Customer Reviews for

The Diary of a Young Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 848 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(554)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

A Classic, Great Read!

I love this book- at times I forgot that she was as young as she was, or that she wasn't even alive anymore. I felt like I new her, and she became a great friend of mine. It seemed to me that as she got more and more used to writing, it all seemed to come to her more an...
I love this book- at times I forgot that she was as young as she was, or that she wasn't even alive anymore. I felt like I new her, and she became a great friend of mine. It seemed to me that as she got more and more used to writing, it all seemed to come to her more and more naturally.
There were some discussions- as innocent as they were- that she and Peter had near the end of the book. I found parts of it a bit awkward to read, seeing as she was so young and open about them, but as a kid myself I know it is a common occurrence in conversation. But, nevertheless, it was one of the few real diaries of the Holocaust that I have come across, and is also one of the best Holocaust books I have ever read. I honestly wish they would've survived and been able to marry.
Every page holds some new meaning, or some new secret worry that Anne has to hide from everyone else. And she was so truthful to her diary! She admitted her hopes and fears, and even her angers and faults. When she found her roommate had a secret stash of goods he kept from everyone, I could practically feel her outrage! She described that weird old man so well- he was such a creep! He was probably a weird old pervert, and I'm sorry that she had to room with him.
I can totally get the mother-daughter fighting thing, though I probably didn't get as mad, and I can never hold a grudge. Anne was right to hold out and keep true to herself, even though it seems no one in the world is willing to do that anymore- but if you're already in hiding and being persecuted for your religion. that's the same thing as being persecuted for your beliefs! Letting go would've been like turning away from your religion, and everything that the Jews fighting for freedom stood for.
In short- I really liked it, and I would recommend this to anyone, for any occasion. It was a wonderful read, and I will never, ever forget it. It's a shame she didn't live to write more, it really is. Five stars- please, please, please- go read it!

posted by mothman on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Wrong Edition

I am a teacher and wanted to buy the same book my students were reading. This was the "Definitive Edition," which was not obvious to me from the title or description, so I ended up spending money on a book that I could not use. I wanted Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young ...
I am a teacher and wanted to buy the same book my students were reading. This was the "Definitive Edition," which was not obvious to me from the title or description, so I ended up spending money on a book that I could not use. I wanted Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl.

posted by 2429131 on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Disappointed

    Like everyone else, I had heard of Anne Frank's Diary, but had never read it. I have to say I was VERY disappointed in the entire thing. I did not get the impression that Miss Frank was frightened, just that she was a selfish, spoiled rich kid who was inconvenienced by her circumstances. I got the sense that some of the passages and descriptions used were not of Miss Frank's doing, but that of an adult. I understand that she was a young teenage girl and as such, was prone to an "it's all about me" attitude. But to be jealous of her sister's relationship with their parents had nothing to do with the hardships one would presume they endured. To actually gloat about how much more she received for her birthday than someone else is a pretty good indication of just how shallow she was. Miss Frank was more concerned with the poor quality of the products they were receiving than the possible outcome of what could happen should those individuals that were helping them be caught. Or, for that matter, their own safety. As I said, very disappointed. I guess I expected more.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    ANNE FRANK: from a Diary of a Young Girl

    NAME OF THE AUTHER: Anne Frank
    NAME OF THE ILLUSTRATOR: ANNE Frank
    GENRE: NON-FICTION
    AGE RANGE: 14 AND OLDER
    AWARDS: WINNER-YALSA Best Books for Young Adults




    Anne Frank is often remembered as the little girl who wrote, "I still believe that people are really good at heart." In spite of all her suffering and loss, Anne still has hope and never gives up. She thinks that the people who are doing all the bad stuff, despite everything, are good somewhere inside them. Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl is an extraordinary autobiography. Anne Frank is a brave heart all the way through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    Great, but Sometimes Sad

    It definetly was such a great book to read. If you enjoy adventure your'e in for a ride. On the other hand it was at times very sad to know what actually happened. Over all I strongly reccomed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    If you If u like reading boring books read this one!!

    This book is borring but also funny in its own ways

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    " Good

    This is a good book, but don't read the epiloge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Its sometimes boreing By: Emily Renai

    Anne Frank is sometimes boreing becuase who wants to hear about the kids in her class or about her techers i mean im only in fifth grade but it can be verry intrasting (srry bout that i missed spelled it) and i would deffintly recamend this book to everybody in the world i would buy it for everybody in the world (wich im not going to do) (srry i missed spelled something in that sentece) srry i world if i had the money for it but i dont i am really really really sorry about that but i dont have the money for it. :C :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Chees

    Booooooojjhhytgfddqawszedxxrfctgvh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Umm......

    I agree with *click here*not meant for kids under twelve. I thought it would be great because she would write about being taken by the nazis but that didnt happen so i was disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Vhugu

    Yugugh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Anne frank

    Is this the real diary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    I liked it

    Very nice book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Is this approprite for kids

    Ples
    Asde

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Kind of like it.

    The events that happen in anne's life seem interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Love book but its awkward at times

    Well, so far the book is good but when she said sometimes i get the urge to touch my breasts and how she wanted to kiss he friend that was a bit much. I now understand why her dad left out some stuff in the school edition. I know it was her personal diary but i was awkward. An heads up dont watch the 2009 version of the movie with ur dad bc she mentions girl stuff and it was awkward. I recommend the 2001 movie

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    can't wait to read it looks sooooo good

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    love this book

    this book is so touching i love this book i could not put the book down once i picked it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    The Diary of A Young Girl - Anne Frank

    Born in Frankfort, Germany on June 12, 1929, Anne Frank and her family emigrated to Holland in 1933. On her thirteenth Birthday she receives a diary as a gift and treats the diary as her own dear friend giving it the name of Kitty. In July 1942, her family was forced to take refuge with four others in a back of an apartment in Amsterdam until August 4,1944. In those years Anne wrote about her life in hiding and her knowledge she received. When the war was coming to the end and the two families had hope of returning to their normal lives, a raid was made on the place where the occupants where hiding and all the occupants were arrested and sent to German and Dutch concentration camps. In March 1945, Anne died of typhoid in the concentration camp at Bergen-Belsen. Only Anne's father alone returned and saw Anne's diary published in 1947. Anne has become a inspired writer to many ages across the world as her diary tells the truth about the suffering that many Jewish men and women went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    It was ok

    It was very well written but at some parts I got a little bored. I was very interested in the concentration camps and wanted to hear more about her there but she was very brave and intelligent.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    kind of great

    i think this book Anne frank: the diary of a young girl is for girls or boy that like history.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    alright

    i just finished reading this book, and here are my few thoughts on it. i found it a good book to pass the time, but i just didnt feel as if it deserved four stars, let alone five. the story reads well and fluently, but some parts drone on and some are confusing. otherwise, besides those few points, its a good book. i recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4