Customer Reviews for

Die Trying (Jack Reacher Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 577 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(276)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

this was a great book

Die Trying was an incredible book. One of my favorite Lee Child books so far. I have read most of his books but I especially liked the theme that he used for this book. It starts out in typical Lee Child fashion when Jack Reacher finds himself swept into some kind of mi...
Die Trying was an incredible book. One of my favorite Lee Child books so far. I have read most of his books but I especially liked the theme that he used for this book. It starts out in typical Lee Child fashion when Jack Reacher finds himself swept into some kind of mischeif. In this book though the bad guys are a malitia group that want to turn the state of Montana into their own country. As always Lee Child adds lots of action and twists and turns. Who can he trust? One particularly tense part of the book involved crawling through a small tunnel in the middle of a mountain with a small flashlight that of course dies so that he is left in the dark and the tunnel narrows till he is stuck! Great book and I highly recommend it!!

posted by 261816 on March 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

why do ebooks of old books cost more than peperback versions

this is seriously offensive. i really wanted to put the Reacher books in elibrary, but I don't really appreciate being treated like asucker.

posted by Robear on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 580 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    this was a great book

    Die Trying was an incredible book. One of my favorite Lee Child books so far. I have read most of his books but I especially liked the theme that he used for this book. It starts out in typical Lee Child fashion when Jack Reacher finds himself swept into some kind of mischeif. In this book though the bad guys are a malitia group that want to turn the state of Montana into their own country. As always Lee Child adds lots of action and twists and turns. Who can he trust? One particularly tense part of the book involved crawling through a small tunnel in the middle of a mountain with a small flashlight that of course dies so that he is left in the dark and the tunnel narrows till he is stuck! Great book and I highly recommend it!!

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    why do ebooks of old books cost more than peperback versions

    this is seriously offensive. i really wanted to put the Reacher books in elibrary, but I don't really appreciate being treated like asucker.

    23 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Another great read!

    I have finished the first 4 books in the Jack Reacher series. Jack is a really cool character.

    I have truly enjoyed them. I recommend the series to everyone.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Drags a little bit but finishes with a bang...

    I started this book with little in mind. I had read Killing Floor a week prior to this and in my mind I had an idea of what the second novel would hold within. A light-read with a heavy romance between the main character and a broad he meets. Boy, was I wrong about this installment. Mr. Child follows up with a story that takes some getting used to and understanding but soon enough you can't put it down. You HAVE to know what will happen to Jack.<BR/><BR/>Basically, the book starts off fast. Reacher (the main character) is helping Holly, an FBI agent located in Chicago. She hurt her leg and carrying her laundry out from the laundromat has proved more troublesome than ever. Reacher lends a hand and shares the butt of a gun in his gut from a mysterious man who forces both of them into a car that speeds away from Chicago. Reacher has just been the victim of the old proverb: "wrong place at the wrong time." Only, Reacher soon realizes Holly is not just your ordinary FBI agent.<BR/><BR/>The first 100 pages or so are very interesting. They speed by fast as you you need to know what happens. Reacher causes an epic fight in the first 100 pages or so and you are locked in. However, it starts to drag when the two of them are finally prisoners at a militia camp in Montana. It got to a point where I was questioning myself. "Should I stop?" It wasn't leading anywhere and frankly, I was a tad bored. I had other books on my mind.<BR/><BR/>I decided to keep reading and I am glad I did. The book picks up and the last 100 pages are so thrilling and so suspenseful, you can't help but keep the book plastered in front of you. It finally finishes in a "bang" and ends almost abruptly leaving you hungry for more. The mysteries within the book are surprising however I was picking up on some clues in the beginning and analyzed them to conclude the mysteries and on some I was right and others wrong. In a way, the end of the novel also leaves you a little shocked as the question "Who is it?" is finally answered.<BR/><BR/>I'll be picking up Mr. Child's next installment soon. Die Trying was an amazing sophomore attempt and is showing bright things for this author's future. And judging from his large array of installments in this series currently, I'd say Mr. Child will be writing Reacher novels for a long time to come.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2001

    WOW! This was one great book

    This was one book I really didn't want to put down. (and that's saying a great deal for me) Jack is the man!, the writing was thrilling, a movie for the mind. I'm going to pick up 'Tripwire' tomorrow

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Intelligent and Brutal, yup I'm a fan

    I really enjoyed Killing Floor, the first in the Jack Reacher series, but I think this one might be better. In this book, Lee Childs manages to weave more of an air of antica (waite for it) pation. You KNOW Reacher is going to bring a world of hurt upon the bad guys, you just dont know when. When it explodes, its like real violence, nasty, brutal, bloody and with consequences.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Good thriller

    Very good, and held my interest and almost a "cannot put it down" read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Reacher, America's new tough guy.

    Jack Reacher is who Jack Bauer would like to be.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Reacher is the best

    If you read one you have to read them all and wait for the .next one

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Great! Military details add realism!

    I loved the book mainly for the level of detail in it. Mr. Child described each scene and situation with enough detail for me to visualize each and every moment in my head (the only other authors who did that for me were Christopher Paolini and Jean Craighead George). The plot was amazingly paced and very suspenseful, and I loved watching the relationship between Jack and Holly develop as the story progresses. The little, frantic scenes from within FBI headquarters as they tried to track Holly down lended a sense of depth as the reader figured out what was happening on both ends. This book did not seem drawn-out to me at all; on the contrary, I found it to be marvelously paced.
    I give this book a 4.5/5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Person

    Perverted fuqer.

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Lee Child spins a terrific yarn that is entertaining, fast-paced

    Lee Child spins a terrific yarn that is entertaining, fast-paced and spiced with enough character delineation to keep modern readers interested. Die Trying is a rollercoaster of a suspense novel and if the reader has to work a little harder in spots to buy the action, the pace will sustain.

    Jack Reacher is ex-army, ex-military police. He was a decorated, upstanding officer who slipped through the downsizing cracks of the peace-time military establishment. Reacher is going no place fast now he's in civvies, but that isn't to imply he's become a bum, far from it. Because of his long service career and extensive overseas assignments, Reacher is taking his time and exploring civilian options. He's becoming acquainted with his country. That puts him in sudden jeopardy.

    In the wrong place at the wrong time, he's kidnapped with an FBI agent named Holly Johnson. In a fine twist, Reacher and the reader begin to suspect some unseen dimensions to this woman. That thread carries through for a good part of the novel and adds interesting dimensions to the main plot.

    In some fascinating ways, Jack Reacher is a throwback to the hard-bitten, stalwart, stand-up heroes of an earlier time. If he can maintain the pace and the level of good quality writing readers will find here, his scarred hero will live a long and fruitful life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Keeps you reading..........

    Lee Child just writes good books. He gets you involved with his characters and keeps you there. This time Jack Reacher is caught up in another situation not of his own making. He is abducted along with a woman he was trying to help and is transported a great distance away where they are held captive. He then begins the process of discovering who this lady is...and why they might be in this predicament. He doesn't let on his own background until it is necessary. The whys and the solution will keep you very interested. I want more..........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    Lee Child is a master-mind! I love his books. This book was my favorite one so far. I could not put it down. Your mind will wonder where it is going even when you are not reading it. I plan to keep reading till I finish the whole series and then wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    BRILLIANT. MAKE THE FILM

    Yet another great Jack Reacher novel. Im your typical John Grisham reader and I think Lee Childs just blows him away. When is a director going to make a film based on the Reacher books. I am the type of book reader who finds it very difficult to get 'into' a book, but once hooked I try to read it in one sitting. This has never been a problem with Lee Childs novels as from page one I am totally hooked.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2000

    Author Lee Child shows a great talent with his second book Die Trying.

    The book by Lee Child, Die Trying, shows a very brite side to this fine writer.the book, i thought, was very good and discriptive. As I read the book i got a mental pictureand that is very good for a person as young as me. I would recomend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    HURRY

    I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT INSTALLMENT IN THE LIFE OF JACK REACHER. JACK IS A RELEIF TO THE OLD STUFFY OR GUNG HO TYPE OF HERO. I FEEL THAT LEE CHILD HAS HIT ON A WINNER, AND I HOPE TO READ ABOUT MORE OF JACK REACHER

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Clue

    Goes to res two

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Drew

    He tilted his head. "I can be."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Clarissa

    -she faints-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 580 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29