BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Diary of a Worm

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Laughter, Laughter

    The students in my class absolutely love these Worm, Spider, and Fly books--I hope more will come! I have read each of them at least twice last year. The funny thing is that there are a few jokes the kids might not get but the adults definitely will. Once I explain them to my students they all burst into laughter once they finally get it. Every elementary classroom or home should have these fabulous books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You might want to read this...

    This book is really humorous, even if you read it for the hundredth time!!! It is very good for the class room and teachers would find the book to be a good read. Be sure to read Diary of a Spider and Diary of a Fly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Funny even the millionth time

    My 3 year old has read this book every night for the past several months. It is creative and thought-provoking, encouraging young kids to see the world through the eyes of another. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    a reviewer

    'May 28th: 'You put your head in, you put your head out, you do the hokey pokey and you turn yourself about...thats all we could do!' In this funny story, 'Diary of a Worm', by Doreen Cronin, the worm writes everything in his diary. One day, the worm was in art class and he makes macaroni necklaces. They ate it for dinner! That night the worm wrote about his necklace in his diary. I would recommend this book because it's a funny story that makes me laugh. It is a great book for second grade!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    Diary of a Worm is great really funny if you are looking for a book that you just want to laugh at I reccomend this book. It will make you laugh to me it will!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    You will look at worms in a whole new way!

    I love this book. It's the best of the series. It's one of my son's favorite books. He liked it so much, he has since bought Diary of a Spider and Diary of a Fly which are also good, but Diary of a Worm is the funniest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Funny Book

    I loved this book after the first reading. I laughed out loud several times during the story. This cute book is well written, and the author does a great job weaving in facts/information about worms. I think both lower and upper elementary grade students would enjoy this book. Also, I think it could be used when introducing journaling or keeping a diary to children. I highly recommend Diary of a Worm!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    So cute!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Doreen Conin's Diary of a Worm and think that it would be appropriate for children of different ages. The main 'worm' discusses, in first person, the pros and cons of being a worm. Children of all ages may view the slimy little creatures differently after reading this book. Teachers could use this book to model journal writing and introduce science lessons and units. The author's words and illustrator's pictures work cooperatively in a way that would make readers want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Dairy of a Worm is a delightfully humorous account of the everyday life of a common earthworm. Through interesting text and charming illustrations, this book is sure to be a favorite of the young and old alike. Within this book Doreen Cronin provides her readers with concise, yet informative, text that allows the audience to view the world through the eyes of a worm. The personification of the characters is simply hilarious! Through the interaction of the main character and the supporting characters, the author depicts the mischievous personality of a young boy who is discovering the world all around him. The illustrations are charmingly done by Harry Bliss. From the cover of the book until the last page, the colorfully painted drawings captivate the reader. The story is definitely enhanced by the whimsical way that Mr. Bliss depicts the situations throughout the story. In my opinion, the illustrator most effectively develops the story through his drawings which include both worms and humans. These illustrations allow us to consider the way worms must view us from their perspective. Overall, this is a great book that I and my students loved reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    I LOVE THE DIARY OF A WORM!!!!!!!

    The Diary of a Worm is my all time favorite book. It is amazing! The creativity is absolutely beyond any other story, and the pictures are phenomenal. I'd reccommend it to anyone with an incredible imagination, and anyone who loves animals and would like to have a good laugh. The worst part is that it is so short. There should be a sequel! Beyond 5-Star!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    Brilliant!

    The Diary of a Worm is wonderfully written and beautifully illustrated! It is a hilarious story about life--- through a worm's perspective! My 6 year old daughter truly enjoyed this book and her mother was amused as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    DELIGHTFUL

    This book is adorable, and appeals tremendously not only to my four-year-old son (who LOVES it) but also to every adult who has read it to him. It's packed full of humor and heart plus family, friends, and fears. The illustrations are absolutely perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Aaah the life of a worm

    At first glance, I didn't think this was going to be a good book. It's about a worm for crying out loud. Buuut, when she saw it in the library, my 4 year old daughter wanted to read it, so I reluctantly checked it out for her. She loved it so much that we have checked it out numerous times thereafter and I have grown to love it also. When I characterize the words and point to the pictures as we read, she wants to re-read it again. We are especially tickled when worm says to his sister 'no matter how much you look in the mirror, your face will always look like your behind. Spider thought it was funny, Mom did not.' That is such a hoot! Anyway, we loved it immensly so I decided to purchase it for her and introduce ourselves to the Diary of a Spider also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Worms Its Way Into Your Heart

    As a mom, I really want my kids to develop a love of reading. I decided to get this book for my kids because they love to read about worms, bugs, and other 'gross' things...ha ha. I also loved this little story. It was great to share with them, and they loved reading it on their own as well. As you can see below, I also got them a book about Nose Pickin' and a book about a gassy dog! HA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Diary of a Worm

    Diary of a Worm by Doreen Cronin is a hilarious book written for all ages from a worm¿s point of view. Harry Bliss did a great job illustrating it, making the illustration got right along with the wording of the story. In this book, Worm learns many useful things such as worms can not walk upside down, Hopscotch is a very dangerous game, and worms can not chew gum or have pet dogs. This book is about the daily events of a young worm; it tells about his school, homework, dreams, home, family, friends, and even thoughts. In the front and back of the book here are pictures with captions that Worm took. These pictures include a twenty dollar bill that Worm thinks is a leaf, a baseball he thinks is a rock, the time Bee stung him, his family vacation, him and his friend, his own comic, and his report card. I think this is a first-class book that everyone will enjoy. Both children and adults will find this book amusing because of its word choice and illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    Wonderful Book

    This is a wonderful book to use in the classroom for a writing activity. The book is a great inspiration for children to start writing their own diary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Diary of a Worm

    This book is so funny! How can you resist lines like, 'no matter how much time she spends looking in the mirror, her face will always look just like her rear end.'? The cartoonish pictures are perfect for the humorous text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    My daughter is terrified of worms!

    After a rainshower, my daughter avoided sidewalks because the worms terrified her. I was so happy to find this book. It gave her a view of worms she hadn't thought of before. She thinks he's funny and is *almost* able to walk the sidewalk after it rains without looking down. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Diary of a Worm

    This is a great book to giggle over with your children! The illustrations are a crack-up! Very inventive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    The funniest children's book ever!!!!

    My daughter spent the entire summer digging for worms and I would always tell her to leave them alone because they had families too. Along came this book and it is fabulous! Doreen Cronin does a fantastic job potraying the life of a worm. My husband and I laughed harder than the kids! A must have book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2