Customer Reviews for

Diary

Average Rating 4
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read in years.

This is the only book I've ever finished and had to re-read within the week to catch the details I missed the first time through. Definately off beat, from an author who's known for off beat. Wish I could have shared this with a book club.

posted by gates on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't mak...
I knew I would eventually find one of Chuck's books i didn't like. I can stop looking now. I feel bad saying that because I usually love his work. But i found nothing compelling or interesting about any of the characters. If you're new to the author, please don't make this your first.

posted by 3321272 on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Best book I've read in years.

    This is the only book I've ever finished and had to re-read within the week to catch the details I missed the first time through. Definately off beat, from an author who's known for off beat. Wish I could have shared this with a book club.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Diary by Chuck Palahnuick

    Its been awhile since ive read this story, but it has stuck in my mind and i felt it needed to be rated. I thoroughly enjoy Palahniuk's work. this particular book had a certain mystery to it(as do many of his other novels)that kept me involved. I couldnt wait to get out of work just to read this book, The Diary. I highly recommend it to people who just enjoy a good read. It keeps your interest, and keeps you guessing. Palanuick has such a way about his writing, that makes it hard to put his books down. His imagination is truly inventive. If you have never experienced Mr. Palahnuick I suggest you go out and buy one his books. if i had to describe his style I'd say blunt, outlandish, and at times can be a little twisted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    May Not Be For Everyone

    Thid book will pull your heart strings, kill your brain, and take you one an emotional rollercoaster. This book is amazing, but not for the faint of heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Good!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To diary

    NEVER put last names out in public

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To Diary

    I know that feeling! I started sixth grade last year and I was shaking like a leaf I was so nervous! Now I'm going into 7th grade thi year. Hopefully I won't be as nervous! Probably not, because two of my friends are in my homeroom. But if you need any advice on how to get through 6th grade, I'm right here! The girl who's experienced it all! Except for boyfriends but whatever! ~RD

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To diary

    Im starting Sixth Grade next week on Thursday and boy its a long walk! I cant say i know how you feel but im probably am soon. My crush is going to a private school and its . . . Well good start but I wouldnt list all my friends and their last names because you might be putting them in Danger! Btw im &female!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To diary

    Just wait for 7th grade. 6th seems awesome. I started 6th last year, it was nice. I akso feelt just like you. Now in 7th grade it starts all over exept there is even more pressure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Stonekit

    Telk me anygood books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Hey clicxk me Hey click me

    Djhdjdjhddjdhxfhfbfjejdhdjfjfjjfjcjfhfhfjfhruejfhddjdjshffhfjdfjfjfjffhdddhdhdhhhdhshshhgjghbhgfghjjdfjnjfhfffdfhhjdjhdhhhshshshxhxdhcdtdfggghhcglhhkvdxhvdffxxgfffffffgghffggfvvhgcvbbcfghhghjhvhvcgdsgdfgddgfdfghfgghhhhggdfgjghtfffghgjfggnhnghngghggbcbbdhgghbcvbhxvfghfhbvbggghggvbbbnbvbnbvbbbbbbbbbgfghfgvffghcfghdggdvrghgfhffhffghhvvbncfhnbbbbbjjhhbbbnnjjjjbsjsdfjdhxfgdffddffdssfghbggcfvvcfffsddxjxjjjjjjhhhhhhjgjgghggvdrhsfhffghfhyghhfhhfvhvghfghhfhhvhjgghhgghhhhhngghhbvhgxghfghhggggfgghhjjjhghhgvhbghjyhhgggggvghjhhhhhghjghjgynfhjfjfhgghgfhgfgbjjjggdfghhjjhgffsdggghjhhhnhhhhhhhggrttgggggvvvggghhchgbvggghjhghhbjhhhhhjjjjjhjmgngbhhhjfhhfhvhbcgghhjbhhjhjjgjgfhfhcffccjcdjfhfjncncfcjjffjfjfffffjcnccccdjdjfkfjfffjfffjfsjfncjfjfjffdjdjcjfjjjjhhhthfgddghffhfddggthjjjjffjvhhggjjfyhfvhgghgvggdgggggfgggffcgxggdghgfdtfdgggggnjkggffgghfddtgdhdcrhtdggfttghdthgggbbbbnbhhgggggvcfggghgffvvgvvccffffccccdtyggffhggffgfghfgffrgerjfjgjffffjfjjjjfjfjjfjfjfjjjjjjjjbfgfffggjdthgfhvdhxgjfgncdvjkhjjgkhfjfffjjjjjjfjffhfffuhhjfhfjfhjkjkjhjhjjdjdjfhfdfhfjhytgdghggghhrgcfgdgeytyhhhgggghhhjjjjjjjjgfghnghijgtffgtgfgghhhfggghgghhhjhhhggdfhhgdggtjjjkhggggjthjhghhhggvghhhvdgggfjfgjghffhfgggghgthghhfgahjghhgfhjgjkvjjjjlhihijj jdjdffjfjdncjncjgjggggkcjcjcjcfjkkfkkfffkfkfffjfjfjfhjhjjjcjfjfjfjfjfjfjffjfjffjfjfjfhffjff

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I love the gritty details of this story. It made it seem far mor

    I love the gritty details of this story. It made it seem far more real and horrifying than many books in the horror and thriller genres I've read in the year since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent Palahniuk novel

    Diary is a wonderful novel, filled with great characters that are in an intriguing setting. The main character [Misty] is very complex, and the book gives us a healthy dose of the dark humor and psychological thrills that we've come to expect from Palahniuk. The use of diary entries is very effective in this narrative, as it provides us with intimate scenes without being too cliche. With a classic Palahniuk twist at the end, this book demands the attention of anyone who has an interest in modern fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    If only everyone's diary were written by Palahniuk...

    First of all, I love Palahniuk. All of his work has a way of gluing itself to my hand when I'm reading it. This is one of my favorite novels of his. It's not only filled with suspense and mystery, but art and passion. From the beginning to the end there is a "wow factor" that continuously sneaks up on you. The book moves from the present to the past through the memories of the protagonist, but throughout the book you feel like there is a part of the future in the past. You will not understand it until the end, and then it might still be a mystery. I would recommend this book to those who like to read, but also don't mind re-reading a few pages if they don't quite understand what's going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Good book

    Cleverly written

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book...

    This book is great. It is typical Palahniuk, you never know what to expect. Palahniuk always introduces new ways of looking at the world. Try this book, I bet you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Very suprising

    Now, for all of you that think that Chuck's first few books are his only good ones, I beg to differ. Of course, I'd say Fight Club or Survivor was my favorite of his, but Diary is a real page turner if ever I read one. It's almost holocaust-like at one point and gets you very emotionally involved. What I mean is, you hate the people who are the villains of the story. I recommend it to anyone with two eyes and an imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Beautiful as it is painful

    The entire text makes for a marvelous ride. The beginning is a little slow but after you get past it, you realize that it only sets up the rest of the story. It is by far the best book I have ever read and it will make for excellent rainy saturday reads in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Love this book

    i've read almost all of the books by this author and Diary is one of my favorites. it is captivating and fascinating. i've read it several times and can't wait for him to write another fiction book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    amazing

    this book mezmorized me from the second i picked it up and started reading. this was the first book i read by this author and i cant wait to read more. he keeps you locked into the book and makes you not want to put it down. this book made me want to paint and express myself. this book was the best book i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    A real thought provoker!!!

    This is truely an amazing book! This is the first of Palahniuk's books that I have read! It truely instilled a love of his writing style however and it makes me want to go out a buy the rest! This novel puts real questions into your minds! Because afterall we all are looking for our own peice of immortality! A must read!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5