Customer Reviews for

Dictator's Ransom (Rogue Warrior Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    A VERY GOOD READ ON A RAINY DAY

    I enjoy all of the Rogue Warrior books, but this one is a faster read than the other books in the series, and it's intertwined with a lot of sarcasm and humor. It's my favorite out of the Rogue Warrior series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Marcinko has a blast

    Demo Dick takes his show to Korea and China and has a blast. We ought to elect him President. There would be fewer problems in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dick Marcinko the best

    I've been reading Marcinkos books for over 10 years now.His orignial, an autobiography was one of the best books I've read.It is a must read. This last one Dictators Ransom does not dissapoint. He has another one coming out but dont know when. His books read like spy novels and also on the lines of the tv show The Unit. Mr Marcinko founded Seal Team 6 which was the Navy's version of Delta Force. He has a number of books out but also books on leadership the Seal way. Can't wait for the new one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Rogue Warrier Dictator's Ransom Provides Outstanding Action

    Thankfully, Marcinki and DeFelice have reduced the profanity in this book to focus on plot development. Putting the action in North Korea was a brilliant stroke along with an often hilarious look at the bunker mentality of Kim Jong II makes for a good read. It is a great read for a rainy afternoon and, in this troubled world, provides welcome escapism from your personal problems. The end is totally unexpected and provides rich material for the next book, which will be a must on your reading list if you read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Nothing short of amazing

    This book is nothing less than amazing and I got goosebumps from reading it more often than not. I love this book and Richard Marcinko is such a strong person. I am re-reading this book because it is just that amazing. Amazing. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    NAvy man t0 Navy Man, Marcinko rules!

    This is one of the best books Ive ever read. Brutally honest. Anyone that wants to be SF or just loves reading about it, READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Must read

    I have never been into autobiographies, but this book had me absolutely hooked. I could not put this book down. Richard Marcinko mixes true life action with the greatest humor I've ever read. It just stuns me how badly the US government screwed him and he still has managed to keep his head held high. Hes a very strong willed and motivational person. You must read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    A Real Thrill

    This book is one that will keep you completely absorbed. It is about one of the greatest Navy SEALs that ever lived and his experiences. He formed two elite groups of SEALs. This true story is very exciting, from Marcinko's days in Vietnam to his formation of SEAL Team Six and Red Cell. The story will keep you glued to the pages all the way through!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    911 Would Never Have Happened...

    911 would never have happened if our government would've left Dick Marcinko alone to warn the US of the real threat of terrorism. Unfortunately, too many pencil pushers make the decisions that real warriors with experience should be making instead. Do want a REAL story of a REAL American hero...? HERE'S YOUR BOOK! God bless the USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    unlimited excitement

    I've never been one to read, but this book, reccomended by a management class, was one that "kept me in the book" the entire time. I actually read the 2 nd book as well the same way. Absolutely wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Lewd, Rude, Crude, No Nonsense

    Dick takes you on a real life adventure through Vietnam and his time in the Navy. He embarrasses everyone in the military with his wild antics but in the end HE got the job done over and over again. I read it cover to cover in 4 days and could not get enough of the later works either. He writes in the first person which draws you in right away and holds you in the story until you have to pry yourself away. A real eye opener to how things are really run in the Navy and a glimpse at how they could and should be. Outstanding story and scary as hell, I'm just glad he's on our side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2002

    Awsome Book

    No holds bar tale of a tough Navy SEAL. This guy is the best there is. He tells it like it is. Nobody can hold this guy back. This book inspired me to want to join a Special Forces. Must Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    True American Hero

    This book is the best book I have ever read. It tought me alot about the U.S. Navy SEAL's. I have always wanted to be a SEAL, and this book helped to solidify the goal. HOOYAH!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1