Customer Reviews for

Diary

Average Rating 4
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read in years.

This is the only book I've ever finished and had to re-read within the week to catch the details I missed the first time through. Definately off beat, from an author who's known for off beat. Wish I could have shared this with a book club.

posted by gates on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't mak...
I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't make this your first.

posted by 3321272 on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Immediately grabs you and pulls you in!

    I really enjoyed this book. Chuck Palahniuk's protagonist Misty writes in a diary to her comatose husband Peter, detailing their lives and the current happenings on Waytansea Island in case he comes around.

    Peter's coma is the result of a failed suicide attempt. While he is in the coma Misty learns of hidden rooms in the homes he has recently renovated. Each of the rooms is covered with graffiti of Peter's anger and warnings to the inhabitants. She is called to each home and threatened with lawsuits by the owners. At the first of these occurrences Misty meets a fellow named Angel who seems to take an interest in the graffiti and ensconcing himself into Misty's life.

    Soon strange things begin to happen to Misty, she begins having horrible headaches and finds herself in a trance-like state with the only thought in her mind being painting. She is pushed by her mother-in-law, daughter and the residents of the island to paint every time she is in their presence. She is compelled to pick up her paintbrushes and spends weeks locked in an attic room of the Island's historic hotel painting with such a fervour she forgoes eating and wears a catheter so she won't have to leave her work. Once she is done she has created 100 paintings that are all part of a large painting she has never seen that is to be revealed in an exhibit for the summer people which flock to the island.

    With the help of Angel, Misty uncovers a tradition to replenish Waytansea's wealth by bringing a female artist destined for greatness to the island by marriage to one of their sons. The son gives his life as a sacrifice which is the catalyst for the process to begin. The one thing the inhabitants of the island don't count on is that Misty's husband Peter is homosexual and Angel was his lover and the confidant of his disdain for the tradition and also the man Peter is intent to run away with.

    The book comes to an end with a final twist the reader doesn't see coming. Chuck Palahniuk proves once again what a talented writer he is and will continue to be thrilling the reader in a way no other can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Extremely addicting

    In Chuck Palahniuk¿s book, Diary, he told a mind boggling story, which will keep you on the edge of your seat till the very end. His way of switching back and forth between first point of view and back again to a third person omniscient point of view is what makes this book unique and it will keep drawing you back, but it will also make it sometimes a bit hard to understand, so it¿s best if you re-read the book a second time to see all the little details you¿ve missed, which were a lot for me. For the first few chapters it¿s boring and seems to just go on and on with descriptions, but trust me when I say to keep going on. Around the middle of the book is when it gets extremely interesting with deeper plots and the puzzle pieces start to actually fit together perfectly. Similar to all of Palahniuk¿s works, it¿s a brain teaser, and it will always surprise you by how he ends this marvelous tale of rituals, and the horrible mess that will become of this small island town, but while it¿s something you¿ve come to expect from Palahniuk it¿s also something fresh, and something that no one, in my opinion, could have done any better. With many twists, and flat characters turning into somewhat complex, it¿s a perfect read for anyone who enjoys books that can¿t be judged by the first few pages. Palahniuk finds a strange, almost creepy way to describe the people, the town, and the imagery of things, making them seem as they should be the one thing you should know, yet how they have this whole new different life of which you¿ve never expect. From the moment the people in the book begin to seem to have a sort of façade, is the moment when you start to find out about the psychological thrills, and all of the misfortunes of Misty Marie happen to be coming first hand from the island¿s elder owners. A reoccurring theme in Diary is torture, and how it is what all great artists, like himself, need to make great pieces of art, which is why Misty will only start painting stunning pictures when she seems to be in a great deal of pain and hallucinations. The way Palahniuk writes on about words, that Peter had written on the wall, that seem to tell a story of horrible torture, and of his life as a servant to the elders of Waytensea Island, is ingenious and as the story progresses on, you will find yourself entwined with the book at how the past is talking to Misty, and hoping she is somewhat different, and while hoping the protagonist will win in the end you find yourself feeling terrible as you come to realize that she will never win in this recurring battle with the people of Waytensea Island. All in all, this book is one of the mystifying, intriguing books that will keep you reading and making up little details with what Chuck Palahniuk has written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    To diary

    Wait till eight grade. You'll be like...I've got dis. I didnt really stress over the beginning of middle school....had no friends or crushes to worry about......i didnt really care..but that was me. Have fun kid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Good

    always kept you guessing, very suspenseful! i'm not onto read the rest of his books! well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    First Chuck P.

    This was the first book I read by him, and so it is up there with Survivor and Choke for me. However, I'd recommend people new to C.P. to try one of the aforementioned books first. Because his style is so similar between novels, the first one you read is likely to be your favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Eh

    I really love Chuck Palahniuk's work, but Diary fell a little short for me. I found it quite boring, over all, even though the plot was interesting. The way the plot flowed kind of turned me off to it, and I started to feel like I was forcing myself to read toward the end of the book, though I was a little surprised and amused by the ending (as I usually am with Palahniuk). I'd give a 3.5 if I could give a half star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    Disappointing ending

    This story was actually pretty good. It had a lot of suspense, and was very interesting. I thought it was interesting because it had a lot of mystery. A woman who's husband was in a coma receives messages and warnings. Since the husband was working on houses, the wife gets a lot of calls telling her to check out the houses because they're missing rooms that were there before the husband got into a coma. It actually made me pretty scared when i was reading it over spring break at night. In addition, there was a lot of flashbacks that completes the story, and at the end it made sense, but it was weak. It's like the book Holes, where it all connects at the end. Although the story line was fine, it was confusing as well. But the way the plot ends by the girl making the island wealthy, and making the wealthy burn just because of her art. In conclusion, this book was pretty unrealistic, however had a mysterious and suspenseful storyline. I don't really recommend people to read this book, since the "legend of the island" is really weak.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Diary Review Extravaganza

    This book is written as a coma diary kept by a patient's wife, Misty Tracy Wilmot who lives in a once quaint, now tourist infested island town. She works as a maid in the island's huge hotel and has to serve the tourists that she hates. Her husband was a contractor who remodeled rich family's houses. Upon returning home, these families have discovered that certain rooms in their houses have "gone missing". Tracy's husband had been plastering over doors and writing vile messages on the walls of those rooms. Since then, he had attempted suicide and is now in a coma. Through her stress, Tracy looks back to her childhood dream of drawing. This book is very interesting. The author, Chuck Palahniuk, captures the feelings of the characters very well. He shows the protagonist's hatred towards the people that she serves and reflects his own opinions in her words. He is also very direct in his writings. The only part of this book that I did not like was that it was depressing. Above all, I loved the characters, plot, and general feeling of the book.

    ShaneManly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Diary

    So enthralled was I with the book I last had read, that I had to go back and grab another one. I was already in a nihilistic mood and it seemed perfect to simply continue reading along the same vein. After `Survivor: A Novel¿ I picked up `Diary: A Novel¿.<BR/><BR/>As it turns out, the tools that Chuck used in `Fight Club¿ and `Survivor¿ carry right along into this book, which deals with Misty Marie Kleinman, once an artist, now a waitress with a husband in a coma, living with a mother in law whom she must take care of and a daughter that is not exactly loving. Living in the secluded island of Waytensea, the woman feels like she is about as low as she can sink until she begins to get calls from her husband¿s clients. Apparently, rooms in their homes are missing. Their closets, their kitchens, their studies. Randomly, these vacationers are coming to their summer homes only to find it one room smaller. After putting a hole through the wall they will find the missing room with apocalyptic graffiti spray painted all over the walls. Accompanied by a man named Angel, Misty begins to examine the situation and eventually, as the story unfolds and inspiration begins to surge in a most disturbing way, everything that seemed relatively normal in her life takes a very gruesome turn.<BR/><BR/>I had already braced myself for some heavy content, but not quite this heavy. And perhaps it is the fact that Diary lacks the humor that Survivor had. That missing balances really makes the reader sink. The subject spirals downwards to a very maddening climax that keeps twisting until the very end, but without the humor (or smaller doses of it) it hits a bit harder. It is an amazing thriller, disturbing and disconcerting, but definitely hard hitting. It will leave you with a disturbed feeling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    not palahniuks number one

    I started reading Palahniuk with Survivor, and expected the same performance with Diary, and was dissapointed. While Diary was intriguing and stimulating, it lacked a solid concept and instead was montaged with multiple more shallow ideas. Diary was excellent, but not my favorite at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    Inspired

    This is the first book I have read by this author. I have friends who swear by his writing and I can see why. He is very talented and imaginative. It's hard to catagorize this book - so I'd have to say it falls somewhere between suspense and truly bizarro. It twists and turns and is completely unpredictable. I liked the way it ended, although, I can see why some people might not. I just finished reading it about a week ago and I'm still thinking about the ending. It is a good example of how dangerous 'old truths' can be and how crazy people can be. P.S. Where do you find your inspiration?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    diary

    Chuck Palahniuk, yet again writes another great book. From the beginning to the end it keeps you on the edge of your seat by unraveling the ledgend of the island. This book makes you realize many aspects of life with, ofcourse the Chuck Palahniuk spin. Though, a little confusing throughout the book with some careful thought you can realize how great this book really is. Diary, is an outstanding novel that I highly reccomend because of its interesting and unique plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Good, not AS good

    I have read every Palahniuk book...I enjoy them all, but some are definitely better than others. I'd put Diary right in the middle. Its certainly no Choke or Fight Club, but I did enjoy it more than Lullaby and Invisible Monsters. The story was pretty entertaining, but the writing was excellent. Not his best but worth reading for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    What will he think of next?

    One would imagine that Chuck P. should at some time come to the end of his creative tether, but yet he churns out another captivating and twisted story. In my opinion, Diary receives silver when compared to the rest of his work, falling short of the masterpiece Fight Club. As with all novels, Diary contains some underlining weaknesses, but those are easily overlooked by a sheer genius plot. All I ask is what will he add next to his already impressive résumé?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Okay, but not great..

    I'll give this book an 'Okay, but not great..' with 4 stars instead of 3. I liked it but did not enjoy it as much as I had Lullaby, Choke and Fight Club. I say this book is on par with Survivor. It's a good book, but not as great as Chuck is capable of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Twisted in true Chuck fashion

    I was fascinated by the varying degrees of reviews for this novel. The beauty of his books is that nothing is what it seems, and you can never truly predict the outcome. I enjoyed this novel much more than I did 'Lullaby'. True, there is one part of the book that is reminiscent of Rosemary's Baby, however, if you're a fan of Chuck's, you'll remain one after this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Chuck does it again.

    Interesting story. Though I thought the characters were a little weak. Normally his characters are very strong and the typical reader can see a little of themselves in his books. This one? I doubt it for most. Why do his books seem to be getting shorter and shorter? Regardless, pick it up, another good one by Chuck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    If you enjoy dark, black humor, you will love this book

    If you are person who enjoys reading a book with your eyebrows together and your upper lip rising in a most questioning way all the while asking yourself, 'What did he just say?' You will probably be thoroughly entertained by this book. I certainly was. This book sat on my shelf for a few months continually getting passed up by some other book. Don't make that mistake. I actually laughed out loud a number of times and was smile many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Twisting the fairy tale

    Meet a rich man and settle down... So many women here that phrase. Here we see a spin on that old tale. This was a wonderfully crafted novel, filled with realism, suspense, and even the spiritual. He does a great job of setting the stage of what is to come. While this isn't a book with surprising twists, and the end doesn't have the cohesiveness the rest of the book seems to have, the humanity and the longing within the main character give the book the drive to be a success. I definately recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Good, but not Chuck's Best (By Far)

    Take the dramatic elements from all Palahniuk's other work (F&R discounted) and mix them with a touch of The Shining. Reads gradual, slowly bringing you twists and many turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5