Customer Reviews for

Diary of an Alcoholic Housewife

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    I couldn't put it down: Brenda's story is candid, raw and inspiring.

    Brenda openly and bravely shares her experience battling addiction. Her raw and candid account makes the reader feel like they are living alongside her for a year. I could totally relate to her feelings and struggles and deeply admire her strength. So much of a person's social life can be centered around alcohol. Many people can manage it, but for others, it gets out of balance. For me, Brenda's experience highlighted the light at the end of the alcoholic's struggle to be clean. She has found a greater joy and sense of peace without the fuzzy buzz. She has inspired me to take a look at my drinking more closely and live a cleaner, healthier life. I recommend this book to all who have questioned their own drinking and how it may impact them and the one's they love.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Encouraging story that transcends alcoholism

    After reading Diary of an Alchoholic Housewife, I was a lot more aware of the day-to-day struggles of an alcoholic, but also found the story relatable on so many other levels. If you've ever found yourself on the fringe of any situation--where you're looking for helpful information but can't find it because common knowledge is too biased towards the extreme-- you will find this story encouraging.

    I think the author's perspective transcends problems with alcohol and can inspire anyone who feels trapped in a cycle of bad behavior, or anyone who is just looking to be proactive in the present in order to avoid undesirable outcomes later in life.

    I really see Brenda Wilhelmson's angle as preventative - what she prevented from happening if she continued on her path. It takes a really enlightened person to recognize when things have slowly creeped out of control, but a really courageous person to act on it. Great perspective!

    I should add that despite the seriousness of the theme here, the author manages to be hilarious, light-hearted, and sympathetic in her everyday observations and brushes with characters from all walks of life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Interesting, Inspiring and Introspective

    I have really enjoyed reading this book. I found her writing very personable, like we were just sitting have a conversation. I appreciate the honesty and it truly made me feel like I am not the only who struggles with the day to day irritations of life and family. I am not an alcoholic but I found this book very relevant. I highly recommend this book. It will make you feel better about yourself and life!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Great read!

    I couldn't put this book down. A thought-provoking, entertaining, funny and yet thought-provoking book. A real eye-opener into the world of an alcoholic housewife. And also a glimpse into the very private world of the rooms of Alcoholics Anonymous. it will speak to everyone who reads it, alcoholic or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Incredible story, a must read!!!

    I was hooked on this book from the second I started reading it. It is packed with countless, riveting true stories that make the book impossible to put down. This book will make laugh out loud, and cringe at the same time. Thats exactly why I love it so much. She tells a true story, and doesn't leave anything out. On top of that, it gives people that are in her shoes, hope that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. It convinced me that no matter what, there is always hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Book Club Worthy

    This is a great, compelling read. At times very funny, at other times cringe inducing in its raw examinations of the things we are really thinking deep down, but dare not say out loud, fearing others's judgment. I think everyone will see a piece of themselves, or a friend of loved one in this book. I imagine this book would generate some incredible and perhaps at times uncomfortable book club conversations. A brave, important and also very entertaining book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Really proves that this disease can affect anyone.

    Really proves that this disease can affect anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    O.k.

    I thought this book was o.k. I was hoping for something more like "Dry".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Can't stop reading

    I have this book on my Nook color and I can't stop reading it. Great job Brenda thanks for being so honest and taking the time to put your life in words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    I really have mixed feelings

    Main character sees to have no growth, no depth and just as self centered and dislikable at the end of her journey as at the begining. She isn't drinking, true, but she isn't a "better person" either. As an audobiography i'm sure it's honest, but she seems to completely lack insight - especially in to herself. Which is very strange in a memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Refreshingly Honest!

    I enjoyed the honesty of this book. I married into an alcoholic family without knowing it and this book refreshed my understanding of the disease; the role loved ones play in perpetuating the dysfunction that accompanies alcoholism; the way our culture unceasingly connects and promotes good-times with alcohol. Brenda Wilhelmson helps the reader see the sometimes illogical struggle between supporting relationships and supporting self. The diary format allows a true progression of recovery-there are some tedious moments and some profound moments; not all issues have a neat conclusion. My favorite parts are when the author simply observed her feelings--without the voice of hindsight to judge or conclude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful story of discovery.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Great summer read!! Couldn't put it down.

    Better than reality television. Brenda takes us into the darkest recesses of her soul. I cringed and laughed and cringed again, watching her sense of herself unfold. It gave me insight into the lives of others and made me more sensitive to the concerns of friends and loved ones who are going through recovery. It made me wonder if I had been insensitive to friends in the past. Regardless of where you are in relation to alcohol...or any other addictive behaviors...you will find the book full of insight, humor and refreshing honesty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Great Book

    Brenda Wilhelmson did a wonderful job sharing the journey she went on throughout her recovery process to address her alcoholism. It was a raw, honest and courageous depiction of her struggles and the responses of those around her. Despite not having first hand experience with a person close to me in recovery, it gave me perspective of the struggles an alcoholic goes through. A great book, regardless of whether you can relate to the stories of alcoholism. Brenda's courage to address a difficult issues in such an honest an vulnerable manner is truly inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2