Customer Reviews for

Diamond Dogs: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    What an awesome book!!

    This book keeps you in suspence. I couldnt put it down. I dont really like to read but for a book report i read this book and wish it had a sequel. I highly recommend you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Caustic...Penetrating.

    What a compelling book!! I read it in 24 hours...the few times I managed to put it down, I could not get Neil off of my mind. This is prime storytelling that captures the devastation of relationships gone bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Intense and Emotionally Gripping

    This book reads like a train that has lost its breaks and is careening out of control at breakneck speed to consummate with its inexorable conclusion of derailment and catastrophic havoc - and you cannot take your eyes off of it the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    Good book

    This shows the relationship between a father and son that should never be. I always read before bed, but this book didn't let that happen. I couldn't stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    Diamond Dogs

    this was the best book i have ever read...i didnt really like reading all that much until i read this!! i seriously couldnt put it down!! and absolutly loved the mistery and wonder through out the entire book! it is definatly one of those stories that will stay with me forever, and one of those books i could read over and over!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2002

    Diamond in the Rough

    Fine read, well written. Very suspensful and Watt does a nice job of forshadowing and keeping the reader thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Couldn't put it down.

    Diamond dogs was one of my favorite books. At first i didn't think it was going to be very good, but it turned out to be better then i expected. It shows how a bad situation can turn out to be the best thing that you could ask for. I recommened this book to older more mature teens. But i defently liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    POWERFUL AND ORIGINAL!

    'Diamond Dogs' refers to those elite who possess the talent and the charisma necessary to rise above the pack...and Alan Watt has captured perfectly the double-edged sword that such talent becomes, especially when you're 17-year-old Neil Garvin. His young life changes dramatically one night as he drives drunkenly home from a party, and strikes and kills a fellow student. Not even his Sherrif father can save him from the personal hell that he endures when he makes a series of bad choices. Although the story ends in triumphant redemption, this victory is bittersweet for Garvin and his tormented father. Both have abandonment issues that color their every thought, and by the final page, each deals with those in cataclysmic ways...resulting in one of the most powerfully triumphant stories to grace a page. Watt has captured Neil's tortured soul in an original voice, and aptly portrays the effects of two men's choices that go horribly wrong on a family that is already deteriorating beyond repair. Far from being depressing, 'Diamond Dogs' is hopeful and poetic. A recommended read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2000

    Brilliant new author

    Just finished this novel. Read it in one afternoon. I am very impressed with this author and am now a devout fan. Can't wait for his new work, if and when he completes a second book. This book is intriguing,very fast and easy reading. I recommend this book to anyone, you won't be disappointed. Kudos to the author, thanks for the enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Superb character study

    Seventeen year old Neil (named for the singer Diamond) Garvin is the Carmen, Nevada high school golden boy. Neil, the son of the sheriff, is the very popular quarterback of the football team. However, inside, Neil suffers from the desertion of his mother when he was an infant and the cruelty of his so-called charming father, a closet abuser. Neil has learned abusive behavior from his dad, just ask his mates. <P>At a party, Neil accidentally kills Ian Curtis. While investigating, his father realizes Neil did the crime and covers up his son¿s activities. The townsfolk begin a search for the missing Ian and the lad¿s mother asks her FBI brother for help. As the outsiders come closer to uncovering the truth, the war between father and son is on the brink of exploding. <P> DIAMOND DOG is a well-written character study that portrays the abusive father, but provides a deep scrutiny into the impact of parental dysfunctional behavior on the child. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with emotion and tension, but requires some acceptance of the implausible happening, which surprisingly does not detract from this insightful look at negative nurturing. Although the novel is a police procedural in the widest definition of the sub-genre, Alan Watt¿s novel lights up the family drama fans with a fabulous debut book. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1