Customer Reviews for

Dial L for Loser (Clique Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(353)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Watch out Hollywood...Here Come the Clique Girls!!!

Dial L for Loser was one of my favorite books in the Clique. Here's what happens: Dylan scored five tickets for her mother's TV show, and now the Clique gets to spend an exclusive day on the set of The Daily Grind. They meet spunky Abby and nice Hadley, the stars of the...
Dial L for Loser was one of my favorite books in the Clique. Here's what happens: Dylan scored five tickets for her mother's TV show, and now the Clique gets to spend an exclusive day on the set of The Daily Grind. They meet spunky Abby and nice Hadley, the stars of the new movie Dial L for Loser. But when Hadley finds out Abby's been secretly going out with HER boyfriend, things get a little messy...on set!! Hadley has had enough of Hadley and decides to quit the movie and Daily Grind interview at once. Rupert, the director, meets Massie, Claire, Alicia, Kristen, and Dylan, and wants them to addition for Hadley's role. Massie knows the role is all hers...right? Wrong. What will Massie do when KUH-LAIRE is the star of Dial L for Loser?? I thought that this book was one of the best ones in the series. I recommend this to anyone interested in the Clique books, because it's great! Go Lisi!!

posted by xobookwormxo on April 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Completely inconceivable...

All right. I am not going to deny that I enjoyed the first few books in this series - they had this odd way of being entertaining, yet superficial. This is why I cannot give this book a completely rubbish score, because the first books were all right. But once I hit thi...
All right. I am not going to deny that I enjoyed the first few books in this series - they had this odd way of being entertaining, yet superficial. This is why I cannot give this book a completely rubbish score, because the first books were all right. But once I hit this book in the series, my disgust hit its peak. This book is completely unreasonable. Really now, who can become an actress in such a short period of time, almost entirely out of the blue? Haha. Funny, I don't see that happening very often, especially for young people. 'Some, but not many...' Every time a public school was criticized within the story, I found myself grinding my teeth in frustration. What in heaven's name is wrong with public schools? Not all of us can afford such extravagance. I suppose these books are reasonable novels when you are bored out of your wits or enjoy this sort of shallow form of ignorance, but in my opinion, ANY book that flaunts topics of Hollywood, parents who could care less if their children are expelled, and haughty girls who have enough money to buy a new cell phone every day is one to be avoided. I will stick with novels that enrich the mind, not poision it with the notions teenage girls are receiving from these books.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    Completely inconceivable...

    All right. I am not going to deny that I enjoyed the first few books in this series - they had this odd way of being entertaining, yet superficial. This is why I cannot give this book a completely rubbish score, because the first books were all right. But once I hit this book in the series, my disgust hit its peak. This book is completely unreasonable. Really now, who can become an actress in such a short period of time, almost entirely out of the blue? Haha. Funny, I don't see that happening very often, especially for young people. 'Some, but not many...' Every time a public school was criticized within the story, I found myself grinding my teeth in frustration. What in heaven's name is wrong with public schools? Not all of us can afford such extravagance. I suppose these books are reasonable novels when you are bored out of your wits or enjoy this sort of shallow form of ignorance, but in my opinion, ANY book that flaunts topics of Hollywood, parents who could care less if their children are expelled, and haughty girls who have enough money to buy a new cell phone every day is one to be avoided. I will stick with novels that enrich the mind, not poision it with the notions teenage girls are receiving from these books.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Unrealistic

    I couldn't enjoy this book because the things that happened to Alicia, Massie and Claire were unrealistic. Alicia, Massie and Claire had gone to a taping of Merri-Lee's show with a producer of an upcoming movie. Dylan caused a fight between the two co-stars, in which one left the movie. Meanwhile, the producer had asked Massie if he could borrow her cell phone. Days later, he called Massie, and, even though he didn't know her or if she had acting experience, asked her and her friends to audition for the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    omg great

    i wouldnt forgive massie 4 what she did hate her now liked it when she wuz bein called loser

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    ewww!

    BLECCHHH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Ruins the whole series

    This book was definitely a low blow for the whole series. It was unrealistic. I mean, the other books were good, but this book was just so....I don't know. I am just sick of all the conflict between Claire and Cam. ENOUGH ALREADY. They need to stop making up and having problems over and over. And I can't get over how mean Massie is, and the phrases the girls say, like 'Point.' How annoying is that! Alicia said it 200 different times in the book! The ending of the book provided suspense, but not in a good way. It was in an unrealistic, low blow, I'm not rushing to read the next book kind of way. It has its fair share of parts that maked you mad, anoyed, and bored. I guess what I'm saying is, it just gets old after a while. This book just ruined the whole clique experience for me. Things happened in it for filler, basically, for no reason, like the author ran out of ideas, so she wrote this book. Everything is just blown out of proportion! Maybe it's because I'm older now, maybe it's because the story could not drag out for long enough, so it got to the point where it just wore down, I don't know. All I do know is that overall, I didn't like it. Read the other books, and MAYBE get the cliff notes on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    has nothing to do with the series.

    Dial L for Loser has absolutley nothing to do with the series. The beginning was okay but hello-becomming famous? as if. That would never happen in their lifetimes. I love the series but comom, Lisi Harrison-these girls are appparantly beautiful, popular and rich FAMOUS TOO? Um no, theres almost no point in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Not the best

    This was one of the worst. I was so siked to read this and it turned out to be bad. It had a stupid and random story line. Why is Massie so UGH you know. She always has to be on top no matter who she hurts along the way. She needs to stop walking all over people. This one wasnt even funny. It gives the Clique books a bad name. And has anyone ever relised the name comes from Alfird Hitchcock's 1954 film Dial M for Murder. Get some orgianalty Lisi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Getting Old...

    I start reading these books when I was 10-11 and I used to love them. They were funny, easy to read and really adictive. Then I read this one. I don't know if the plot is getting old or I am, now that I'm 13 and have already experienced seventh grade. The whole book seems so juvenile, and the plot of this series is beginning to wear thin. Lisi describes the girls amazing life. Something bad happens to the girls, and they get even so boom they're on top again. And of course Claire or Lane NEVER comes out on top-always the snobby girl Massie. What a great lesson to teach pre-teens. Be a brat and everyone'll 'ah-dore' you. Maybe I'll read the next one if I don't feel like reading a book with substance, but I doubt it. Hey, I'm not against books like The It Girl and The A-List they're geared to older audiences but the Clique? Geared to pre-teens. Good try Lisi, but 'puh-lease' do better next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Uhh ...

    Lisi Harrisson, first of all your books are great but ...just really unrealistic. I mean they get kicked out of their private school and then they're invited to go to hollywood? And what kind of parents wouldn't care if their kids got kicked out of school?????? And girls who are so popular, get every single thing they want cuz they're oh-so-rich???? Sorry but soooooo unrealistic!! This is not what happens in 7th grade! You make it seem like they're in high school rather than just merely 7th graders!! I would personally like to punch Massie Block out if she ever pushed me around or any girl for that matter. I'm glad Claire stole the spotlight from her. And then Massie HAD to send Cam a pic of Claire kissing a hollywood star, that is not how a real friend would act. But then again Massie isn't a real friend. And what is with the 'ehmahgawd'. Makes them sound like preppy white chicks! (i'm white too, but i'm not that preppy!) Very Disappointing book and maybe even poor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    Just read sample chapter

    I am addicted to the clique books, but i just read the sample chapter and the girls attitudes are really turning me off. Maybe i'm being moody, but between the all ready done plot and annoying language that NO teen uses I wouldn't go buy it. Sorry Lisi, but you didn't sell this one to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Not That Good

    I was disappointed... I mean I cant say that any of the clique books are fine works of literature, but common. The fun thing about the clique books are they are totally unreal, but Dial L for Losers took it about ten steps too far. The author in this book made me hate some of the few charecters I actually like.. Clare- turns from nice girl to hollywood jerk. Massie- turns from bad friend to horrible selfish jealous friend. In short I would not recomend this book, even to those who enjoyed the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Dial H for Horrible

    I didn't enjoy this book at all. Massie was a bitch and so was Alicia. These books are changing sweet, little, and innocent girls into these bitches. You suck Lisi Harrison!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    LISI! WHAT HAVE YOU DONE!?

    Wow. I loved the Clique books, but this one is...something. I am a Freshman in high school and there is no way seventh graders act like these girls--or vice-versa. They should be at LEAST Freshmen, too. This book reminds me of MyScene goes Hollywood. Yes, I have seen that movie, and if you think you are too mature to watch it, get over yourself and watch it so you can see the odd similarities between 'Dial L' and a Barbie movie. They both have practically the same plots. Girls miraculously get in a movie, one gets a lead role, others are jealous...blah blah blah. The next book better be super-impressive. I will give Lisi the benifit of the doubt, solely because I ah-dore these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Dial H for Horrid

    So I just finished 'Dial L for Loser' and wow....wait, let me start over. 'Eh. Ma. Gawd.' Was THAT horrible. Now, I'm not here to say the Clique series is the pinnacle of fine literature, nor should it even be taken seriously as a viable work of fiction. I myself like to think of it as a satire of 'Myspace' generation, tweens and teens whose parents have given them anything they've ever wanted without any work, and who are more than willing to show the world how materialistic they have become. But this one takes the cake. Never before have I read a novel that made me wanted to reach through and choke the author, made me want to throw the book across the room such as this. Lisi Harrison is obviously pandering to the lowest common denominator with the Clique series, showing a group of spoilt girls who need to be taken down a peg or two, who need to be taught not only a god work ethic, some morals, and heck, I don't know, given a SOUL maybe? 'Dial L for Loser' takes the already weak Clique series to new lows. These children are mean, soulless monsters and the poster children of 'Why they hate us.' Children who have been given everything they could ever dream of, and have earned none of it. The story begins in a mall, the girls of the Clique having just been EXPELLED (and believe me, if I had been expelled from school when I was 12, I probably would have been sent to the nearest correctional facility ASAP, had I not been murdered by my parents first) from their middle school. But do they get punished for it? NO. And when the girls get a chance to visit Hollywood for a horribly convoluted plot point, do they get punished? NO. In fact they get REWARDED. The girls proclaim to be friends, but do they act like them? NO. In fact they go to extra lengths to make their so-called 'friends' miserable. Oh, but don't worry, everything wraps up just nicely in a little bow in the end, the girls having learned nothing and gained everything (materially, natch). Yes, that's right kids, be a horrid, spoiled monster to everyone you come in contact with and you get showered with fabulous designer clothes! And did I love every minute of it? Yes. There is nothing more fun than seeing spoiled rich kids act like spoiled rich kids (Especially when they make fools of themselves in the process). It's escapism, y'know? Of course, then I start to remember that there are actually kids out there like this (My Super Sweet Sixteen, anyone?) and here comes that seething rage again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1