Customer Reviews for

The Diary of a Young Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1060 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(708)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

A Classic, Great Read!

I love this book- at times I forgot that she was as young as she was, or that she wasn't even alive anymore. I felt like I new her, and she became a great friend of mine. It seemed to me that as she got more and more used to writing, it all seemed to come to her more an...
I love this book- at times I forgot that she was as young as she was, or that she wasn't even alive anymore. I felt like I new her, and she became a great friend of mine. It seemed to me that as she got more and more used to writing, it all seemed to come to her more and more naturally.
There were some discussions- as innocent as they were- that she and Peter had near the end of the book. I found parts of it a bit awkward to read, seeing as she was so young and open about them, but as a kid myself I know it is a common occurrence in conversation. But, nevertheless, it was one of the few real diaries of the Holocaust that I have come across, and is also one of the best Holocaust books I have ever read. I honestly wish they would've survived and been able to marry.
Every page holds some new meaning, or some new secret worry that Anne has to hide from everyone else. And she was so truthful to her diary! She admitted her hopes and fears, and even her angers and faults. When she found her roommate had a secret stash of goods he kept from everyone, I could practically feel her outrage! She described that weird old man so well- he was such a creep! He was probably a weird old pervert, and I'm sorry that she had to room with him.
I can totally get the mother-daughter fighting thing, though I probably didn't get as mad, and I can never hold a grudge. Anne was right to hold out and keep true to herself, even though it seems no one in the world is willing to do that anymore- but if you're already in hiding and being persecuted for your religion. that's the same thing as being persecuted for your beliefs! Letting go would've been like turning away from your religion, and everything that the Jews fighting for freedom stood for.
In short- I really liked it, and I would recommend this to anyone, for any occasion. It was a wonderful read, and I will never, ever forget it. It's a shame she didn't live to write more, it really is. Five stars- please, please, please- go read it!

posted by mothman on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

not what it seems

ok people, the headline has to do with my rating, not the book, i figured if you saw the one star, it'd stand out more then all the five stars that every other reviwer gave i rate this book 5 stars and i can sum it up in one sentence- this book completely shatters you...
ok people, the headline has to do with my rating, not the book, i figured if you saw the one star, it'd stand out more then all the five stars that every other reviwer gave i rate this book 5 stars and i can sum it up in one sentence- this book completely shatters your views about life. read the book and you'll see what i'm talking about

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1063 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic, Great Read!

    I love this book- at times I forgot that she was as young as she was, or that she wasn't even alive anymore. I felt like I new her, and she became a great friend of mine. It seemed to me that as she got more and more used to writing, it all seemed to come to her more and more naturally.
    There were some discussions- as innocent as they were- that she and Peter had near the end of the book. I found parts of it a bit awkward to read, seeing as she was so young and open about them, but as a kid myself I know it is a common occurrence in conversation. But, nevertheless, it was one of the few real diaries of the Holocaust that I have come across, and is also one of the best Holocaust books I have ever read. I honestly wish they would've survived and been able to marry.
    Every page holds some new meaning, or some new secret worry that Anne has to hide from everyone else. And she was so truthful to her diary! She admitted her hopes and fears, and even her angers and faults. When she found her roommate had a secret stash of goods he kept from everyone, I could practically feel her outrage! She described that weird old man so well- he was such a creep! He was probably a weird old pervert, and I'm sorry that she had to room with him.
    I can totally get the mother-daughter fighting thing, though I probably didn't get as mad, and I can never hold a grudge. Anne was right to hold out and keep true to herself, even though it seems no one in the world is willing to do that anymore- but if you're already in hiding and being persecuted for your religion. that's the same thing as being persecuted for your beliefs! Letting go would've been like turning away from your religion, and everything that the Jews fighting for freedom stood for.
    In short- I really liked it, and I would recommend this to anyone, for any occasion. It was a wonderful read, and I will never, ever forget it. It's a shame she didn't live to write more, it really is. Five stars- please, please, please- go read it!

    66 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Wow.

    Those of u who dont like it just dont you the story of what she went through. Learn more about her story then you still dont have room to criticize her. What would you be acting like if you were in hiding for two years? Yeah.

    40 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are really good at heart"- Anne Frank.

    "I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are really good at heart"- Anne Frank. The Diary of a Young Girl, an autobiography by Anne Frank is a wonderful, suspenseful story of her life growing up as a young Jewish girl in the Netherlands during World War II. After receiving a diary on her thirteenth birthday, Anne wrote all about her experiences and her daily living. Only three weeks after her birthday, Anne and her family, went into hiding to escape the Nazis. They faced hunger, cold nights, boredom and the other cruelties of living in confined quarters. This book was written during the Holocaust, so there is a huge worldly connection. This book is and has been quite popular among middle school students, both boys and girls, and is a book that everyone should read. The Diary of Anne Frank is a classic book and it tells the story of a young girl. I highly recommend this book to people of all ages. Anne Frank wrote her story without the intention of it being published. The detail is vivid and visuals are raw and true. Because of that, you are hooked into this thirteen year old girl's life. All in all, The Diary of Anne Frank is an amazing story of a girl, her life, and a diary that holds all her secrets.

    ~Grace

    34 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    THIS BOOK IS EXCELENT

    Oh my god, this book is so true, and real. I mean the pain, fear, and horrer that Anne explaind in this story, made me want to cry a couple of times. The fear she had of getting arrested and sent to a camp was so scary. I really reccomend this book to anyone, because anyone will enjoy it. I also would like to thank, Mr. Frank for deciding to share his daughters journal with the rest of the world, that must have been really hard for him. It taught me a lot and will teach you also if you decide to read this story.

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    not what it seems

    ok people, the headline has to do with my rating, not the book, i figured if you saw the one star, it'd stand out more then all the five stars that every other reviwer gave i rate this book 5 stars and i can sum it up in one sentence- this book completely shatters your views about life. read the book and you'll see what i'm talking about

    21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Very Good Book

    The Diary of a Young Girl. That it is. Looking through some of the reviews, it seems people forget a few things. Anne was a real person. She did exist, this was her diary. Her private thoughts and feelings, and her way of coping with her situation. (No therapists!) It wasn't intended to be shared with others, and therefore was not written to be interesting to anyone but herself. Anne was a young girl, growing up in the 40's. She was just coming of age, so of course her growing intrest in her sexuality will be a topic. Also, she is stuck in a fairly small area with her family and others. There's no TV, they can't leave at all, they can't call anyone, cell phones and computers don't exist, and they don't have new books. The only things new would be any news they got from the people helping them, or maybe the radio or newspaper. So what else is there to write about day after day other than the normal goings on of the place where you live and the occupants? Most people I know would go stir crazy, and so it's little wonder that they're at each others throats often. For a young teenage girl, with little to no entertainment, being stuck with the same people day after day, she did well, and was a very good writer.....especially when you consider how people write and their lack of knowledge of proper writing now a days. It is a very good read and a good account of how life was for many of the Jews who had to go into hiding. Some had it worse, some had it better, but this was her life.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Thnx

    I think this book waz very good it it explains everything that happened in the holocauat differently more interesting i love anne frank she was reallystrong and shes my role model

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    A classic

    Can you imagine living in fear and suspense of being found for three years? The Diary Of Anne Frank is about a young girl, Anne, who also is the author of this book. Who lives in a small town in Germany, in 1939 .The Holocaust started when Anne was 13. Since Anne and her family were Jewish, they had to go into hiding, in fear of the Nazis. After three years of sicknesses, not being allowed to talk, or go out side and having to share a room with five people. Then that day came when her and her family was captured, Anne was held in Dakhu the concentration camp, separated from her family.
    I recommend this book to anyone from 10 up. This is a really heartwarming memoir dealing with Anne Frank's struggles to survive. It has a little bit of everything, suspense, romance, excitement, and its suspenseful. Anne Frank uses rich vocabulary and language and it is an easy read. An aspiring true story of Anne Frank.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    From a different point of view

    Its amazing to read from a different point of view and you get to see what it was like back then its really a sad story but amazing

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Hey

    For all u people complaining about it beig boring let me remined u that this is her diary. She wasnt expecting the world to read it so she has a right to talk about anything she likes for as long as she likes. Also shes writimg down her thoughts so if Peters in her thoughts alot the she will write about him, she does have a crush on him.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great

    So awesome im actually eleven and i luv this book its great. Very amusing

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Jewish

    "Being different doesnt matter it makes YOU unique!"

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Simply unbelievable!

    This is definitely a must-read for all of you out there who want to get a glimpse into what it was like to be a Jew during WW2 in the Nazi occupied Europe...Anne opened an incredible window for us to look into the ordeal millions of Jewish lives went through because of the attrocities carried out by Hitler and his followers...The book is very genuine and a page turner...I definitely recommend it!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    This book is timeless, you enjoyed it, others will too

    Do you remember how much this book affected you when you were 12? Well it still has that power for the current girls too.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Ann frank

    Ann frank is such a sad book but it is also good as well. This book os about a girl who is Jewish. And it is the time that the really bad people would turn the jewish into slaves iust beacause they did not like their religion. So all of the jewish go into hidding

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Love it

    This is probaly the best book someone could ever read. Sureyou have Percy Jackson or Harry Potter but this is true. It is very good book. It tals about a jewish girl who is being, like other jews targetted. ( Even though HITLER was jewish ) It shows that she never gave up on anything. She is a true inspiration.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    So good!!!!!!!

    I read this book in second grade and i couldn't follow it. But then my teacher assigned it for homework. I can't stop reading it. All in all it is very good and it deserves 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 stars!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    ?

    Anne is a true role model for us. She was a brave young girl.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Ralley sad but a good book:):(

    Its very hertful to all of the jewish that they did the holcust is so sad but good book:):):):):):):):)$)$)$)$)$)$)$)$)$)$)$)$

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great

    Sad true story of a young girl and her family. I would love to go see the secret annex museum in amsterdam one day!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1063 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54