Customer Reviews for

Diary

Average Rating 4
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read in years.

This is the only book I've ever finished and had to re-read within the week to catch the details I missed the first time through. Definately off beat, from an author who's known for off beat. Wish I could have shared this with a book club.

posted by gates on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't mak...
I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't make this your first.

posted by 3321272 on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    If only everyone's diary were written by Palahniuk...

    First of all, I love Palahniuk. All of his work has a way of gluing itself to my hand when I'm reading it. This is one of my favorite novels of his. It's not only filled with suspense and mystery, but art and passion. From the beginning to the end there is a "wow factor" that continuously sneaks up on you. The book moves from the present to the past through the memories of the protagonist, but throughout the book you feel like there is a part of the future in the past. You will not understand it until the end, and then it might still be a mystery. I would recommend this book to those who like to read, but also don't mind re-reading a few pages if they don't quite understand what's going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Good book

    Cleverly written

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    Disappointing ending

    This story was actually pretty good. It had a lot of suspense, and was very interesting. I thought it was interesting because it had a lot of mystery. A woman who's husband was in a coma receives messages and warnings. Since the husband was working on houses, the wife gets a lot of calls telling her to check out the houses because they're missing rooms that were there before the husband got into a coma. It actually made me pretty scared when i was reading it over spring break at night. In addition, there was a lot of flashbacks that completes the story, and at the end it made sense, but it was weak. It's like the book Holes, where it all connects at the end. Although the story line was fine, it was confusing as well. But the way the plot ends by the girl making the island wealthy, and making the wealthy burn just because of her art. In conclusion, this book was pretty unrealistic, however had a mysterious and suspenseful storyline. I don't really recommend people to read this book, since the "legend of the island" is really weak.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Diary Review Extravaganza

    This book is written as a coma diary kept by a patient's wife, Misty Tracy Wilmot who lives in a once quaint, now tourist infested island town. She works as a maid in the island's huge hotel and has to serve the tourists that she hates. Her husband was a contractor who remodeled rich family's houses. Upon returning home, these families have discovered that certain rooms in their houses have "gone missing". Tracy's husband had been plastering over doors and writing vile messages on the walls of those rooms. Since then, he had attempted suicide and is now in a coma. Through her stress, Tracy looks back to her childhood dream of drawing. This book is very interesting. The author, Chuck Palahniuk, captures the feelings of the characters very well. He shows the protagonist's hatred towards the people that she serves and reflects his own opinions in her words. He is also very direct in his writings. The only part of this book that I did not like was that it was depressing. Above all, I loved the characters, plot, and general feeling of the book.

    ShaneManly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well written, but extremely creepy

    I have only ever read Fight Club by this author before, so I wasn't sure what to expect.
    This book creeped me out and made me sick to my stomach. Who thinks of such a story??
    I felt so bad for Misty and the whole "pain and suffering" theme was so depressing.
    I would not recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Diary

    So enthralled was I with the book I last had read, that I had to go back and grab another one. I was already in a nihilistic mood and it seemed perfect to simply continue reading along the same vein. After `Survivor: A Novel¿ I picked up `Diary: A Novel¿.<BR/><BR/>As it turns out, the tools that Chuck used in `Fight Club¿ and `Survivor¿ carry right along into this book, which deals with Misty Marie Kleinman, once an artist, now a waitress with a husband in a coma, living with a mother in law whom she must take care of and a daughter that is not exactly loving. Living in the secluded island of Waytensea, the woman feels like she is about as low as she can sink until she begins to get calls from her husband¿s clients. Apparently, rooms in their homes are missing. Their closets, their kitchens, their studies. Randomly, these vacationers are coming to their summer homes only to find it one room smaller. After putting a hole through the wall they will find the missing room with apocalyptic graffiti spray painted all over the walls. Accompanied by a man named Angel, Misty begins to examine the situation and eventually, as the story unfolds and inspiration begins to surge in a most disturbing way, everything that seemed relatively normal in her life takes a very gruesome turn.<BR/><BR/>I had already braced myself for some heavy content, but not quite this heavy. And perhaps it is the fact that Diary lacks the humor that Survivor had. That missing balances really makes the reader sink. The subject spirals downwards to a very maddening climax that keeps twisting until the very end, but without the humor (or smaller doses of it) it hits a bit harder. It is an amazing thriller, disturbing and disconcerting, but definitely hard hitting. It will leave you with a disturbed feeling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book...

    This book is great. It is typical Palahniuk, you never know what to expect. Palahniuk always introduces new ways of looking at the world. Try this book, I bet you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Very suprising

    Now, for all of you that think that Chuck's first few books are his only good ones, I beg to differ. Of course, I'd say Fight Club or Survivor was my favorite of his, but Diary is a real page turner if ever I read one. It's almost holocaust-like at one point and gets you very emotionally involved. What I mean is, you hate the people who are the villains of the story. I recommend it to anyone with two eyes and an imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Beautiful as it is painful

    The entire text makes for a marvelous ride. The beginning is a little slow but after you get past it, you realize that it only sets up the rest of the story. It is by far the best book I have ever read and it will make for excellent rainy saturday reads in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Diary's like a wave, it has it's highs and lows

    I don't understand what all the hype is about. When I first began reading Diary it was so just boring to me. I was like what the heck? But I like Chuck P. so I forged on. I'm glad I did because it did get really interesting. But with the whole curse thing I found it to be a real let down. I mean the idea of a curse is all good. But the way it end was just disappointing. People were so in awe of her paintings they didn't realize that the hotel caught on fire. What did she pain anyways. I really would of like to have known that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    not palahniuks number one

    I started reading Palahniuk with Survivor, and expected the same performance with Diary, and was dissapointed. While Diary was intriguing and stimulating, it lacked a solid concept and instead was montaged with multiple more shallow ideas. Diary was excellent, but not my favorite at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Love this book

    i've read almost all of the books by this author and Diary is one of my favorites. it is captivating and fascinating. i've read it several times and can't wait for him to write another fiction book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    amazing

    this book mezmorized me from the second i picked it up and started reading. this was the first book i read by this author and i cant wait to read more. he keeps you locked into the book and makes you not want to put it down. this book made me want to paint and express myself. this book was the best book i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    A real thought provoker!!!

    This is truely an amazing book! This is the first of Palahniuk's books that I have read! It truely instilled a love of his writing style however and it makes me want to go out a buy the rest! This novel puts real questions into your minds! Because afterall we all are looking for our own peice of immortality! A must read!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    Inspired

    This is the first book I have read by this author. I have friends who swear by his writing and I can see why. He is very talented and imaginative. It's hard to catagorize this book - so I'd have to say it falls somewhere between suspense and truly bizarro. It twists and turns and is completely unpredictable. I liked the way it ended, although, I can see why some people might not. I just finished reading it about a week ago and I'm still thinking about the ending. It is a good example of how dangerous 'old truths' can be and how crazy people can be. P.S. Where do you find your inspiration?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    diary

    Chuck Palahniuk, yet again writes another great book. From the beginning to the end it keeps you on the edge of your seat by unraveling the ledgend of the island. This book makes you realize many aspects of life with, ofcourse the Chuck Palahniuk spin. Though, a little confusing throughout the book with some careful thought you can realize how great this book really is. Diary, is an outstanding novel that I highly reccomend because of its interesting and unique plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Pretty good but .....

    This is the first book I read from this author. I heard such great things about it that I just went out and bought it. I was glued to this book for 6 hours straight! I loved that it kept me in suspense for most of the time but the end completely ruined it for me. I understand the appreciation people have for this book since it is written so well, but it left me with a truck load of questions and disappointment. Maybe he should write a second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    What happened ?

    I've read every one of Chuck's novels and can't believe this was written by the same author. A really horrible book. I guess everyone is entitled to a klunker but this one is so inferior to his other works that I'm just very surprised and disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Briliance yet again

    Chuck Palahnuik is definately one of a kind and this story is filled with both classic (i.e fight club and survivor) attitudes that he has used in many of his writings. This novel, however, infuses fundamental structure of almost, dare I say, a fairy tale. A pure stroke of genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Good, not AS good

    I have read every Palahniuk book...I enjoy them all, but some are definitely better than others. I'd put Diary right in the middle. Its certainly no Choke or Fight Club, but I did enjoy it more than Lullaby and Invisible Monsters. The story was pretty entertaining, but the writing was excellent. Not his best but worth reading for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13