BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Diary of the Displaced - Book 1 - The Journal of James Halldon

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    I love it!!!

    I loved it! The ending is so shocking and it ends with some ?s so that it sets up for another book (idk if there is another) but it doesnt leave you with stupid ?s, so its great even if it doesnt have another. Again, i love it. Perfect read for fiction lovers. The author is very talented!
    ~Katie :p

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Awesome! Read!

    This was a unique and original thrill ride. Sort of reminded me of Stephen King's Gunslinger series, and just as well written. Totally has me wanting more. Found myself wondering what was going on back in " The Corridor" when I wasn't reading. Strange lands, (if not alien alltogether), fierce otherworldly beings and fauna, and a quest. Gunslinger meets Neverending Story. 372 knuckle gripping, late night turning pages. Thanks to this author for letting me (for free even!) peer through the looking glass. MB

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Great book, very mysterious!

    I found this ebook for $1 and read the free preview. I was hooked!

    One reviewer didn't find it scary enough. I don't normally read books in the horror genre, so this one was just right for me. The closest I normally get to this is reading about the dark fae creatures in Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series. This tale is also creepy and mysterious, but without the paranormal romance or heroines that Moning includes. ;-)

    Another reviewer claimed there were distracting editing problems or problems with clarity. I disagree. And, I abhor reading poorly written blogs and emails, let alone a book! Either the book has gone through some serious editing since that post, or that person was just not used to some of the phrasing that might sound odd to an American reader. There are a couple of instances where a word is missing, but nothing more than I have encountered in print from major publishers, and many people wouldn't even notice them.

    I've already bought the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    great read

    great book captivating from the start

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Good story

    I will read all in this series. The short stories are free. This one was over 300 pages. I will buy the novels and read the shorts that are free. I enjoy paralell & apocolypse type books so I really enjoyed this. Sorry about my spelling errors, we need spell check on our nooks. ;)
    Sanna7125

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Just read this!

    I really enjoyed reading this story. A lot of interesting characters. Can not wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    *

    Awesome! Very different story line,if you like suspense,mystery,with a sci-fy twist you will enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    I definatley didnt expect much until i read the first page

    Very descriptive and wonderfully told first person story. Though it is written in diary form ( which i dont usually like) this book was just great. I dont know how else to put it. It was amazing and held my attention from the beginning which is difficult for areader like me who reads a completely different genre of books. I am definately reading more of his books. Andi will reccomend this to many of my friends and family, because i think you deserve the recogniton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Diary

    Diary of the Displaced is an excellent book. I read it in mostly one sitting, finding it almost impossible to put down! I am looking forward to reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    This is fabulous

    Great fiction story. Couldnt put it down. Will purchase the next without hesitation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Enjoed this novel very much...

    In agreement with the previous review...the image of CutterJack was scaaary! I became invested in the characters (even DogThing) and was rewarded by the promise of more adventures to come. Look forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Amazing!

    I honestly could not put this book down. I so hope there is a second book coming. I highly recommend this book! It was fantastic and really should not be free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing novel!

    Glynn James is an amazing new author, coming up with a very unique first person story. Telling about someone waking up in a new world with no memories of how he came to be there and his expereinces is amazing. Great work, and hopefully more will come soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Amazing

    Not the type of book I typically read, but this was an amazing book. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2