BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Diary of a Stage Mother's Daughter: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Melissa Francis, childhood star of Little House on the Prairie,

Melissa Francis, childhood star of Little House on the Prairie, writes a book about her life growing up with a stage mother. Having been an actress her whole life with her mom there every step made growing up anything but normal for Melissa. Between missing school fo...
Melissa Francis, childhood star of Little House on the Prairie, writes a book about her life growing up with a stage mother. Having been an actress her whole life with her mom there every step made growing up anything but normal for Melissa. Between missing school for auditions and her mother’s crazy mood swings her childhood was very emotional and challenging.

Not remembering Melissa Francis from Little House on the Prairie, I was not sure how much I would enjoy reading her story. I was very happily surprised by how much of her story really was about her mother and older sister, Tiffany. This was not a story only about Little House on the Prairie, this is a story about a mother who would only accept a perfect child and a picture perfect life and the kids that had to grow up with that mother.

Immediately I despised Melissa’s stage mother. How could a mother ever treat her daughters as she had? I do believe that she felt she was doing the absolute best for the girls, but nothing is further from the truth. As a mother myself, I would hope my kids would never feel the fear and pity Melissa and Tiffany felt towards their mother.

I loved following Melissa through her childhood journey to adulthood. My heart broke at her youth, getting put down and beat up one minute and the built up the next minute. I find it amazing that she made it to adulthood and to a normal adulthood with a successful career. It truly shows the strength Melissa has.

If you read this hoping for the inside scoop on Little House on the Prairie you will be disappointed. If you read the looking for a heartwarming and sometimes sad story about a young girl breaking away from her sometimes cruel mother and becoming a successful journalist, mother, wife and woman you will love this story as much as I did.

posted by CharlotteLynnsReviews on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Illuminating

Give it a few chapters and the juvenile writing steps up a notch. The story in itself is compelling. As a big fan of Little House on the Prairie I remembered the scenes that Melissa describes and she really was so cute and a fine little actor. Her personal story is h...
Give it a few chapters and the juvenile writing steps up a notch. The story in itself is compelling. As a big fan of Little House on the Prairie I remembered the scenes that Melissa describes and she really was so cute and a fine little actor. Her personal story is harrowing, though. Melissa writes very convincingly of her struggle with an ultra-abusive, manipulative mother and a weak father who apparently cannot see his daughters are being hit and kicked out of cars by their own mother - let alone save them. He does not stand up to this mother and yet he is a successful business who chose the entrepreneur route because he could not take orders; somehow, though, he is so helpless and weak under his wife. A bit contradictory but the mother is a real monster. I felt so very badly for Melissa and her sister Tiffany but it was also clear that Melissa had a special inner strength from her earliest days and that strength carried her through. She was awake the the wrong that was her mother and she knew she had the power to stop that family cycle.

posted by TwistOfFaith on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    Melissa Francis, childhood star of Little House on the Prairie,

    Melissa Francis, childhood star of Little House on the Prairie, writes a book about her life growing up with a stage mother. Having been an actress her whole life with her mom there every step made growing up anything but normal for Melissa. Between missing school for auditions and her mother’s crazy mood swings her childhood was very emotional and challenging.

    Not remembering Melissa Francis from Little House on the Prairie, I was not sure how much I would enjoy reading her story. I was very happily surprised by how much of her story really was about her mother and older sister, Tiffany. This was not a story only about Little House on the Prairie, this is a story about a mother who would only accept a perfect child and a picture perfect life and the kids that had to grow up with that mother.

    Immediately I despised Melissa’s stage mother. How could a mother ever treat her daughters as she had? I do believe that she felt she was doing the absolute best for the girls, but nothing is further from the truth. As a mother myself, I would hope my kids would never feel the fear and pity Melissa and Tiffany felt towards their mother.

    I loved following Melissa through her childhood journey to adulthood. My heart broke at her youth, getting put down and beat up one minute and the built up the next minute. I find it amazing that she made it to adulthood and to a normal adulthood with a successful career. It truly shows the strength Melissa has.

    If you read this hoping for the inside scoop on Little House on the Prairie you will be disappointed. If you read the looking for a heartwarming and sometimes sad story about a young girl breaking away from her sometimes cruel mother and becoming a successful journalist, mother, wife and woman you will love this story as much as I did.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Illuminating

    Give it a few chapters and the juvenile writing steps up a notch. The story in itself is compelling. As a big fan of Little House on the Prairie I remembered the scenes that Melissa describes and she really was so cute and a fine little actor. Her personal story is harrowing, though. Melissa writes very convincingly of her struggle with an ultra-abusive, manipulative mother and a weak father who apparently cannot see his daughters are being hit and kicked out of cars by their own mother - let alone save them. He does not stand up to this mother and yet he is a successful business who chose the entrepreneur route because he could not take orders; somehow, though, he is so helpless and weak under his wife. A bit contradictory but the mother is a real monster. I felt so very badly for Melissa and her sister Tiffany but it was also clear that Melissa had a special inner strength from her earliest days and that strength carried her through. She was awake the the wrong that was her mother and she knew she had the power to stop that family cycle.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Very entertaining read

    Sad, juicy and tragic look into the author's life as the daughter of a stage mother. I tore through it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Great read!

    Very sad story, brought me to tears a few times. Makes me examine my relationship with my children.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Enjoyed reading ...

    I was a Little House On The Prairie fan. Would recommend it to fans of the show.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    Wow. I was blown away by how her Mother treated her and her sist

    Wow. I was blown away by how her Mother treated her and her sister.
    This is a very emotional book. I was heart broken by the way they were raised. That woman needs serious mental help. I am truely impressed that Melissa turned out to be succesfull in her career and can see her Mothers mistakes for what they are. She's an inspiration for overcoming such a disasterous childhood.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Ilit

    Interesting

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    A Quick Read-- However, there were too many unanswered question

    A Quick Read--

    However, there were too many unanswered questions, such as what EXACTLY was the cause of Tiffany's death. I had to find out elsewhere on line.
    Also, I have trouble understanding the father in this book. He loved his children, but seemed emotionally absent. He seemed to be aware of the mother's
    problems, but not willing to intervene. And if it crossed her mind that her sister was bi-polar, why didn't it cross Melissa's mind that her mother had some sort of mental illness?Too many questions marks in this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Good book!!!!

    This book is worth every penny it cost!!! At first i thought her and her sister were spoiled brats , but keep reading and you will see it is so awful and unforgiveable the way her mom treats her whole family

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Stage mothers get a bad wrap for many good reasons. This is a fa

    Stage mothers get a bad wrap for many good reasons. This is a fascinating book that shows the affects of a stage mother on a child actress.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Little House on the Prairie is only a backdrop to this story of

    Little House on the Prairie is only a backdrop to this story of a power crazy stage mother who demands perfection of young Melissa. A fascinating portrait of a very disfunctional family. Five stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings  Although Littl

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

     Although Little House on the Prairie is not the show I know a lot of, I still wanted to read this memoir to hear an insight into the inner workings of childhood stardom and how it affects not only the child star, but the entire family.  Melissa Francis takes you into the inner workings of her family to show you the good, the bad and the ugly when you have a child star and a mom who wants nothing more than complete fame.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Read in one afternoon, couldn't put it down!

    I saw my mother in this book, it was so good! Worth the time and money

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Although Ms. Francis makes an effort to recount her life in a fa

    Although Ms. Francis makes an effort to recount her life in a fair and balanced way, hostility towards her mother drives this well-written memoir. She convincingly presents herself as intelligent, ambitious and responsible, and her mother as volatile, controlling, depressive and generally difficult to live with.

    Yet through most of the book, the author’s underlying hostility seemed disproportionate to her mother’s wrongdoings. Paradoxically, Ms. Francis tacitly acknowledges her mother’s contributions to her success without really giving her any credit. She writes about how her mother staunchly supported her childhood activities, instilled in her the belief that she could accomplish anything if she worked hard enough, and lavished her with luxuries (many of which were probably bought with the author’s own income as a child actor.)

    By the time Ms. Francis wrote of leaving home for an Ivy League school, I was impressed with her achievements yet disengaged due to the woe-is-me tone. I wondered if her memoir was written in retaliation against her mother. However, an unexpected outcome brought me around to empathize deeply with her position. I found her book interesting and touching, and I hope writing it gave her some closure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

    I LOVED READING THIS BOOK. I BECAME FAMILIAR WITH MELISSA FRANCIS WHEN SHE WAS REPORTING ON CNBC.

    SHE'S ONE CLASS ACT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't expecting Ms. Francis's strength. Did I enjoy this boo

    I wasn't expecting Ms. Francis's strength.

    Did I enjoy this book: I’ve never seen Little House on the Prairie, nor have I seen Ms. Francis on TV. I guess I’m a bit too young, so going in I had no reference point; it wasn’t like I was reading about Screech from Saved By the Bell.




    I was expecting the typical stage mother crazy and I got it. I was expecting the typical mismanagement of finances, and I got it. I was expecting a downward spiral, and though it was in an unexpected place, I got that too. There were, though, a few things that surprised me.




    I wasn’t expecting Francis’s strength. I wasn’t expecting her to talk so frankly about her sister, or to write about her mother without spite. I am proud of her though I’ve never met her; I’m certain the bitterness would have leaked out had this been my story. It’s easy to leave out the icky bits when you’re writing about yourself, and though I felt that Francis could have been a bit more honest about her own faults, I commend her for describing those icky bits without bitterness.




    Would I recommend it: Yeah! If you’re interested in an uplifting version of the traditional “Childhood Actor Grows Up” genre, you’ll enjoy it.




    Will I read it again: Nah. I find it difficult to re-read this genre.




    As reviewed by Melissa at Every Free Chance Book Reviews.




    (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Crazy stage mom

    Nothing makes a better read or a better movie than a crazy stage mother! Great details, remembered by Melissa....the mother's greed, the mother's refusal to help out when Melissa's father was going broke and refusal to stop spending, so she could have the best house, the best clothes, etc....tragic story of her sister who was also a child actor at one time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Interesting memior.

    The beginning is a little choppy but the author's voice soon arrives. Hard work is shown throughout her life. It is a testament about perseverance. She had much to overcome. Well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    A Good Read

    I enjoyed this book very much. It is very nice to see a young child star decide that she wants more out of life than stardom. She made good decisions to get an education, get married and have children and not let her mother dictate the life she felt her daughter should have. The sad part is the death of her sister which I feel influenced the author's life and something she will never forget. A good read with a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Wacky mother

    Iloved this book her mother was bipolar and it was sad that she mad her kids lives misserable missy was great in little house regina montclair nj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3