Customer Reviews for

The Diaries of Adam and Eve

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    READ IT!!! EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!

    This is one of the best stories by Mark Twain I've ever read.
    This is always my 'go to' book when I want a book that I can just fall into and forget about everything except laughing and enjoying myself.

    I have read this story (the Diary of Adam and Eve) at least 15 times and will likely read it at least 100 more in my life. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    The last great valentine gift of mankind

    To understand this book it is in the best interest of the reader to step away from the absolute destruction of Genesis and all the other biblical stories and read this from the point of view of the worst pick-up line ever uttered in a bar "If I was the last man on earth and you were the last women on earth, we would...". This book is what I consider the greatest valentine gift to ever give a women in you life. This book conveys the very essence of love from a totally brilliant man's point of view... Thank god for Sunday's, "I pulled through". I will mutter when laying in bed with my wife "whereever shall be Eve, shall be Eden", conveys a meaning of love that I cannot express in words, but as I gave this book to my wife when we were dating, she TOTALLY understands what I am meaning. When Eve gives her last statement, and if you are not feeling sentimental, I feel sorry for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    A beautiful book for all Twain lovers to enjoy

    The Diaries of Adam and Eve by Mark Twain is an enchanting account of a biblical tale told in the most non-biblical fashion imaginable. Twain inserts his unmistakable wit in a hilarious story, and throws the reader completely off guard in the friendliest way possible: he takes Adam, the lazy, boring male looking for relaxation and enjoyment and pairs him up with Eve, the inquisitive, curious girl who is searching constantly through her thoughts and is looking for a deep connection with Adam. There is a constant humorous interplay between the two figures, as Eve is constantly croaching upon Adam and dying to know whats going on in his mind, while Adam just wants a day off and wants Eve to stop nagging him. This book is also a touching love story. Adam and Eve find themselves to be the only human beings around, and are a constant symbol for the traits of a typical male-female relationship. There are countless misunderstandings through gender roles, and disagreements so big that they make the earth shake (quite literally, the disagreement over the apple did exactly that)...they even find a baby and have disagreements over him and what their goals are to nurse him. The book, in many ways, is also a comment on Mark Twain's perception of religion. He takes the very traditional and elemental story of Adam and Eve, the ultimate story of man and woman and their traditional places in society, and throws it out of proportion, making it funny, enjoyable, and truly as nonreligious as possible. Religion is scarcely mentioned in the book, if at all, which is one of the main reasons Mark Twain so daringly chose the topic of Adam and Eve to express his disinterest in religion. In fact, the characters, specifically Eve, question their existence and the perception of religion themselves, mostly substituting Mark Twain's own thoughts on the topic. Naturally, both the accounts of Adam and Eve are incredibly different, Adam's being a short, lazy description of his days in the Garden of Eden, and Eve's being a meticolously detailed description and fascination with the environment around her. However, despite the shocking differences between the two, the final conclusion of the book is one of complete and total love from both sides, closing the book in a wonderfully pleasant and heartwarming way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    Amazing!

    An outstanding piece of literature written by Twain, creating believable points of view of Adam and Eve. I was put on an emotional roller coaster, laughing, crying, sympathizing and reasoning. I think this is a classic masterpiece one that should be a school requirement even! You will surely enjoy this quick read and soon be passing it along to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    I had ...

    never even heard of the book before I saw it in the library. I got it and read it within a couple of hours. Amazing book. I love how Twain's mind works and how he understood the thinking of both men and women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    huh.....never knew......

    Loved this audio book! Funny, Insightful, and enticing! This book held me captive and could not put it down for a second. Twains creativeness is awesome. At times, I'd forget Adam and Eve were the very first couple. Twain describes Eve, and all woman kind, wonderfully and to a T. An awareness came over me about how we (women) truly are. No mention of Gods scoldings or conversations with Adam and Eve. I would have liked to have heard HIS voice calling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2002

    classic

    This is a literary classic not to be missed. Easily read over just a few hours, it is delightful and thought provoking. A great introduction to Twain if you haven't read him before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1