Customer Reviews for

Dictionary.com - Dictionary & Thesaurus

Average Rating 2.5
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

Great App

Very cool. Easy to switch back and forth from dictionary to thesaurus. Can save favorite words. Word of the day feature. More features. I like it. Well worth the 3 dollars. To all these complainers--if you can't afford 3 bucks for a dictionary, how can you afford your N...
Very cool. Easy to switch back and forth from dictionary to thesaurus. Can save favorite words. Word of the day feature. More features. I like it. Well worth the 3 dollars. To all these complainers--if you can't afford 3 bucks for a dictionary, how can you afford your Nook?

posted by DCKirch on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

129 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

What a waste!

How are you selling a dictionary that doesn't work offline? Lesson learned...read reviews first..

posted by 3247416 on November 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Great app but needs wi-fi

    I dont get why u guys dont like this app? Its a very good and helpful app.

    18 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    I'm happy with it

    I'm glad I bought it. I was reluctant since I read some negative reviews. But so far, it has had everything I've needed, and everything has worked. Oh yeah, except for the word of the day, as others have pointed out. Mine is stuck on the number 31, and my word is " larrup." I noticed someone else's was stuck on "fugitive." Fortunately this feature isn't important to me, so it's not a problem, but it would be nice if it worked, since this is one of the features they list on the overview. Otherwise, I think this is a good app, and I would recomend it.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Useful

    Very useful for my everyday need for words and their definition, with synonyms at your fingertips. Works well, and has a couple cool features like favoriting a word.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Thats Rude

    People are not user friendly to this app. I love it! When I need a word to type up, I type it up and then the word comes up with the part of speech, the definition, and some synonyms that come along too! Its wonderful! But yes I think you do need internet wifi.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No adds

    I like this app its expected that you need wifi so cool with me and great to look up words fast. I like there are no adds like my free phone version. Word of the day is stuck but I never used that anyway the rest works fine.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Dictonary

    I dont know what you people are talking about when you said it has the same word of the day all the time, it works fine for me. Very useful, but wished that it could work without wifi. Anyway, LOVE IT!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Great app

    Awesome! Has both thesauras and dictionary! Just wish it worked without wifi... Otherwise great.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Better Than Expected

    Easy to navigate. Audio also helps a lot on pronouncing unusual words. Much better than the other dictionary I purchased.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    The app works

    I love this app but i bought it because i thought it would work at school without wifi but it doesn't. I still like it it helps me do mr.steeds hw in english now i could do my hw faster without fighting the internet. I think this app works it has its heres and theres but it is fine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Improves my poor vocabulary!

    I bought this because I had a word that I could not easily find - I found the word and to my wonder I found a great dictionary (much lighter than what I carried in High School - I won't say how long ago that was) and a great thesaurus as well. Easily accessible, and very easy to carry! Fantastic "little" dictionary and thesaurus, very easy to use and extremely comprehensive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Dictionary.com

    It is pretty good. It sure does help with Scrable!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    MiamiMom

    Works Great with WIFI

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Good

    It's good if you have wi-fi. If you don't where you are, edit yor search in your e-book's dictionary. It has spelling suggestions, after you search, and it does not need wi-fi if you put the word in your favorite list.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Yay

    Good, but no derivatives

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    So helpful.

    I love it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Pretty darn good

    It knows alot of the words i type into it . Nice app. If you buy it try this word: imperialism

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Price cut please

    Needs to be free but i like it...especially the Spanish.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Who ever is homeshool . Im also homeshooled too=)

    Thats cool

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Handy

    Good

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Love+it

    I+had+this+on+my+iphone.+I+love+it.%0A

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2