Customer Reviews for

Dicey's Song

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Great Book!!!

    Dicey's Song by Cynthia Voigt is a powerful story. The Tillerman children are inspiring and Dicey, the main character, represents the person we should all strive to be as a brother or sister. The author, Cynthia Voigt tells their story as they struggle to make ends meet and establish themselves in their new home at their grandmother's house, with such talent. Though the end may be a little predictable in leading up to it, once there, it is impossible to keep the tears back. Ultimately, Voigt teaches what it is to keep a family together, working and supporting one another. Dicey's Song is an excellent book and is highly recommended to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I read the first book- Homecoming- and loved it so much that i couldn't wait to read the the second book. It immediately absorbed me and it was hard to stop reading. The book takes you on the wild journey of a 13 year old girl who has traveled cross-country with her siblings, and found a home with their grandmother. The book shows you the trials of learning to be dependent after living independent for so long. As she goes through school, and gets a job, she comes to hear some grave news. Her mother has died. She and her grandmother go to cremate Dicey's mother, while Dicey's sister, Maybeth, has a hidden talent for piano that is discovered. She gets a wonderful piano teacher that really helps the family out. The book was very intriguing and it made me want to keep reading, and keep reading. I cant wait to read the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    An Excellent Book!!

    Dicey's song was a really good book. I wanted to keep on reading and reading until i finished it because I wanted to know what would happen next. Anyone could read it. Its about this young girl who has to take care of her siblings and live with her grandmother that everyone says she crazy but not and she hardly knows. She doesn't live with her mother because her mother didnt want to take care of them anymore and the 4 kids had to live on there own for a long time. thats what happened in homecoming and then it added on more about finding and living with there grandmother. They end up being really happy and love living there. Its everything they like and need. They become really close with there grandmother. They find out there mother is in a mental hospital and she soon dies...you have to read homecoming first to understand Dicey's Song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Dicey's Song

    This is a very emotional story that will capture your heart. As a thirteen year old girl Dicey must deal with a lot after her mother leaves her and her siblings. They must adjust to living with their grandmother. Dicey says, ¿I have the feeling that I know who I am, only I¿m not any more.¿ You must read this book to find out if Dicey ever learns to deal with her mother¿s absence and life with her grandmother. This book was a Newbery Medal Book. This book is a realistic novel and would be appropriate for ages 12 and up. This is a situation that could really happen to a child and this would be a great book to help them deal with such circumstances. I really enjoyed reading this book. Cynthia Voigt is the author of Dicey¿s Song. Before Ms. Voigt became an author she was an English teacher. This book is part of a series of books written by Ms. Voigt. She has won many awards for both her children¿s books and her young adult books. Voigt, Cynthia. Dicey¿s Song. New York: Simon and Schuster, 2003.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Dicey's song

    Dicey¿s Song is a Newberry Medal book. This book would be great for grades 6-9. This book is full of emotion. Dicey and her three siblings have to learn to adjust to a new life living with their grandmother. Dicey says, ¿I have the feeling that I know who I am, only I'm not any more.' Dicey faces a lot of trouble as a 13-year-old. Her mother leaves her and her brothers and sister. Read Dicey¿s Song to find out how Dicey adjusts to a life without her mother. I really enjoyed this book. This book is a realistic novel. This is something that could actually happen. If I had of read it as a teenager I think it would have really appealed to me. This little girl faces not only the regular trouble of teenage life but also some of the troubles of adults. Cynthia Voigt wrote Dicey¿s Song. Ms. Voigt was an English teacher before she started writing. Voigt started a series of books that includes Dicey¿s Song. She has won many awards for her children¿s and young adult books. Voigt, Cynthia. Dicey¿s Song. New York: Simon and Schuster, 2003.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    A VERY GOOD BOOK!!!

    I read this book in freshmen year, 2nd term after reading HomeComing, the first part. I find this book really interesting and I can't stop reading it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Have you read Homecoming?

    I thought this book was wonderful and was truly a satisfying continuation of Homecoming (the first book in this series). I'm wondering if some of the people who gave it a bad review read Homecoming. I think that if I hadn't read the first book, I might not have appreciated this one as much. A lot of the character development and set up for this book takes place in Homecoming and I don't know if I would have known the characters well enough without that past knowledge to feel the gravity of this one. When I read this, I already cared for these characters deeply and was thrilled and touched to continue their journey with them. Voigt writes with subtle and quiet beauty. Her story makes you think about what is truly important in life, the importance of being emotionally connected and the responsibility we all have towards the people in our world. Although that responsibility can often be painful, it is ultimately very rewarding and Voigt shows that on every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    This book is awsome!!

    This book is so good. I sujest anyone who likes adventure to read this. The Characters are fun to read about and there family's conflicts. Also the famliy's long trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    UNBELIEVEABLE!!

    This book is absolutely astonishing. I loved the first book, Homecoming and this one didn't leave me disappointed! I couldn't put it down and if I could meet Cynthia Voigt today I would have to thank her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    Learning to live at Grams

    This story shows Dicey's adjustments to her new life at Gram's house with her siblings. She is discovering many things about herself all throughout this book. This book explains very well about Dicey and the person she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    Amazing!

    This book was amazing! It's about this 13yr old who is in the middle of growing up and taking care of a family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Read It

    This book, is really good because it tells about how the kids have grown and makes me think about happy my life can be, but for them it isn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    A very sad book...

    It was a very good book how she kept thinking if their grandmother loved them if she would accept them in there house. Dicey really showed like she really loved her sister and brothers. Like when Maybeth had trouble reading she didn't get mad like some people would. Dicey showed love and support and most important of all she believed in all of them. I was surprised how Gram and Dicey and the kids were really tough. I recommend this book it is terrific!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    A good book

    I thought this book was interesting, but a little hard to get through. Dicey's life was definately not like a 13 year olds today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    Awsome Book!

    I thought this book was a great book, and to all those people that thought it was boring ( i know it's your opinion) but you obviously didn't read it. i had to read this for a novel study. i couldn't put the book down and when i did i couln't wait to start reading again! i recommend this to all ages. I LOVED it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    Pretty Good

    This was a pretty good book. Dicey and her family are not wealthy so she has to help get money for them to live off of. She also must take care of her brothers and sister because her mother is very sick and in the hospital. This book is very true about how it is to live poor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2000

    THIS IS A REALLY GOOD BOOK BUT IT IS LOOOOONG!

    This is a really good book that I read in a day because the title wuz interesting. Dicey is really realistic not obviously fake or perfect like Nancy Drew or the Bobbsey twins because she has problems of her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    Dicey's LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG!!!

    This was a required reading book a year ago. It was pretty good, but it was too long and I didn't finish reading it until this year, when I enjoyed it more than I could then. I certainly don't recommend it for younger children, more teens I think would enjoy it. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    This is a great book!

    I am not very fond of reading book but on the other hand this book is great. It really takes you where she is. I recomend it is many people! Love, Stephanie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2