Customer Reviews for

Diary

Average Rating 4
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read in years.

This is the only book I've ever finished and had to re-read within the week to catch the details I missed the first time through. Definately off beat, from an author who's known for off beat. Wish I could have shared this with a book club.

posted by gates on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't mak...
I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't make this your first.

posted by 3321272 on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Best book I've read in years.

    This is the only book I've ever finished and had to re-read within the week to catch the details I missed the first time through. Definately off beat, from an author who's known for off beat. Wish I could have shared this with a book club.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Diary by Chuck Palahnuick

    Its been awhile since ive read this story, but it has stuck in my mind and i felt it needed to be rated. I thoroughly enjoy Palahniuk's work. this particular book had a certain mystery to it(as do many of his other novels)that kept me involved. I couldnt wait to get out of work just to read this book, The Diary. I highly recommend it to people who just enjoy a good read. It keeps your interest, and keeps you guessing. Palanuick has such a way about his writing, that makes it hard to put his books down. His imagination is truly inventive. If you have never experienced Mr. Palahnuick I suggest you go out and buy one his books. if i had to describe his style I'd say blunt, outlandish, and at times can be a little twisted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Immediately grabs you and pulls you in!

    I really enjoyed this book. Chuck Palahniuk's protagonist Misty writes in a diary to her comatose husband Peter, detailing their lives and the current happenings on Waytansea Island in case he comes around.

    Peter's coma is the result of a failed suicide attempt. While he is in the coma Misty learns of hidden rooms in the homes he has recently renovated. Each of the rooms is covered with graffiti of Peter's anger and warnings to the inhabitants. She is called to each home and threatened with lawsuits by the owners. At the first of these occurrences Misty meets a fellow named Angel who seems to take an interest in the graffiti and ensconcing himself into Misty's life.

    Soon strange things begin to happen to Misty, she begins having horrible headaches and finds herself in a trance-like state with the only thought in her mind being painting. She is pushed by her mother-in-law, daughter and the residents of the island to paint every time she is in their presence. She is compelled to pick up her paintbrushes and spends weeks locked in an attic room of the Island's historic hotel painting with such a fervour she forgoes eating and wears a catheter so she won't have to leave her work. Once she is done she has created 100 paintings that are all part of a large painting she has never seen that is to be revealed in an exhibit for the summer people which flock to the island.

    With the help of Angel, Misty uncovers a tradition to replenish Waytansea's wealth by bringing a female artist destined for greatness to the island by marriage to one of their sons. The son gives his life as a sacrifice which is the catalyst for the process to begin. The one thing the inhabitants of the island don't count on is that Misty's husband Peter is homosexual and Angel was his lover and the confidant of his disdain for the tradition and also the man Peter is intent to run away with.

    The book comes to an end with a final twist the reader doesn't see coming. Chuck Palahniuk proves once again what a talented writer he is and will continue to be thrilling the reader in a way no other can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    May Not Be For Everyone

    Thid book will pull your heart strings, kill your brain, and take you one an emotional rollercoaster. This book is amazing, but not for the faint of heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Boring.

    I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't make this your first.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Extremely addicting

    In Chuck Palahniuk¿s book, Diary, he told a mind boggling story, which will keep you on the edge of your seat till the very end. His way of switching back and forth between first point of view and back again to a third person omniscient point of view is what makes this book unique and it will keep drawing you back, but it will also make it sometimes a bit hard to understand, so it¿s best if you re-read the book a second time to see all the little details you¿ve missed, which were a lot for me. For the first few chapters it¿s boring and seems to just go on and on with descriptions, but trust me when I say to keep going on. Around the middle of the book is when it gets extremely interesting with deeper plots and the puzzle pieces start to actually fit together perfectly. Similar to all of Palahniuk¿s works, it¿s a brain teaser, and it will always surprise you by how he ends this marvelous tale of rituals, and the horrible mess that will become of this small island town, but while it¿s something you¿ve come to expect from Palahniuk it¿s also something fresh, and something that no one, in my opinion, could have done any better. With many twists, and flat characters turning into somewhat complex, it¿s a perfect read for anyone who enjoys books that can¿t be judged by the first few pages. Palahniuk finds a strange, almost creepy way to describe the people, the town, and the imagery of things, making them seem as they should be the one thing you should know, yet how they have this whole new different life of which you¿ve never expect. From the moment the people in the book begin to seem to have a sort of façade, is the moment when you start to find out about the psychological thrills, and all of the misfortunes of Misty Marie happen to be coming first hand from the island¿s elder owners. A reoccurring theme in Diary is torture, and how it is what all great artists, like himself, need to make great pieces of art, which is why Misty will only start painting stunning pictures when she seems to be in a great deal of pain and hallucinations. The way Palahniuk writes on about words, that Peter had written on the wall, that seem to tell a story of horrible torture, and of his life as a servant to the elders of Waytensea Island, is ingenious and as the story progresses on, you will find yourself entwined with the book at how the past is talking to Misty, and hoping she is somewhat different, and while hoping the protagonist will win in the end you find yourself feeling terrible as you come to realize that she will never win in this recurring battle with the people of Waytensea Island. All in all, this book is one of the mystifying, intriguing books that will keep you reading and making up little details with what Chuck Palahniuk has written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Good!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Dear Diary

    (I just randomly put a rating for this). At the beginning of 5th grade, I thought my crush moved to a different school but it turned out I was wrong! That's half good and half bad; it's bad because I don't wanna be nervous and blush every time I see him, (I'm not telling you the good reason...).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    To diary

    Wait till eight grade. You'll be like...I've got dis. I didnt really stress over the beginning of middle school....had no friends or crushes to worry about......i didnt really care..but that was me. Have fun kid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To diary

    NEVER put last names out in public

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To Diary

    I know that feeling! I started sixth grade last year and I was shaking like a leaf I was so nervous! Now I'm going into 7th grade thi year. Hopefully I won't be as nervous! Probably not, because two of my friends are in my homeroom. But if you need any advice on how to get through 6th grade, I'm right here! The girl who's experienced it all! Except for boyfriends but whatever! ~RD

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To diary

    Im starting Sixth Grade next week on Thursday and boy its a long walk! I cant say i know how you feel but im probably am soon. My crush is going to a private school and its . . . Well good start but I wouldnt list all my friends and their last names because you might be putting them in Danger! Btw im &female!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To diary

    Just wait for 7th grade. 6th seems awesome. I started 6th last year, it was nice. I akso feelt just like you. Now in 7th grade it starts all over exept there is even more pressure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Stonekit

    Telk me anygood books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Hey clicxk me Hey click me

    Djhdjdjhddjdhxfhfbfjejdhdjfjfjjfjcjfhfhfjfhruejfhddjdjshffhfjdfjfjfjffhdddhdhdhhhdhshshhgjghbhgfghjjdfjnjfhfffdfhhjdjhdhhhshshshxhxdhcdtdfggghhcglhhkvdxhvdffxxgfffffffgghffggfvvhgcvbbcfghhghjhvhvcgdsgdfgddgfdfghfgghhhhggdfgjghtfffghgjfggnhnghngghggbcbbdhgghbcvbhxvfghfhbvbggghggvbbbnbvbnbvbbbbbbbbbgfghfgvffghcfghdggdvrghgfhffhffghhvvbncfhnbbbbbjjhhbbbnnjjjjbsjsdfjdhxfgdffddffdssfghbggcfvvcfffsddxjxjjjjjjhhhhhhjgjgghggvdrhsfhffghfhyghhfhhfvhvghfghhfhhvhjgghhgghhhhhngghhbvhgxghfghhggggfgghhjjjhghhgvhbghjyhhgggggvghjhhhhhghjghjgynfhjfjfhgghgfhgfgbjjjggdfghhjjhgffsdggghjhhhnhhhhhhhggrttgggggvvvggghhchgbvggghjhghhbjhhhhhjjjjjhjmgngbhhhjfhhfhvhbcgghhjbhhjhjjgjgfhfhcffccjcdjfhfjncncfcjjffjfjfffffjcnccccdjdjfkfjfffjfffjfsjfncjfjfjffdjdjcjfjjjjhhhthfgddghffhfddggthjjjjffjvhhggjjfyhfvhgghgvggdgggggfgggffcgxggdghgfdtfdgggggnjkggffgghfddtgdhdcrhtdggfttghdthgggbbbbnbhhgggggvcfggghgffvvgvvccffffccccdtyggffhggffgfghfgffrgerjfjgjffffjfjjjjfjfjjfjfjfjjjjjjjjbfgfffggjdthgfhvdhxgjfgncdvjkhjjgkhfjfffjjjjjjfjffhfffuhhjfhfjfhjkjkjhjhjjdjdjfhfdfhfjhytgdghggghhrgcfgdgeytyhhhgggghhhjjjjjjjjgfghnghijgtffgtgfgghhhfggghgghhhjhhhggdfhhgdggtjjjkhggggjthjhghhhggvghhhvdgggfjfgjghffhfgggghgthghhfgahjghhgfhjgjkvjjjjlhihijj jdjdffjfjdncjncjgjggggkcjcjcjcfjkkfkkfffkfkfffjfjfjfhjhjjjcjfjfjfjfjfjfjffjfjffjfjfjfhffjff

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I love the gritty details of this story. It made it seem far mor

    I love the gritty details of this story. It made it seem far more real and horrifying than many books in the horror and thriller genres I've read in the year since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Good

    always kept you guessing, very suspenseful! i'm not onto read the rest of his books! well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent Palahniuk novel

    Diary is a wonderful novel, filled with great characters that are in an intriguing setting. The main character [Misty] is very complex, and the book gives us a healthy dose of the dark humor and psychological thrills that we've come to expect from Palahniuk. The use of diary entries is very effective in this narrative, as it provides us with intimate scenes without being too cliche. With a classic Palahniuk twist at the end, this book demands the attention of anyone who has an interest in modern fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    First Chuck P.

    This was the first book I read by him, and so it is up there with Survivor and Choke for me. However, I'd recommend people new to C.P. to try one of the aforementioned books first. Because his style is so similar between novels, the first one you read is likely to be your favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Eh

    I really love Chuck Palahniuk's work, but Diary fell a little short for me. I found it quite boring, over all, even though the plot was interesting. The way the plot flowed kind of turned me off to it, and I started to feel like I was forcing myself to read toward the end of the book, though I was a little surprised and amused by the ending (as I usually am with Palahniuk). I'd give a 3.5 if I could give a half star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13