Customer Reviews for

Dictionary

Average Rating 4.5
( 3214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2375)

4 Star

(587)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

607 out of 662 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

Wow! GREAT APP! Not just a great dictionary, it has tons of fun word related games and fun trivia! Best app I've seen in awhile, good work developers!

posted by WynterLoren on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

76 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Another data-mining Pest app.

This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no...
This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no way to stop this happening; one must simply be aware of it and immediately use the App Killer app to stop it wasting memory and power. Furthermore, since the app's greedy merchant developers ensured that the app gives absolutely no indication that it starts and runs before one needs it, one would never know unless one happens to have something like App Killer to monitor their own device, which they bought and paid for and own, and therefore have a right to have complete control over.

This app will be spared my wrath for now, in hopes that the developers will provide the means to control the app's behavior, including startup and internet settings. If the developers fail to provide this functionality, and fail to alter the app's description to include this important information about their app starting without permission and running in the background data mining (as an electronics engineer I have already studied the app's behavior on a binary level) and wasting resoources, it will be removed as a pest app, and I will proceed to agressively market against it.

posted by qubit on December 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 161
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    WOW!

    Wow! GREAT APP! Not just a great dictionary, it has tons of fun word related games and fun trivia! Best app I've seen in awhile, good work developers!

    607 out of 662 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Awesome

    Wonderful. Has much more use than i expected. Great app. A must get!

    379 out of 433 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Sailormoon

    Great app! Better than the dictionary app i actually paied for!

    299 out of 357 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Awesome

    This is fantastic!!! Has little games, a search engine, and little quotes and a bit of history too. Get. It.

    255 out of 290 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Simply Brilliant!

    This app is wonderful! It's very convenient, as it serves as a dictionary, while giving you the word of the day, the article of the day, the day in history. It also provides you with local news and the weather! For entertainment, you can play educational games and read your daily horoscope. Isn't that super cool? Plus, the app is FREE! It's everything I expected and more. This is a must get!

    211 out of 234 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Awesome app

    Fantastic extras as previous reviews have stated! Plus, it's free! Thank you to the developers.

    207 out of 241 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    GREAT!!!

    This is so great because I'm in need of a dictionary at the moment. Now I don't have to go online to find if I am spelling certain words correctly. I also really like that it has other features as well that come with it.

    176 out of 205 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Great app, offline on SD card works great!

    Very flexible, with many options when working online! It funtions as a robust dictionary when offline. Easy to install and option.

    124 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Nice

    Very nice app

    123 out of 172 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Perfect app

    Cannot believe it is free.

    122 out of 153 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Another data-mining Pest app.

    This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no way to stop this happening; one must simply be aware of it and immediately use the App Killer app to stop it wasting memory and power. Furthermore, since the app's greedy merchant developers ensured that the app gives absolutely no indication that it starts and runs before one needs it, one would never know unless one happens to have something like App Killer to monitor their own device, which they bought and paid for and own, and therefore have a right to have complete control over.

    This app will be spared my wrath for now, in hopes that the developers will provide the means to control the app's behavior, including startup and internet settings. If the developers fail to provide this functionality, and fail to alter the app's description to include this important information about their app starting without permission and running in the background data mining (as an electronics engineer I have already studied the app's behavior on a binary level) and wasting resoources, it will be removed as a pest app, and I will proceed to agressively market against it.

    76 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Best dictionary app

    This app is the BEST!!!! It's great to use on the go, and i highly recommend this app for all ages!!

    58 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Awesome

    It totally helped me! Even with homework!

    56 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Anon.

    I love this app it is very helpful as a highschooler it really helps when i have to look up words i don't understand !!!

    50 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Exellent Entertainment

    Multiple daily interesting bits of information & vocabulary games, all on 1 page for free! Great tools for teachers as well.
    Thank you

    46 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Great App!

    So glad I found this, to risk repeating what another reviewer said, this is a great addition to my Nook!

    42 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    Highly recommend, it was free but would have paid for it. Try it.

    38 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Fabulous

    The best dictionary i have ever seen

    37 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Thumbs up!

    It's worth having. You learn a lot with it.

    36 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Great dictionary!

    This dictionary has been very resourceful. I have purchased a calculator and this dictionary for my daughter's school work. Saves room and time.

    32 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 161