Customer Reviews for

Dictionary

Average Rating 4.5
( 3167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2342)

4 Star

(578)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(73)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

592 out of 646 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

Wow! GREAT APP! Not just a great dictionary, it has tons of fun word related games and fun trivia! Best app I've seen in awhile, good work developers!

posted by WynterLoren on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Another data-mining Pest app.

This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no...
This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no way to stop this happening; one must simply be aware of it and immediately use the App Killer app to stop it wasting memory and power. Furthermore, since the app's greedy merchant developers ensured that the app gives absolutely no indication that it starts and runs before one needs it, one would never know unless one happens to have something like App Killer to monitor their own device, which they bought and paid for and own, and therefore have a right to have complete control over.

This app will be spared my wrath for now, in hopes that the developers will provide the means to control the app's behavior, including startup and internet settings. If the developers fail to provide this functionality, and fail to alter the app's description to include this important information about their app starting without permission and running in the background data mining (as an electronics engineer I have already studied the app's behavior on a binary level) and wasting resoources, it will be removed as a pest app, and I will proceed to agressively market against it.

posted by qubit on December 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Its ok

    It does not give me as much as info as i wanted

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Great app!

    It is really cool. Don't forget to see the word of the day every day!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Dictionary

    It is a good app that is very helpful not good for thesaurus though

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Really nice app

    It wasn't my first option, but when I tried I was surprise of how well works.....by the way I love the quotes and the games.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Good Dictionary

    Good so far & easy to use. Like it. Actually helps when you are not sure how to spell words.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Ok

    The app relies on Wikipedia for information.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    good

    I like it. Good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    AMAZEING

    You can find all different kinds of words.Its 5 stars for me

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    When I got the game...............................

    When I got the game it was great! Then I acendently hit a button all of that fun stuff went away. Please do not hit that button. After I hit that button I went to the home page. When I went to this app it saaid "do you want to use offline mode."I have to. :-( I sad. Please do not hit that button.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Eh

    It'd be better if it could give me examples of the word in a sentence, but other than that it works great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Um....

    It is dumb but helpful. It is dumb because if u don't spell something right it can't help you but a real book type doctionary would show you how to spell it right, but it is helpful because it shows the definition.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Recommended

    I like this Dictionary very much,I've learn words and meaning also history that I've never learn.I only need more time to do so .I'm a bus rider and I need wifi to look into the Dictionary

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Good

    Helpfull for homework

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Its okay

    Its keeps freezing and i cant get into anything. I really not that helpful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Good

    Works well, but it doesn't have all the words I need

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    J

    It ok not the best not the worst well whatever it was free any one know how to spell midevil

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Great Resource

    It is so convenient having this dictionary app on my tablet... especially if I am reading where there is no handy hardback or paperback dictionary I can use. I also enjoy reading the 'article of the day' and 'word of the day'. These features add to the usefulness of this app.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Mixed reviews

    This app has some great features other than being just a dictionary which I really like. Unfortunately, some of them quit working after a while. After putting it on the cloud and re installing they worked again but only for a day. Since it is free and the dictionary part works fine, I can't complain too much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    It suck

    It sucks

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Dictionary

    This dictionary is very helpful ( of course) . I love it because you discover alot of words

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7