Customer Reviews for

The Diary of Mattie Spenser

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    More Tantalizing than the Best 'Who-Dun-It'

    From the moment I read the first few words of Mattie's Diary, I was hooked. I tried to read it slowly and savour the well crafted story, only to find myself racing along as fast as I could to resolve the plight of a most human herione. Several times since the first reading, I have picked up the book again and began reading entries that were especially meaningful to me...each time with the same reward...a deep and powerful respect for the women who left all that was known to them and faced the terrors of crossing the Great Plains to settle our country!! The story of this wonderful woman intrigued me as no 'Who-Dun-It' ever has. It was impossible at times during the reading of this book to convince myself that it is a fictional work...so real were the values and the word pictures that were painted! In a nutshell, should be recommended reading for history classes, women's studies and quilters groups!!! A real treasure!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    Beyond outstanding...

    One of the finest books that I have read in years. I'll certainly be buying more copies to give to friends.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    What a keeper!

    I Read alot of books of this nature..I just could not put this one down..from the prologue to the Epilogue (which cannot be skipped) every question is answered and you are not left thinking 'Thats it!' I did not want it to end..I reccomend it to EVERYONE!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    Incredible Historian!

    Sandra Dallas vividly tells the story of the hardships of the western traveler. I have read several 'western diaries', this one is by far one of the best researched and quick paced journals. An excellent read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Unforgettable, quick, unique

    This is a wonderful book, told in the form of diary entries. It captures your attention and whisks you away to another time, but a time not so long ago. The book delivers a strong taste of history and what it was like to be a pioneer on the Colorado plains. I recommend this book to Sandra Dallas fans and to those who have not read any of her books, yet. Once you read this, you will want to read her other books, and they are definately worth the time!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read this!

    I didn't realize that Dallas had written this book in 1997; I thought I had found a "new" book. Dallas tells the story of Mattie and Luke, a young pioneering couple who make a life together on the prairie, facing fierce odds, romance, and some very unsettling, and marriage-rocking, truths. I was not only captivated by the story of our forefathers and mothers and the life that they led as they came over here and made their way, but that there was some very intense relationships. Yes, there were some desparate housewives on the prairie too! It will bring you to tears, but not the sappy stuff. It reads deeply, and sincerely. And in the end? Oh, just wait! This needs to be a movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book was outstanding! I could not put it down. It was truely amazing and I could reccomend it to any book lover anywhere!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Gr Howdoyoulikethemapplea113¿¿

    It was the most exstrodinary book ever!!!!!!<3 yolo you only live once

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Love this author!

    Great work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Awesome Story

    Well written - enjoyed every minute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Sandra Dallas you did it again

    I so loved this book. I've laughed and cried with Mattie and I know I shall read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    A delight!

    Sandra Dallas is one of my favorite authors and this book is a gem. Historical fiction at its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Great reading!

    I have recently 'discovered' Sandra Dallas, and now plan on reading every one of her books. This story drew me in immediately, and kept my attention till the last page. I hated to see the story end! Plus the ending very much surprised me; I did not see that twist coming. She is a great writer, telling wonderful stories of people I would like to meet. I highly recommend this book and this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Good read! I could not put it down and did not want the story to

    Good read! I could not put it down and did not want the story to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    The diary of Mattie Spenser

    An enjoyable read that I could not put down.
    I loved spending time with Mattie in her Home .
    A great story !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    very good book

    I love anything Sandra Dallas writes , again she hit a home run with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Fantastic Read!

    Absolutely enthralled with this story. I found myself thinking about the story and telling my husband about it in detail. This book was one that I just wanted to keep reading even when my eyes said no more!! You won't regret buying this one so what are you waiting for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    A must read

    Sandra Dallas never lets her fans down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    A delightful story!

    From the first words of her diary, I was hooked on Mattie Spencer's life as a settler in the Colorado Territory, which provided a fascinating look at the history of settling our country from a woman's point of view. I've enjoyed all of Sandra Dallas's books, with The Persian Pickle Club being my least favorite. I definitely recommend The Diary of Mattie Spencer to readers everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Loved this one!

    Excellent story. Hard to put this book down. I highly recommend this read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2