Customer Reviews for

Dicey's Song

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Best book

    This book is a really good book and those of you who havent read the first one it is a must read!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Great Book!!!

    Dicey's Song by Cynthia Voigt is a powerful story. The Tillerman children are inspiring and Dicey, the main character, represents the person we should all strive to be as a brother or sister. The author, Cynthia Voigt tells their story as they struggle to make ends meet and establish themselves in their new home at their grandmother's house, with such talent. Though the end may be a little predictable in leading up to it, once there, it is impossible to keep the tears back. Ultimately, Voigt teaches what it is to keep a family together, working and supporting one another. Dicey's Song is an excellent book and is highly recommended to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Best book ever

    I love the book i read the first one now in going to read this one i cant wait

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I read the first book- Homecoming- and loved it so much that i couldn't wait to read the the second book. It immediately absorbed me and it was hard to stop reading. The book takes you on the wild journey of a 13 year old girl who has traveled cross-country with her siblings, and found a home with their grandmother. The book shows you the trials of learning to be dependent after living independent for so long. As she goes through school, and gets a job, she comes to hear some grave news. Her mother has died. She and her grandmother go to cremate Dicey's mother, while Dicey's sister, Maybeth, has a hidden talent for piano that is discovered. She gets a wonderful piano teacher that really helps the family out. The book was very intriguing and it made me want to keep reading, and keep reading. I cant wait to read the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 1999

    GREAT!!!!!!

    This book was a great book.We read it in school and I first thought it was going to be boring,but until I read it, I just wanted to read it all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great!!!

    If you like Caroline B. Cooneys books, this book is definitely one for you! The author has the same talent for writing how people think, and all of the characters are easy to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    To have not read this book yet...

    Homecoming was amazing! Me and my friends were reading it for our book club, it gave us lots to talk about!!!!! I am so thinking about getting this one!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Awsome

    Discriptive language too good to put down :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Awesome!

    Very well written. I recommend this book to all people! Cynthia Voigt is a great author. I already finished Homecoming, (the first book in the Tillerman Cycle), and I can't wait until the whole series comes out in Nook version. It is definitely one of my favorites. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    CynthiaVoightFan#1

    FOR LOVING READERS ONLY READ THIS SUMARRY.
    This is absolutley posotively 5 starts thumbs up. It follows the book Homecoming and to give a breif summary about the first book. Four kids, Dicey,13,James,10,Maybeth,9,and Sammy,6, who got abanoded by their mother in a mall parking lot. Left to fend for themselves the kids have to make it from the top of Conneticut to the bottom of Maryland WALKING!!!!!!!! With only a few dollars they made it to their grandma's house. Getting there she didn't want them only letting them stay for the night. Staying longer and rubbing off on her are allowed to stay.
    In this bookk it is about the day to day struglles. A pageturner mind blowing book. This is a must read for a book that can be read fast. The kids have newlives at a new school. Having to let go of everything she had always know and trusted Dicey becomes worried she can't and is dobtful about her grandma being able to do this. The other kids are making new freinds and getting invited to parties. Doingwell for the most part at school, the kids are getting good grades. One day in Dicey's class they had a project to do. Hoping to do it by herself Dicey gets to work. After getting nudged several time Dicey turns around to a warm smile of the other smartest girl in class. Wanting to work together Dicey agrees and they ace the project. The next day after class the girl awaited to walk Dicey to her next class. Dicey cold on the outside kept turning it down. The girl keeps it up and to find out the rest get the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I <3 this

    Cynthia voigt rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Havent read this book yet but ...........

    I really love homecoming by cynthia voigt. I got it for christmas and I am only on page 51but i am luving it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Like the book

    I really like this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A story about responsibility and survival.

    Dicey is the best older sister anyone could possibly want. She taught me so much about life--about people more specifically. I was amazed that one so young would realize these things AND use it to improve the quality of their lives. Her determination to do the right thing -- NO MATTER WHAT! hit me right in the heart. Her resourcefulness is astounding. I actually went out and bought the sequel to see how it continued. (That's a first for me!) It made me review my 'parenting skills,' to see how they matched up to hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Dicey's Song

    The Tillermans have just settled into Gram's in Crisfield, Maryland. Dicey, the eldest child has trouble letting Gram be in charge of the kids. All her life Dicey has been the one to take care of them and now she has to let go but still hold on. There are also new problems emerging. Momma's still in the hospital and Sammy is fighting again. Read Dicey's Song to learn more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    An Excellent Book!!

    Dicey's song was a really good book. I wanted to keep on reading and reading until i finished it because I wanted to know what would happen next. Anyone could read it. Its about this young girl who has to take care of her siblings and live with her grandmother that everyone says she crazy but not and she hardly knows. She doesn't live with her mother because her mother didnt want to take care of them anymore and the 4 kids had to live on there own for a long time. thats what happened in homecoming and then it added on more about finding and living with there grandmother. They end up being really happy and love living there. Its everything they like and need. They become really close with there grandmother. They find out there mother is in a mental hospital and she soon dies...you have to read homecoming first to understand Dicey's Song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Should be a movie!(AND HOMECOMING TOO)

    This book is so good but it still makes me cry.I wonder how momma went like that it makes so sad because she died. Read this book it'll change your life. Dicey is a really good person because she takes care of her siblings, and she is smart and thinks about others and herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Dicey's Song

    This is a very emotional story that will capture your heart. As a thirteen year old girl Dicey must deal with a lot after her mother leaves her and her siblings. They must adjust to living with their grandmother. Dicey says, ¿I have the feeling that I know who I am, only I¿m not any more.¿ You must read this book to find out if Dicey ever learns to deal with her mother¿s absence and life with her grandmother. This book was a Newbery Medal Book. This book is a realistic novel and would be appropriate for ages 12 and up. This is a situation that could really happen to a child and this would be a great book to help them deal with such circumstances. I really enjoyed reading this book. Cynthia Voigt is the author of Dicey¿s Song. Before Ms. Voigt became an author she was an English teacher. This book is part of a series of books written by Ms. Voigt. She has won many awards for both her children¿s books and her young adult books. Voigt, Cynthia. Dicey¿s Song. New York: Simon and Schuster, 2003.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    I admire Dicey for her courage and dedication.

    Cynthia Voigt was born in Boston in 1942 and grew up in Connecticut. After she attended college, she swore that she would not become a teacher. On the other hand, she could not help it and did become a teacher. Her dream was to become a writer, but she had to hold off on her dream until she got married and started teaching. When her son was born, she found time to write. She loves to read and watch movies. Her book, Dicey¿s Song, won the Newbery Medal in 1983. A lot of her books are based on real places. Voigt said, ¿Dicey is the child she would have liked to have been and Gram is the person she would like to become. The reading level of this book is fifth grade, eighth month. Some themes of the book include love, family, commitment, integrity, and excellence. The genre of the book is realistic fiction. It is a story of trying to hold but let go at the same time. In the book, it says, 'But I'll tell you something else, too. Something I've learned, the hard way. I guess'¿Gram laughed a little¿'I'm the kind of person who has to learn things the hard way. You've got to hold on. Hold on to people. They can get away from you. It's not always going to be fun, but if you don't¿hold on¿then you lose them.' Gram lost her husband and all of her children left and never came back. She was alone and nobody there to talk to. Momma walked out on the children so Dicey, James, Sammy, and Marybeth end up at Gram¿s house. Dicey has had to watch the younger siblings and she wants to be selfish by re-doing a sailboat she had found in Gram¿s barn. Their problems and sorrows did not go away easily. They had to learn all about one another and Gram ends up adopting them. Dicey begins to grow a strong bond with Gram, who talks about reaching out and letting go it takes a crisis for Dicey to finally understand what Gram meant. Read the book to find out how Dicey reveals this mystery. Dicey¿s Song is an incredible book. It teaches about commitment and the bonds of family. Dicey is a girl I admire because she does everything to try and help her family out and she does not care how she does it. It takes courage from Dicey and support of Gram to keep this family together. It is truly an amazing story. I loved it. Voigt, Cynthia. Dicey¿s Song. New York: Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 1982.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Awsome!

    the first few chapters are kinda boring, but once you get past them, it startes to get really exciting..... i would recomend this book....really

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4