Customer Reviews for

Dictionary

Average Rating 4.5
( 3153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2331)

4 Star

(578)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

588 out of 642 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

Wow! GREAT APP! Not just a great dictionary, it has tons of fun word related games and fun trivia! Best app I've seen in awhile, good work developers!

posted by WynterLoren on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Another data-mining Pest app.

This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no...
This app has its uses, but provides no way to adjust settings. The app starts up and runs in the background, connected to wifi, when the Nook is booted, and is therefore a waste of resources, since I have only used the thing once in the months I have had it. There is no way to stop this happening; one must simply be aware of it and immediately use the App Killer app to stop it wasting memory and power. Furthermore, since the app's greedy merchant developers ensured that the app gives absolutely no indication that it starts and runs before one needs it, one would never know unless one happens to have something like App Killer to monitor their own device, which they bought and paid for and own, and therefore have a right to have complete control over.

This app will be spared my wrath for now, in hopes that the developers will provide the means to control the app's behavior, including startup and internet settings. If the developers fail to provide this functionality, and fail to alter the app's description to include this important information about their app starting without permission and running in the background data mining (as an electronics engineer I have already studied the app's behavior on a binary level) and wasting resoources, it will be removed as a pest app, and I will proceed to agressively market against it.

posted by qubit on December 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3153 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 158
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    WOW! GREAT APP!

    This is a GREAT app. Unlike the dictionary(dot)com app, it doesn't need internet connection to use! It has definitions in several diffrent languages too.

    I love it, it is very useful. I give it 5 stars!

    Please click 'yes' if this was helpful.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Love!

    This app is not only usefull as a dictionary but keeps your mind working at all angles!

    27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Very good.

    Concise and informative.

    24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Makayla Shaye

    Work at first and now doesn't work at all

    24 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Information at your fingertips!

    What a great and easy app for my nook. It's more than just a dictiionary.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    TERRIFIC APP

    A great app to quickly look up definitions and such. It also has a lot of fun trivia games with it too! I recommend it to all

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Great app - perfect dictionary with so much mor.

    Works perfectly, I love that it gives all meanings, as well as thesaurus information all at once. Plus if you are connected to internet, you have links to go directly to internet sources like Wikipedia.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Very useful!

    It doesnt only have a dictionary, but also news, weather, horoscopes, games, quotes, thesaurus, translations of words, and soooo much more! I use it all the time, and if you are thinking about getting this app, think no more and press buy now! Whats even better is that it is entirely free, so what do you have to lose?

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Useful and fun

    ?..and free! The little games are a nice bonus, ecen has local weather and your horiscope.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    This was a real surprise, its not what I expected. I love it and

    This was a real surprise, its not what I expected. I love it and I would recommend it to everyone. Get it! You won't be sorry and its free. Enjoy

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Hard to navigate

    Very hard to navigate. If i need to spell a word it directs me to a movie or book. It's more like an encyclopedia.

    13 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Just try it youll like it,

    Wow, i read alot of the other reviews, and i have to agree and give a great report. I have had no problems with it, I was able to switch the app. To off-line use only. For the times I have no wifi. And switch it back, I WAS ABLE TO FIND AND OPERATE the many personal settings, from home page to levels of difficulty on the games, i was able to set my horiscope settings, to what i wanted. I can brouse with all sorts of providers, and i can switch from one app, to another without having to start over. And i can use it without the internet. Very versatile. Enjoy! I do recommend you use it more then once, because after you play with it a few times, you love it too.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Love this

    This is one of the very best apps i have purchased. It is so much more than a dictionary. Games are fun. I find myself opening this app first when i turn on my tablet. Highly recommend it.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Mikayla

    This app sucks

    12 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Multi-purpose App

    I enjoy this app in several ways. I first selected it as a resource for word games. It has a few word games of its own.But I found that I also check to see if the Word of the Day is new to me. The app also offers a daily reflection on the anniversary of historical events, which I often find intriguing. I use this app almost every day.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Fantastic

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Awesome

    Very helpful,
    even takes you to Wikipedia for more info!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Wow

    All this and it's free I am loving it.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Fg

    This is great. It installed in like 5 seconds!!!!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Word of the day..hang man...this date in history...weather/news

    Word of the day..hang man...this date in history...weather/news AND IT'S FREE.

    HEY B/N..more apps like this one.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3153 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 158