Customer Reviews for

Dialogues

Average Rating 4.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    But the Ending...

    The book was an interesting quick read. I was waiting to see how it ended. And then the end came and it really irked me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    A wonderful debut!

    This is a terrific book, especially from a first-time novelist. I read the book in one sitting. It's that good. I just couldn't tear myself away from it. Prior to writing this novel Mr. Spignesi wrote several enlightening books about Stephen King, who is one of my favorite authors. But let me say this, Stephen King hasn't written anything as powerful as Spignesi's DIALOGUES in a good long time. This book is definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    A great suspenseful novel

    this story held my interest from the very first page. It was a book I could not put down for long. The ending surprised me because I kept wondering why Tory was going to be excuted so fast after her conviction. I loved the ending. The name Tory Troy is almost a tonque twister and the mothers name Viviana is so different I was wondering why the author choose these names. It is truly a dialogue story which I thought would be boring but it is very much the opposite. Fron the begining I pictured Dr. Bexley as a women in her late forties and then had to change my thought process when I realized it was a man. I picture Tory as a slight dark haired girl and the only reason she killed her co-workers is she snapped. I would recommend this book to all who love reading suspense/drama novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    Great Read Too Quickly Done

    The biggest disappointment with Dialogues is that it is only 354 pages long. I could have read so much more. This novel moves so gracefully and draws its reader so completely into a world vividly painted mostly by dialogue that it is hard to put the down when the last word is read. There are subtle revelations on almost every page about the main character, Tori Troy, and her job as the euthanasia technician at an animal shelter. Early on in this marvelous novel, Tori admits to murdering six co-workers. Answers to the questions of 'why?' and 'how?' are delivered in highly-crafted, vivid dialogues with and about Tori and her crimes. Two thought-provoking short stories accredited to her add insight that ultimately pays off in a very satisfying conclusion. I applaud the author and the skill with which he leads his readers through Tori's complicated and sad world of love and neglect, caring and abuse, hopelessness and redemption.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Spignesi hits a home run with his debut novel!

    After laboring in the bean fields for far too long -- Spignesi carved out a fulltime writing career as a non- fiction writer, which is onerous work -- he has decided to seed new ground and harvest the fictional fruits of his labor. The result is a compelling, captivating, can't-put- down first novel that bodes well for this writer who has amply paid his dues. As most fiction writers know, writing dialogue is tough. It's not simply a matter of turning on a tape recorder and picking up whatever is said, and putting that down on paper. Good dialogue means having a well-tuned ear, sensitive to the cadences of language, of words, which is the mark of a fictioneer, a teller of tales. Spignesi, I'm happy to say, nails this down cold: He knows how people speak -- its rhythms, its tics and tropes -- and fuses it with a storytelling voice that is confident. For a first novel, this is an impressive debut. The book marks him as a Writer to Watch -- or, more accurately, a writer to read. Here's a guy who has steeped himself in popular culture, who feasts on movies, and as a result has painted a backdrop that is completely, utterly convincing and thoroughly American. I eagerly await his next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    A Journey You Won't Forget...

    First of all, let me just say if I could give this novel ten stars, I would. However, five is the highest option here, so five it is! Dialogues is a captivating story about a young girl named Victoria (Tory) Troy. She's vibrant, intelligent, exceptionally bright, and though her actions in the beginning are quite violent, she's a sweet natured, personable character whom I think many readers will be able to relate. The story takes place in Connecticut. The crime scene is a local Animal Shelter... and what a crime it is! She's caught, red handed, and is now held 'prisoner' in a psychiatric hospital, awaiting trial, where she confesses her sins to Dr. Bexley. Bexley, assigned to her case, holds the power to declare her sane/insane. Through numerous discussions with Tory, and various others, Tory's gripping story unfolds. What did she do? How could she do it? Was she insane? What was she thinking? Is she competent enough to stand trial? Will she get the death penalty? Will the Jury let her walk? All the questions are answered, some in ways that will surprise you. From Prologue to Epilogue, Stephen Spignesi's first novel takes the reader on an unforgettable journey. If you're a fan of suspense, drama, horror, mystery, this book is a MUST read! On April 26th, RUN, don't walk, to a book store near you, and pick up a copy of Dialogues. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine thriller

    Since the police arrested her for six murders, several people have conversed with Tory Troy including her lawyer in a guarded mental hospital. However, the most persistent psychiatrist Dr. Baraku Bexley has interviewed Tory several times to ascertain whether the genius can delineate right from wrong enough to stand trial in a Connecticut court. Over a year ago, Tory lost her job at a pharmaceutical firm that felt the Internet was a better way to sell drugs. Before she left, Tory stole a paralytic drug that leaves victims conscious but paralyzed. Tory obtained worked as a euthanasia technician at the Waterbridge Animal Shelter in Connecticut, where every Friday she kills animals in a gas chamber. --- Tory detests her job, but needs the income as she has no other prospects. As she turns into a loner, her loathing for her work converts towards her peers until she decides to take action. Using the paralytic she stole, Tory begins injecting fellow shelter employees and while they remain awake kills them in the gas chamber. --- Through the dialogues with Tory at the mental hospital readers get a picture of what happened that drove the woman into killing her peers. Additionally, the audience obtains several other dialogues besides the central figure as her distraught parents, the judge, the prosecution team, the jurors, and others discuss Tory. Interestingly fans also get a different side to the indicted murderer through a strong short story and novella she wrote that adds to the feel that we are looking at a real person wondering why. By the uncanny climax, Stephen Spignesi will have readers exchanging dialogues on this insightful uniquely rendered thriller.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1