefan no. 1

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Heart it!

    I luvvv the Clique Series xcept 4 Claire..... all she wanted 2 do was be excepted by the clique but she ditches her friend layne 4 them which is kinda mean:/ but anyways, the books r super good & massie learns that she doesnt alway comein 1st just cux shes gorg.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Do not recommend!

    My daughter checked this out at the school library. Many sexual remarks and vulgar language in the book. Parents need to read through this book before they let their daughter read it. AR reading grade level is a 3.9 for it, but I wouldn't let anyone under the age of 16-18 read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Okayyyyyyyy

    I liked the first couple ones, but in this one some parts were really inapropriate... like one character claire is in the seventh grade and she is tongue kissing guys! and other parts were really bad!I don't think you should read this Book!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Dial L, for LAME

    This book was horrid. I had read all the books in the series until this one. I put my foot down. These books went from entertaining to unreasonable. People that say these books are in the same league as the Gossip Girl series are insane.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Love

    It!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Awwww ....

    I love itttt nice work Lisi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    These books are addicting!

    Not my reading level but I read them anyway! So creative and fun, and I really wish these girls were real (even if they are mean sometimes)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Amazingggg

    Luv it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 552 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28