Customer Reviews for

The Diary of a Young Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 848 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(555)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

A Classic, Great Read!

I love this book- at times I forgot that she was as young as she was, or that she wasn't even alive anymore. I felt like I new her, and she became a great friend of mine. It seemed to me that as she got more and more used to writing, it all seemed to come to her more an...
I love this book- at times I forgot that she was as young as she was, or that she wasn't even alive anymore. I felt like I new her, and she became a great friend of mine. It seemed to me that as she got more and more used to writing, it all seemed to come to her more and more naturally.
There were some discussions- as innocent as they were- that she and Peter had near the end of the book. I found parts of it a bit awkward to read, seeing as she was so young and open about them, but as a kid myself I know it is a common occurrence in conversation. But, nevertheless, it was one of the few real diaries of the Holocaust that I have come across, and is also one of the best Holocaust books I have ever read. I honestly wish they would've survived and been able to marry.
Every page holds some new meaning, or some new secret worry that Anne has to hide from everyone else. And she was so truthful to her diary! She admitted her hopes and fears, and even her angers and faults. When she found her roommate had a secret stash of goods he kept from everyone, I could practically feel her outrage! She described that weird old man so well- he was such a creep! He was probably a weird old pervert, and I'm sorry that she had to room with him.
I can totally get the mother-daughter fighting thing, though I probably didn't get as mad, and I can never hold a grudge. Anne was right to hold out and keep true to herself, even though it seems no one in the world is willing to do that anymore- but if you're already in hiding and being persecuted for your religion. that's the same thing as being persecuted for your beliefs! Letting go would've been like turning away from your religion, and everything that the Jews fighting for freedom stood for.
In short- I really liked it, and I would recommend this to anyone, for any occasion. It was a wonderful read, and I will never, ever forget it. It's a shame she didn't live to write more, it really is. Five stars- please, please, please- go read it!

posted by mothman on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Wrong Edition

I am a teacher and wanted to buy the same book my students were reading. This was the "Definitive Edition," which was not obvious to me from the title or description, so I ended up spending money on a book that I could not use. I wanted Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young ...
I am a teacher and wanted to buy the same book my students were reading. This was the "Definitive Edition," which was not obvious to me from the title or description, so I ended up spending money on a book that I could not use. I wanted Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl.

posted by 2429131 on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 851 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic, Great Read!

    I love this book- at times I forgot that she was as young as she was, or that she wasn't even alive anymore. I felt like I new her, and she became a great friend of mine. It seemed to me that as she got more and more used to writing, it all seemed to come to her more and more naturally.
    There were some discussions- as innocent as they were- that she and Peter had near the end of the book. I found parts of it a bit awkward to read, seeing as she was so young and open about them, but as a kid myself I know it is a common occurrence in conversation. But, nevertheless, it was one of the few real diaries of the Holocaust that I have come across, and is also one of the best Holocaust books I have ever read. I honestly wish they would've survived and been able to marry.
    Every page holds some new meaning, or some new secret worry that Anne has to hide from everyone else. And she was so truthful to her diary! She admitted her hopes and fears, and even her angers and faults. When she found her roommate had a secret stash of goods he kept from everyone, I could practically feel her outrage! She described that weird old man so well- he was such a creep! He was probably a weird old pervert, and I'm sorry that she had to room with him.
    I can totally get the mother-daughter fighting thing, though I probably didn't get as mad, and I can never hold a grudge. Anne was right to hold out and keep true to herself, even though it seems no one in the world is willing to do that anymore- but if you're already in hiding and being persecuted for your religion. that's the same thing as being persecuted for your beliefs! Letting go would've been like turning away from your religion, and everything that the Jews fighting for freedom stood for.
    In short- I really liked it, and I would recommend this to anyone, for any occasion. It was a wonderful read, and I will never, ever forget it. It's a shame she didn't live to write more, it really is. Five stars- please, please, please- go read it!

    70 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Wow.

    Those of u who dont like it just dont you the story of what she went through. Learn more about her story then you still dont have room to criticize her. What would you be acting like if you were in hiding for two years? Yeah.

    41 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are really good at heart"- Anne Frank.

    "I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are really good at heart"- Anne Frank. The Diary of a Young Girl, an autobiography by Anne Frank is a wonderful, suspenseful story of her life growing up as a young Jewish girl in the Netherlands during World War II. After receiving a diary on her thirteenth birthday, Anne wrote all about her experiences and her daily living. Only three weeks after her birthday, Anne and her family, went into hiding to escape the Nazis. They faced hunger, cold nights, boredom and the other cruelties of living in confined quarters. This book was written during the Holocaust, so there is a huge worldly connection. This book is and has been quite popular among middle school students, both boys and girls, and is a book that everyone should read. The Diary of Anne Frank is a classic book and it tells the story of a young girl. I highly recommend this book to people of all ages. Anne Frank wrote her story without the intention of it being published. The detail is vivid and visuals are raw and true. Because of that, you are hooked into this thirteen year old girl's life. All in all, The Diary of Anne Frank is an amazing story of a girl, her life, and a diary that holds all her secrets.

    ~Grace

    38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    THIS BOOK IS EXCELENT

    Oh my god, this book is so true, and real. I mean the pain, fear, and horrer that Anne explaind in this story, made me want to cry a couple of times. The fear she had of getting arrested and sent to a camp was so scary. I really reccomend this book to anyone, because anyone will enjoy it. I also would like to thank, Mr. Frank for deciding to share his daughters journal with the rest of the world, that must have been really hard for him. It taught me a lot and will teach you also if you decide to read this story.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Very Good Book

    The Diary of a Young Girl. That it is. Looking through some of the reviews, it seems people forget a few things. Anne was a real person. She did exist, this was her diary. Her private thoughts and feelings, and her way of coping with her situation. (No therapists!) It wasn't intended to be shared with others, and therefore was not written to be interesting to anyone but herself. Anne was a young girl, growing up in the 40's. She was just coming of age, so of course her growing intrest in her sexuality will be a topic. Also, she is stuck in a fairly small area with her family and others. There's no TV, they can't leave at all, they can't call anyone, cell phones and computers don't exist, and they don't have new books. The only things new would be any news they got from the people helping them, or maybe the radio or newspaper. So what else is there to write about day after day other than the normal goings on of the place where you live and the occupants? Most people I know would go stir crazy, and so it's little wonder that they're at each others throats often. For a young teenage girl, with little to no entertainment, being stuck with the same people day after day, she did well, and was a very good writer.....especially when you consider how people write and their lack of knowledge of proper writing now a days. It is a very good read and a good account of how life was for many of the Jews who had to go into hiding. Some had it worse, some had it better, but this was her life.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    A classic

    Can you imagine living in fear and suspense of being found for three years? The Diary Of Anne Frank is about a young girl, Anne, who also is the author of this book. Who lives in a small town in Germany, in 1939 .The Holocaust started when Anne was 13. Since Anne and her family were Jewish, they had to go into hiding, in fear of the Nazis. After three years of sicknesses, not being allowed to talk, or go out side and having to share a room with five people. Then that day came when her and her family was captured, Anne was held in Dakhu the concentration camp, separated from her family.
    I recommend this book to anyone from 10 up. This is a really heartwarming memoir dealing with Anne Frank's struggles to survive. It has a little bit of everything, suspense, romance, excitement, and its suspenseful. Anne Frank uses rich vocabulary and language and it is an easy read. An aspiring true story of Anne Frank.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    From a different point of view

    Its amazing to read from a different point of view and you get to see what it was like back then its really a sad story but amazing

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great

    So awesome im actually eleven and i luv this book its great. Very amusing

    13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Jewish

    "Being different doesnt matter it makes YOU unique!"

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Simply unbelievable!

    This is definitely a must-read for all of you out there who want to get a glimpse into what it was like to be a Jew during WW2 in the Nazi occupied Europe...Anne opened an incredible window for us to look into the ordeal millions of Jewish lives went through because of the attrocities carried out by Hitler and his followers...The book is very genuine and a page turner...I definitely recommend it!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    This book is timeless, you enjoyed it, others will too

    Do you remember how much this book affected you when you were 12? Well it still has that power for the current girls too.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Wrong Edition

    I am a teacher and wanted to buy the same book my students were reading. This was the "Definitive Edition," which was not obvious to me from the title or description, so I ended up spending money on a book that I could not use. I wanted Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Ann frank

    Ann frank is such a sad book but it is also good as well. This book os about a girl who is Jewish. And it is the time that the really bad people would turn the jewish into slaves iust beacause they did not like their religion. So all of the jewish go into hidding

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Love it

    This is probaly the best book someone could ever read. Sureyou have Percy Jackson or Harry Potter but this is true. It is very good book. It tals about a jewish girl who is being, like other jews targetted. ( Even though HITLER was jewish ) It shows that she never gave up on anything. She is a true inspiration.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    ?

    Anne is a true role model for us. She was a brave young girl.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    wow

    This is one of the best diaries I have read. I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Ehhh...

    I dont like the book at all! It is really boring and it is realy hard to follow along with somtimes. I have to read this book for my advanced english class and this book is making me wish that i wasnt in advanced english.!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    this book is amazing, it makes me cry every time i see the movie.

    "Don't judge the book by its cover." i thought the book was going to be about the girl on the book cover and i thought "boring" but really it wasn't boring at all. I think Anne's diary made the Holocaust real to me in a way that other books haven't because she is a normal teenage girl in a lot of ways. She's growing up, she dislikes her family and "roommates" one day and adores them the next. She's dreaming about the future, love, a career, and what she really wants out of life. She was funny, she was sad, she was thoughtful, she was growing, she was intelligent, she was scared, and she was BRAVE. I remember feeling all the things she describes. If she was still alive I would like to meet her, she is very empowering. this book taught me to appreciate and be thankful of what i have.

    RIP Anne

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    This only a short abridgement.

    This is only 29 pages long. Do not purchase if you are looking for the full version. We needed the full book but not the definitive version for my kids in school. I purchased his thinking this was the correct version and wasted my money on a 29 page abridgement.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Awsome

    U go anne forget all them haters the just dont understand its a pwrsonal diary not a novel duu so yall just need to:

    1.cry me a river
    2.build a bridge
    3.get over it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 851 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43