Customer Reviews for

Dictionary

Average Rating 4.5
( 3202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2364)

4 Star

(585)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

601 out of 656 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

Wow! GREAT APP! Not just a great dictionary, it has tons of fun word related games and fun trivia! Best app I've seen in awhile, good work developers!

posted by WynterLoren on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

75 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

Another data-mining Pest app.

This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no...
This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no way to stop this happening; one must simply be aware of it and immediately use the App Killer app to stop it wasting memory and power. Furthermore, since the app's greedy merchant developers ensured that the app gives absolutely no indication that it starts and runs before one needs it, one would never know unless one happens to have something like App Killer to monitor their own device, which they bought and paid for and own, and therefore have a right to have complete control over.

This app will be spared my wrath for now, in hopes that the developers will provide the means to control the app's behavior, including startup and internet settings. If the developers fail to provide this functionality, and fail to alter the app's description to include this important information about their app starting without permission and running in the background data mining (as an electronics engineer I have already studied the app's behavior on a binary level) and wasting resoources, it will be removed as a pest app, and I will proceed to agressively market against it.

posted by qubit on December 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 585 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Great dictionary!

    This dictionary has been very resourceful. I have purchased a calculator and this dictionary for my daughter's school work. Saves room and time.

    32 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    This was a real surprise, its not what I expected. I love it and

    This was a real surprise, its not what I expected. I love it and I would recommend it to everyone. Get it! You won't be sorry and its free. Enjoy

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Great app

    A handy dictionary better than Mirriam-Webster's

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Great

    I got this app because I wanted a dictionary on my Nook, little did I know it would be such fun! There are word games, facts and much more. Get this fantastic app, and learn something every day.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Helps

    It helps alought with school work its great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    It teaches me

    :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Luv it

    Luv it!!!!!! It's really helpful :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Serious reference dictionary.

    I am pleasantly surprised at the quality of your dictionary. I love the games included in it and the fact that you can interpret words into a number of languages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I like it but needs internet wich sucks even if its free but its free so then its good

    I love the didication but u nd wfi wich sucks but its really healthy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Good app

    Good app. A little counfusing though

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    The best yet.

    This dictionary has become the easiest and the fastest to get to for the limited information I've needed at any particular time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Makes you smarter

    I really like this. Bought it for homework but kept it for the fun games. I like to belive my vocabulary and general knowledge has expanded with help from this app. Totally reccomend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    Recommend

    I like this app it is easy to use and offers multiple results. This was a great app to add to my Nook and it has better results than the app i use on my iPhone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Good deal

    Great app

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Ok

    Ok but does not have chinese

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Its Nice

    The page set up is nice. Its easy to understand and to review. Its very informative and the word games are a plus. They're really enjoyable and you're learning new words at the same time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    GREAT APP

    This app is very reliable when you need a def. ! , and it is easy to use

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great App

    I enjoy the extra features that come with the dictionary and the ability to customize my page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great app!

    I love this app. It has a little bit of everything: a dictionary, word games, history lessons, horiscope,....... My only wish is thatthere be a US English choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Me

    Pretty good...but im not sure how to work it in offline mode!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 585 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30