Customer Reviews for

The Diamond of Darkhold (Books of Ember Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A great read for a well thought out book!

A great ending book for the Ember series. Answers many questions and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Makes you wonder about the future and what will happen.

posted by 10827442 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointing

When I first started this series, I was amazed. Duprau had invented a future world that had fallen. It was interesting. The second book was all of these things as well. But as the series went on, it became less action-packed and lost the captivation of attention that re...
When I first started this series, I was amazed. Duprau had invented a future world that had fallen. It was interesting. The second book was all of these things as well. But as the series went on, it became less action-packed and lost the captivation of attention that readers had first recieved from this series. In the last book, the ending was overly simplified, and very predictable. All of the characters lived happliy ever after, and there was no depth to the story. Overall, I was very dissapointed.

posted by skyby012 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 321 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    A great read for a well thought out book!

    A great ending book for the Ember series. Answers many questions and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Makes you wonder about the future and what will happen.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Diamond of Darkhole is a GREAT Book!!:)

    The Diamond of Darkhold is a thrill-shocking book that makes it feel like you are there! Doon and Lina get into big troubles and have to try to take their city back, Ember. Doon saw a book and a roamer sold to him. The book contained all different information about Ember. Doon and Lina love to go on adventures but this time they get into BIG trouble. If you are a fan of Jeanne DuPrau's The City of Ember then you would love her new book The Diamond of Darkhold. It looked like a lot of people did not like The Prophet of Yonwood, once you read The Diamond of Darkhold you would want her to write another book.

    Doon and his best friend Lina want to go back down to Ember to see what is so important. Doon finds himself in a lot of trouble down in The City Of Ember. This is the best book that DuPrau has written so far because she only wrote a small amount of books so far and Ember was good and cool how it took place in an underground city. The People of Sparks was good because they found the way out. The Prophet of Yonwood took place before Ember was built (which would be a prequel). And The Diamond of Darkhold mixes in with all the other books and is very cool. DuPrau wrote The City of Ember, The People of Sparks, The Prophet of Yonwood, the latest book The Diamond of Darkhold.

    The Diamond of Darkhold is good for kids of all ages. Everyone would love this thrill-shocking book. Jeanne DuPrau has not won any awards yet but soon she will. After you read The Diamond of Darkhold you will learn how important teamwork is, and how to trust friends to help you with all different things in life.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    5 out of 5 Stars

    Lina Mayfleet, Doon Harrow, and the other Emberites that escaped their dying city only months ago, are still living in Sparks, but in harmony with the villagers. One day, a roamer came to town with some unusual things, including a eight-page book. Trading for it with a match, Lina and Doon buy it, in hope that they can read and understand it. They discover that it is yet another set of guidelines for the people of Ember, which states about a special ¿jewel¿ and ¿diamond¿. Lina and Doon decide to go back to Ember to find what the book describes. When they arrive to their dead city, they discover one thing more: someone is living there.<BR/><BR/>This book was even more delightful than the previous two in the Book of Ember series. It was full of action and emotion, which kept my fingers crossed for the characters. Whenever something new came out of the blue, my nose was practically glued to the book. I am still amazed that this was one of Jeanne DuPrau¿s first works as an author. The ending wrapped everything up perfectly: what happened to the characters, how they changed the future¿ but the last two pages baffled me. It did not go along with the story and completely threw me off course, but I still highly recommend the book to everyone. 5 stars!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Must Read Book!!

    Many people don’t think about disastrous world event that kills or affects millions of people. In the 4th book of the City of Ember series, a disastrous world event occurs. The last book in the series is called The Diamond of Darkhold by Jeanne Duprau. The Diamond of Darkhold is a great ending to the City of Ember series and you should read it if you liked the first two books in the City of Ember series. These two kids, Doon and Lina, are from the city called Ember. They had to leave Ember because it was running out of electricity. When they left, they joined a little city named Sparks. Doon and Lina later found a book from a roamer. A roamer is a person that travels to many places to find interesting objects to either sell or trade to people in different cities. When Lina and Doon got the book, they noticed it was in bad condition and there were many pages torn out, but when they looked at the cover it said,” For the people from Em.” Even though the rest of the “Em” was cut off, Doon and Lina both knew what it was supposed to say. So Doon and Lina tried many things and went to many places, including Ember, which is very far from the city of Sparks just to find out what this mysterious book is about. This 3rd person omniscient fiction book was really hard to put down because of the continuation of suspense throughout the book. As the story goes on, the author reveals a good amount of the plot that also increases more and more suspense that makes it hard to stop reading, or put down the book. This book is one of my favorite books I have ever read. The characters in this book all fit nicely with the events that happen. The main characters in this book are Doon and Lina. Doon is a boy that is curious and loves to create and repair things. Lina is a girl that is adventurous and determined until the end. Both characters would do anything to find the truth about the mysterious book that may have something to do with the city they abandoned, the city of Ember. If you have not read the books before The Diamond of Darkhold in the City of Ember series by Jeanne Duprau, try to read those first .I recommend this book to all ages.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Dissapointing

    When I first started this series, I was amazed. Duprau had invented a future world that had fallen. It was interesting. The second book was all of these things as well. But as the series went on, it became less action-packed and lost the captivation of attention that readers had first recieved from this series. In the last book, the ending was overly simplified, and very predictable. All of the characters lived happliy ever after, and there was no depth to the story. Overall, I was very dissapointed.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    A Dissapointing Diamond

    The fourth (and last, I hope) book in the City of Ember series. What started off as a strong series has petered out to a happy ending in a most unsatisfying summary. This book was the "peak" of the action in the series (except maybe their exodus from Ember in the first book), but it left something to be desired. I am a huge fan of young adult and children's fiction, but I think this last book was overly simplified. Lina and Doon have grown up some and gone through many hardships, but they don't seem to have aged emotionally. There were some good action scenes and some great new characters, but after the boring intermission of the Prophet of Yonwood, I was expecting a little more from DuPrau. The very end of the book was very Harry Potter-esque with all the loose ends being tied up and everyone living happily ever after in this post-apocalyptic world.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Diamond of Darkhold

    I think that this is a very good book. I have several friends that have borrowed the book from me and they have loved it as well. It is a great end to a great series. Personally, as with most books, I think the first book is the best, but the fourth is definately a good succeder.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Great book!

    This was a great boo with a surprising twist at the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Amazing

    When I was reading chapter 7, I was wondering how can there be light when nobody is in the city? (P.S only in the beginning.)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    From Echonose

    Very good. But I recomend reading the first two before this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Epic

    RAINBOW

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    love love love

    Perfect ending to the series, everything resolved but still left much to your imagination

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Dimond of Darkhold

    Great book love it. I love the city of ember series and the movies too. I can not wait to read more of her books. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great!

    This book was great.i just loved it! And i was defently amazed that someone found ember after the people were only gone for 8 or 9 months i forget how long it was.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    The ihop muffins with cream cheese and awesome hair!

    This book is a great comeback from the prophet of yonwood. I like this and Sparks. If you read the series please start from the beginning and yo wont be confused :3 I watched the ember movie, no good. Hoping the next ones better. Its a good attention getting series. It may start off a bit slow, but it gets good. Each book is about 190-220 nook pages. :D Thank you for your time, and I wont spoil it ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    REALLY GOOD BOOK

    I did a book report on this story. I think that if my report was good than the book is very good. The ending is the conclusion to the first book mostly, the second... not really. But it was REALLY good. Read the first two books so it would make more sense. ***** that means the book is 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Hoping

    I hope itll be good with the rest!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Is a diamond worth a lot? My favorite book type is fantasy, and

    Is a diamond worth a lot? My favorite book type is fantasy, and The Diamond of Darkhold definitely is a fantasy book. In The Diamond of Darkhold, we find out how truly precious a diamond can be to someone. In the book, Doon and Lina adventure to the city of Ember, their former home were they used to live in the first book of the series The City of Ember. When they arrive, Doon is captured by another family living there, and Lina is forced to make a decision: Save Doon now or leave him and go back for help? I truly believe that The Diamond of Darkhold was a great book, but it lacks depth and is definitely more for younger readers. This book is also part of a series, so read the other books before this one, or you may become very confused. Besides the fact that the book seems to be for younger children, I still recommend you to read this great book by Jeanne DuPrau.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Best.

    This one is the best in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

    One of the best books i have ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 321 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17