Customer Reviews for

Diary of a Player: How My Musical Heroes Made a Guitar Man Out of Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding

I've never written a review before, but I loved this book so much that I had to let everyone know! This book was well written and entertaining to read. I cried a little and laughed a whole lot. Once, I picked this book up. I just couldn't put it down. I wanted to know m...
I've never written a review before, but I loved this book so much that I had to let everyone know! This book was well written and entertaining to read. I cried a little and laughed a whole lot. Once, I picked this book up. I just couldn't put it down. I wanted to know more and more on what made Brad the "player" he is today.
Thank you, Papaw Jarvis for that wonderful gift you gave to Brad as a child. We all appreciate it.

posted by jaqford on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

great

i have this book on my nook it is really a great book love Brad Paisley great job Paisley

posted by impasley on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Outstanding

    I've never written a review before, but I loved this book so much that I had to let everyone know! This book was well written and entertaining to read. I cried a little and laughed a whole lot. Once, I picked this book up. I just couldn't put it down. I wanted to know more and more on what made Brad the "player" he is today.
    Thank you, Papaw Jarvis for that wonderful gift you gave to Brad as a child. We all appreciate it.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    This book tells about his love of the guitar, and how it became so important to him. Most importantly, it is FUNNY! Great read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A candid look at the rise to fame of Country Star Brad Paisley!

    What does country music, guitar heroes and an autobiography have in common? The newest novel called, Diary of A Player by Brad Paisley and David Wild. Welcome to the unique story of just how untalented Brad Paisley really believed himself to be and how he utilized the talents of creative legends like Buck Owens, Roy Clark, and Chet Atkins to help him turn his dream into a reality!

    This honest, funny, revealing book is one musician's true story of what's been a very musical life with strings attached. Diary of A Player is Brad Paisley's love letter to the guitar as an instrument that changes our lives and a loving tribute to the musical heroes that taught him everything he really needed to know about growing up.

    You will learn about the important people that came into Brad's life from his humble beginnings as an 8-year-old-boy who received a guitar from his grandfather one Christmas and his journey into learning how to become the talented musician we have come to love and adore. Believe it or not, he didn't just pick it up as a natural and begin playing. He actually gave it up for awhile much to the dismay of his grandfather. The reader is also along for the journey into how he met and married Kimberly Williams, his wife and what his thoughts are for his own children. Included with the book are candid photos of Brad's journey to stardom and some of the "guitar heroes" he has met along the way.

    I received this novel compliments of Simon and Schuster for my honest review and loved how simple the story was written. You actually feel as though Brad is sitting with you sharing his story in the words that spring to life off the page. You can see that even though he is a musical superstar today, the journey wasn't always the easy one we have a tendency to think of when comparing him to where he is today. I highly recommend this story to my readers and rate this autobiography a 5 out of 5 stars!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    I Love Brad Paisley

    I cant wait for this book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    You DON'T have to be a Brad Paisley fan or like Country music for that fact to read and enjoy this book.

    "This honest, funny, revealing book is one muscician's true story of what's been a very musical life with strings attatched. Diary of a Player is Brad Paisley's love letter to the guitar as an instrument that changes our lives and a loving salute to the musical heroes who taught him everything he really needed to know about growing up. These key figures in Paisley's musical life include his beloved grandfather and hid childhood teacher and bandmate Clarence Hank Goddard, as well as the more legendary Buck Owens and Chet Atkins, among many others! The impression these musical masters have had on Brad Paisley's life can be heard in every note he plays and in every song he sings. You'll also hear from some of Brad's many friends, like Vince Gill, Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban, and Sheryl Crow, and get some heartfelt guitar tips from this confessed country player."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    A MUST HAVE FOR BRAD PAISLEY FANS!

    I am currently reading this book and highly recommend it for all of his fans! I Love the book Brad and thanks so much for sharing some of your life stories with your fans!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Loved it!!

    As a lifelong country music fan I have to say that Brad Paisley is a true country legend in the making. This book was very entertaining & fun to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Songs

    I love that one song that him and carrie underwood sang that song reimind me! I soo love that song by though guys! Keep rocken!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Awesome

    Best book ever

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Excellent !

    I totally understand Brad's love of guitar. He is one of the most gifted guitarists in the business. I loved this book. No boring parts.
    Recommend to any music fan, but if you love guitar and playing guitar like I do .... I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    True talent

    A well written insight to a gifted player and an even more amazing man...he truly is country music...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Jean58

    I got this book as a gift! Once i started reading it i couldnt put it down. Brad is great! Im a big fan! Glad his granpa got him a guiter. Great book! Worth reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Country Music Fans Must Read!

    I will admit that I do not know a lot about music, but Brad Paisley does an amazing job of keeping the average non musical reader entertained. I loved his witty style and the ever present mood reflecting Mr. Paisley's joy in life. Also, I loved that the book acted as a kind of thank you note to the people who molded Brad Paisley and country music for that matter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Great Book/Great Guy

    I didn't know much about Brad before reading this book. I did know he is an exception guitar player. In his book Brad speaks very openly (and with humility) about the people who had the greatest influence on his life. He is quick to point out that many other people are responsible for his success-a refreshing perspective in todays world of instant celebrities.

    If you aren't a fan of country and not a guitar fanatic you will still appreciate this book. Something about it just seems to present a glass-half-full perspective, which is also refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I love brad paisly and his music

    Great guy!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    G

    I love him so much! <3 Brad Paisley forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great Book

    Brad Paisley is not only a great and talented entertainer but also a fabulous author. Very well written...it kept my attention through the whole book. A must read if your a huge and dedicated fan like me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Ab

    I wish he would end up in my bed.He is the best singer.Love his song camoflade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Diary of a Player

    Brad Paisley ;-) I wish you would stay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    A guitar journey!

    The main reason I read the book was for my interest in guitars. The book talked a lot about Brad's guitar journey, so that was a plus for me. His personal stories about family & friends was an added bonus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2