Customer Reviews for

The Diamond Secret (Once upon a Time Series)

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I loved this book! I've seen the movie many times and it's definitely one of my favorite animations. So when I saw this book, I got pretty excited! Some of the reviews said they were disappointed because it was too much like the movie, but I think that's why I partly li...
I loved this book! I've seen the movie many times and it's definitely one of my favorite animations. So when I saw this book, I got pretty excited! Some of the reviews said they were disappointed because it was too much like the movie, but I think that's why I partly liked it so much. They were simillar for the story line with the con men, the falling in love part, the grandmother, but the details made it it's own story. The characters were wonderful. They each had their own personality and seemed very real. I loved the whole thing with the diamond and overall I think it's a great book. I've read it more than once and will probably read it again! :)

posted by 4096083 on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay...

I have always loved the story of Anastasia, and so naturally I jumped at the chance to read this book. I have o admit I was disappointed.
It was a bad book or anything, it had just enough story to keep me interested, but when I finished it, I had a feeling of wasted ho...
I have always loved the story of Anastasia, and so naturally I jumped at the chance to read this book. I have o admit I was disappointed.
It was a bad book or anything, it had just enough story to keep me interested, but when I finished it, I had a feeling of wasted hours instead of the "WOW! What a great book!" that you would expect.
It was too slow, and not memorable enough for me.
Even though sometimes a story can make for that with a great ending, this didn't do that either.

posted by Reads_a_lot on June 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    the diamond secret

    Great book! I have read several of the once upon a time books and this is my favorite so far!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Perfect for a quick read!

    "The Diamond Secret" by Suzanne Weyn is a quick retelling of "Anastasia" a wonderful and timeless classic. After had watching Anastasia, the Disney movie, I thought no book nor any other version of the story would compare, but this book comes quite close! This book's main character is Nadya who works in a kitchen of a tavern, knowing nothing of her past except that she has come from an asylum before arriving here, and her only companion was her little doll. One day, two men enter the tavern for lunch, and looking at Nadya, they think that she is the perfect counterpart of the real Grand Duchess Anastasia (little do they know that she's really her.) There's a rumor that the Duchess is still alive after the Russian Revolution, and her grandmother is paying a hefty price for her return. She believes that she has wandered her whole life without any final destination and longs to belong somewhere, and so she follows them. But throughout the story, she encounters danger, a new life, and a love like no other. This story is a wonderful retelling of "Anastasia" and the romance in this story, although, very predictable is refreshing at the same time! "The Diamond Secret" is woven intricately with many surprising turns of the plot, but it's an extremely interesting retell because the characters are substantially developed enough for the readers to fall in love with their characters, the turn in the plot keeps you wanting more and more, and also, the emotion that is conveyed when a sacrifice has to occur in the ending warms hearts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So..

    I liked this book! I though it was going to be more like the movie Anastasia from my childhood but not soo much, which is okay because I still like the book anyway. Nadya and Ivan were cute together and I'm gald they ended up together.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a retelling of a fabulous tale

    Nadya works in the kitchen for a tavern in the cold of Russia She doesn't remember anything from her past, but one day two men enter the tavern for lunch. They take one look at her and think she's perfect for their scam. They plan to take a girl and turn her into the Grand Duchess Anastasia, who's rumor to still be alive after the Russian Revolution. Her grandmother would give anything to have her back - and the men are out for the reward. Together they approach her and make her an offer - not telling her about the reward. Instead they confide that they're private detectives and she might belong to a family. Nadya longs to belong somewhere and with little hesitation, follows them. They make the journey to Germany, where they run across an old friend from the Russian aristocracy. He has no doubt of Nadya's true identity once he sees her dressed in the part. In fact, he's so convinced that he holds a ball in her honor announcing her to his other Russian friends. When the empress hears of this night, she sends a car for Anastasia from Paris. Now, Nadya must learn the truth about her family, if she really is royalty. She's scared to learn the truth and even more angry when she discovers her friends have lied to her. Will she ever find a family and a place to call home?

    Anastasia stories intrigue me. The secret of the diamonds is both fascinating and an ingenious idea. I love the heart warming scenes between the empress and Nadya. The cover is gorgeous and it's a perfect tale for those wanting a romantic historical novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Once upon...

    Compare to animated version, but for teens. Love the interactions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Amazing

    I read this book a while ago nd thot it was really good. I got psyched when i found out it was based on the movie Anastasia. I love that movie and i think the history of Anastasia Romanov and her family is very interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Diamond Secret

    I was pleasantly surprised with this retelling of Anastasia,I have watched the Fox animated movie and it was so beautiful and unforgettable.I had hopes that the novel would hold on to that too and i was not disappointed.This novel along with many of the Once Upon A Time series have a fairytale like quality and feel that readers can't help being attracted to,I mean,who does not want to relive those fun childhood memories of those times where your mom told you stories and you just let your adolescent mind wonder? These novels balance the fairy tale like feeling with realistic characters and real historical facts for some novels, like this one.I loved Nadya and Ivan's relationship process from utter dislike to pure simple love. Romance always plays a key factor in these novels and I loved that!!Their squabbles were so funny and Sergei was such a great accompanying characters and a peace maker.The plot was intriguing but light and I just truly enjoyed it.My taglines for The Diamond Secret would be : Love,identity, laughter, friendship, betrayal and intrigue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Very Calming Book

    I just finished this book a couple days ago. I read it right before I went to bed and it was a calming book to fall asleep to. I do admit that the talking about the russian history was a little difficult to follow otherwise its a pretty easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the diamond secret

    I absolutely loved this book. I couldn't put it down. The plot was amazing and the romance was adorable. I was grinning half the time. Do not judge this book by its cover. It may seem like an aristocrat but it truly is not. I think anyone who loves romance and suspense would like this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2