Customer Reviews for

Dick Francis's Gamble

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    A must read for Dick Francis fans

    I hadn't planned to purchase Felix Francis' Gamble; as a long time fan of Dick Francis (I've read all his books), I didn't think anyone - even his son - could recreate the magic to which I've looked forward for over 30 years. Then I picked up the book and read the first page. He grabbed me immediately, and I bought it. All the Francis elements are present: the racing, the seemingly random murders which our Everyman protagonist must solve, the related conspiracy where the reader is educated about a field unrelated to horse racing, that upper class villain, and a personal subplot to make the protagonist's life real and compelling. The prose races along; I dropped everything to devote myself to the last third of the book. Readers will love the horseback ride. I did predict accurately the real villain, but anyone who has read all or most of Francis' mysteries will as well. One minor complaint I have - the random allusions shoved into the story: Arnold Palmer, Tanya Harding, and Lee Harvey Oswald. They seem contrived and unnecessary. However, any Dick Francis fan will enjoy spending time with Nicholas (Foxy) Foxton and his family. Felix, your father would be proud. "Heads you win."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    A chip off the old block

    Because Felix Francis worked with his father he picked up on his writing style and added a bit of his own personality. The writing is slightly less crisp but the characters are interesting and the story a good one. This was going to be my 'give him a chance book' and Felix Francis came out on top.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Non-stop action

    Another winner by Dick Francis.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Familiar yet not quite the same

    All the familiar features of a Dick Francis novel are there to enjoy, but readers who have read more than one of the original Dick Francis mysteries will detect a slightly different tone, an undefined sense of "Something has changed" to the characters and story. I enjoyed the book and will re-read it, as I have re-read his father's books. I hope Felix will continue to write and develop his own style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Felix Francis provides a winning thriller that his late father will be proud of

    After breaking his neck when he was a jockey, Nicholas "Foxy" Foxton became a financial advisor at Lyall & Black, a small but profitable investment firm. Also employed by the company is Herb Novak. The pair attends the Grand National when someone shoots Novak while Foxton stands next to him. Foxton does not know what the killer looks because he looked at the gun when the murder occurred.

    Foxy is shocked to learn Novak named him estate executor and a beneficiary. He realizes Herb had a scam going on with internal gambling using his British credit cards to enable people in the United States to go on line to place bets. Pondering what he should do, Foxy decides he needs to identify the gamblers to end the betting scheme and locate the money Herb hid so he can pay off the estate's debts.

    A client informs Nicholas that an investment brought to the attention by one of the Lyall & Black advisors is bogus as the so called bulb factory in Bulgaria is nonexistent. Foxy investigates the legitimacy of the claim, but someone tries to kill him. Running for his life though unaware why Herb's assassin wants to kill him, Foxy's lover Claudia has been diagnosed with cancer.

    Talk about a chip off the old block, Felix Francis provides a winning thriller that his late father will be proud of. Filled with action and tense twists and red herrings, Nicholas holds the story line together as he is there for his lover and when danger stalks him, he goes to extraordinary lengths to keep his beloved Claudia safe as he does the unexpected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great mystery read

    I have loved every Dick Francis book I have ever read. If you love a good mystery and horses, these books are like chocolate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Buy Today!

    Great to see the old master and young journeyman at work once again! The plot and characters are excellent and well developed. A MUST BUY for any Dick Francis fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I, like others, read this as a kind of trial, wondering how Feli

    I, like others, read this as a kind of trial, wondering how Felix would measure up to his father and was not disappointed. Sure, there were some differences. Dick Francis's books never seemed to date themselves with the exception of the eventual advent of computer usage and cell phones etc. But rarely did he mention anything from popular culture or politics, leaving the books with a certain timeless quality. Gamble has about 3-4 mentions of current events, or events that were recent or current when this was written, therefore leaving the reader with less a timeless quality. And I think that the protagonist is more wordy and conversational than Dick Francis's tend to be. However, leaving those two things behind, I very much enjoyed the book and even stayed up late last night to finish it. While I may have started as a Dick Francis fan, Felix has won me over. I look forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    I've read most of Dick Francis's novels and also the biography b

    I've read most of Dick Francis's novels and also the biography by Graham Lord and I found this book compelling although not written by Dick's wife who according to Graham was the chief scribe with Dick supplying all the info and probably plots and humor. So it's no surprise without Dick around that son Felix took up the pen to continue. I liked this book in spite of convenient escapes and it really moved along. Missing is the trademark Francis self parody in the early books. The main character is a little dull. Also I resent Felix throwing in Claudia, a cancer victim. Everyone has enough cancer to deal with in families without reading about it in fiction where you want to find an escape from disease. Also, for Felix who is a researcher for the series, his knowledge of cancer is strictly orthodox and will not help anyone who wants a cure without harsh treatments that wind up killing the patients statistically more than other methods and doctors who do not use risky treatments.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Worth reading . . .

    Not up to his father's standards yet, but interesting and creditable nonetheless. Its time for Felix to develop his own characters, though. I'm not quite damning with faint praise, but it really isn't a book I'll read twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Promising Solo Debut

    Felix Francis is following in his father's footsteps and that is encouraging. The Dick Francis elements are in place. We have the reluctant everyman hero, the racing backdrop, and the tidbits of info about an unusual occupation. At times the protagonist seems too be a bit lucky in his escapes from death, but overall Felix is well on his way to keeping the family tradition alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Felix is a Francis

    This is an excellent read. Fun, thought-provoking with a thread of danger and mystery throughout. Felix is keeping up the family tradition of books you can enjoy and ... lend to your mother without embarrassment!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Loved it!

    As good as his father

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2